Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

706 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Watkins Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a teacher
Once again, each classroom is involved in the character education program. Students in various clubs such as the Watkins Dance Team, and A.R.I.S.E., are involved in the community through volunteering. Students who earn enough volunteer hours receive the Presidential Volunteer Service Award at the end of the school year. Students are taught to care about their communities and give back to those in need. The students on the Watkins Dance Team host and sponsor a Thanksgiving Day food drive where the food and turkeys are donated to families in need at our school. The Watkins Dance Team also hosts an annual Holiday Toy Drive where the toys are also donated to families at our school who are in need. Each year, students volunteer in the City of West Park Thanksgiving celebration where they help to serve over 400 participants. In the past, students have participated in events such as the Relay for Life, they have fundraised for and donated over $1600 to help build schools in Asia, and much more.

Watkins Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a teacher
The teachers are caring and hardworking. Administrators work with teachers and parent to solve issues. We are working together to make a difference.


Watkins Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a teacher
Last year the Watkins Dance Team earned over 500 volunteer hours and various silver and bronze medals from President Barack Obama. Students in the classrooms are taught about persistence, grit, determination, and motivation through various character education activities. Teachers and administrators speak about grit and what it is to achieve one's goal.

Watkins Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a teacher
Our character education program has RESPECT as one of its topics. In the classroom, teachers speak to students about what respect entails and how we can show others respect. The various clubs hold their students to high expectations. These students are expected to exemplify Respect in their daily routine to teachers and their peers.

Watkins Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a teacher
Our administrators have set forth the R.O.A.R. positive behavior program that teaches and rewards students for excellent behavior and citizenship. Our fabulous counselor, Ms. Roach runs the Character Education program where students who exemplify good character traits are rewarded during a monthly celebration. Parents of theses students are invited to sit and enjoy a complimentary breakfast with their child and it is all sponsored by the PTA.


Watkins Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 25, 2015
- a teacher
I am thankful for the parents of the Watkins Elementary 2015-2016 PTA who provide after school snacks for all students in each afterschool club. Thank you so much Mrs. Wanda Cruise, Cristina Eveillard, Keisha Allen , and Mrs. Betty Pradhan. These ladies take time out of their busy schedules to assist in the daily operations of our school and I just want to say THANK YOU. You ladies ROCK! We couldn't do it without you.

Watkins Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 25, 2015
- a teacher
Teachers attend various professional developments to stay abreast of district initiatives and best practice strategies used in the classroom. Teachers plan in weekly teams using interdisciplinary units to ensure students are receiving the best education. Formative exams are used in the classroom as a tool to track student data. The district has implemented the C.A.R.E. to be the B.E.S.T. initiative at all schools. Each class uses Curriculum, Assessment, Remediation, and Enrichment to teach Beyond Expected Student Targets.

Watkins Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 25, 2015
- a teacher
Teachers use Marzano's Nine High Yield Strategies to guide instruction. Students need ample time to practice skills and strategies learned in the classroom and they do this through Homework.


Watkins Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
This school has done a TERRIFIC job with my 7 year old son who has learning disabilities. He has been there now two years and now his sister has started in kindergarten. I truly look forward to see her blossom as every young child should. Every teacher my son has had, has always been easily accessible and friendly. My daughters teacher Ms. Alverez made my daughters first day extremely memorable. Thank you Watkins Elementary, keep up the terrific job you do!! I know it isn't an easy job, BUT YOU ALL MAKE IT LOOK VERY EASY

Watkins Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 24, 2008
- a parent
Watkins is a really good school for my kids. The teachers did their best for the 07-08 scholl year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Watkins Elementary School
3520 Southwest 52nd Avenue, Pembroke Park, FL  33023
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (754) 323-7800
Last modified Watkins Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top