Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,629 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Broward High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
Heather boyette english teacher is very organized and caring, She truly wants her students to be successful and communicates with parents if they are struggling unlike most teachers at this school

West Broward High School 2

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
Although administration and faculty seems very nice...there are very few teachers and staff that truly care about the wellfare of your student...Unless you as a parent are present to voice over your concerns your child is just a number moving through the system to bring up school ratings and the main concern is graduation percentage and school rank which is why some kids mysteriously dissapear into other schools and by the time you find out it is too late... Go somewhere that you have more personal attention unless you have plenty of time to visit high school office and staff every week!


West Broward High School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
West Broward is a fantastic new school. The school provides free SAT tutoring. The students are well prepared for college and many get into the top Florida Universities. West Broward offers many activities through clubs and sports. They communicate well with parents. I highly recommend this school.

West Broward High School 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
West Broward is AMAZING school. I have three teenagers that have experienced the learning environment there. They have all found their purpose and passion there. The JROTC program with Sergeant Sosa is an award-winning program and top rate. The TV Production Program was a WONDERFUL experience for my high school senior. Both of my older kids have earned scholarships for college through their programs of interest at this school. The administration is wonderful, kind, caring, and diligent. Personally, I am a school teacher in the private sector, but I believe so much in the great things going on at WBHS that I wouldn't have my kids anywhere else. My youngest will be attending WBHS for the first time in the fall. I have GREAT EXPECTATIONS of things to come at WBHS. It's been a God-send and blessing. Go BOBCATS!!!

West Broward High School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a student
This School is overall a great school. Most of the teachers are good and I love the variety of clubs. I look forward to the next years


West Broward High School 5

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
West Broward is a great public school. I have a 12th and 10th grader. The school offers a huge array of after school clubs with wonderful teachers who volunteer to lead them. We have had very good experiences with the sports teams. I suppose if you want a winning football team you should go elsewhere-but every year you see students getting athletic scholarships and the exceptional array of opportunities and advanced level work has made it possible for my daughter to qualify for top universities that have winning football programs. The school offers free Math and English SAT prep and help with college essays. I would agree that you have to be your child's advocate and make sure they are placed in appropriate classes and get involved if your student is having problems with a teacher. If your child is smart they will be pushed to take many AP courses (unnecessary busy work). The Honors classes are pretty easy and if your child is from out of state and done well, push for them. Bring your child's test scores with you. Most teachers care, coaches are great, staff answers questions, the 12th grade advisor is the best in Broward County-helpful, kind and a good communicator.

West Broward High School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school with wonderful programs. It is on the cutting edge of technology. The teachers are inspired and in turn inspiring to the students.

West Broward High School 2

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
This school leaves a lot to be desired. Coming from Cumming, GA and exceptional educational system there West Broward is a disappointment. The blatant use of drugs is scary. If you are coming from out of state during the summer and registering your child, make sure you know what your child is capable of and make them give your child appropriate classes. Being new to the area we made the mistake of letting the 9th grade guidance counselor talk us out of honors classes. What a mistake. Also if you are coming from out of state you won't have FCAT scores and they will insist in placing your child in a remedial reading class. If you feel your child doesn't need that fight, threaten, do whatever it takes to make sure that your child gets in a class that will help and challenge him/her. A lot of the teachers don't care and have attitudes with the kids. Stay on top of everyone and fight for your child's rights. I practically lived in the offices the first few months of school making them "get it right". Now I go there and everyone knows me. If I could put them in another school I would. Also the football team SUCKS. They have no real leadership. Overall I am dreading the next few years.


West Broward High School 5

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
As a parent I highly recomend this school,my daughter is doing exellent. and all the teachers are extremely dedicated to the academics of the students.

West Broward High School 4

Posted August 21, 2011
- a student
West Broward High is truly the real deal; it has the BEST principal leadership in the area (that's actually a fact, not a generous overstatement) but the reason I gave it four stars is really just because of a few minor teacher issues I've had throughout my time here. At times, I would get unfathomably lucky to have an amazing teacher who really made an impression, but other times (and I'm speaking as a student who has taken every AP offered) my experience was really lacking. However, leadership goes a long way, and our Principal has been able to work out most of the kinks. On a side note, WBHS can proudly boast that it really has almost no "cliques" to speak of because it is so new, which was really rewarding for someone like me who came in not knowing anyone. go bobcats!

Nearby schools

West Broward High School
500 Northwest 209th Avenue, Pembroke Pines, FL  33029
(754) 323-2600
Last modified West Broward High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top