Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Academy A

Charter | K-8 | 1145 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 17 ratings
2013:
Based on 26 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

I was initially excited about my child being excepted to this school. The website boasts about innovative means of teaching and a challenging curriculum. Don't be fooled. It is all a bunch of smoke and mirrors. There is nothing innovative about this charter school. Administration is more concerned about fundraising than the child's academic progress. There is a lack of communication throughout the school and parents are kept in the dark. If your child is in a good school let them stay there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My school is Franklin Academy - Cooper City and I am very satisfied with the teachers. My daughter is in 7th grade and the teachers all appear motivated, enthused and interested in making my daughter's experience very favorable. She is smart and being challenged by the teacher's expectations. I totally appreciate the constant feedback about her grades and additional websites to enhance her learning experience with Kahn Academy for her honors math class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

This is a for-profit school. The main goal is not to offer students the best possible educational experience, but to make sure shareholders make money on their investment. Students are deprived of many many things to ensure the shareholders are happy. This school did NOTHING to recognize the efforts of the 5th graders that were graduating. At the very last minute a picnic was planned at a nearby park but was canceled due to Inclement whether. Some parents put something together for the kids to recognise their hard work at a cost of $30 for the student and $30 for the parent. Only one parent was allowed to attend. This event left a lot to be desired. I have removed my child from this school after a mediocre first year and a disastrous second. This school's administration doesn't have the student's best interest at heart. They're a business and their main concern is to make a profit at whichever cost. They keep opening up everywhere instead of concentrating on perfecting what they do. Most teachers are young and inexperienced. The school pays them a lot less than a public school would. Teachers are not happy and it shows. Do your own research...too many false promises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

i regret changing my daughter to this school , Please don't send your kids to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

This is my child's 3rd year and might be their last . I can only speak for my experience only. The only reason I have not changed my children to another school is that I don't want to be switching them around from school to school. The administration is poorly trained and false. A large and concerning amount of teachers are just poor educators regardless of number of years teaching ( but many those poor teachers have little experience). I was a very involve parent with over 85 hours of volunteer work each year. I wanted to make sure my children got the best experience despite the major school set backs. Such as poor teachers, no functional PTO, little activities for earlier grades, middle schoolers bulling younger children in bathrooms, false promises (just one week of chest if at all) , poor selections for volunteers, no gifted program for grade school children. NO science teachers or room (science taught by regular teacher) in a technology age having a specific teacher to teach science is a must. No auditorium or gym as other newly built Franklin schools have. The library is half full of books and it is small to begin with. No holiday show for k-5 . Poor online uniform provider.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

My daughter will be starting her third year at Franklin Academy P.Pines this fall. She has excelled academically and socially. Her teachers, both young, have been well qualified teachers. I found them to be good role models, knowledgeable, energetic, inventive, and excellent communicators. My daughter has enjoyed the gender specific learning environment, variety of special area classes, and special events that occur throughout the year. I have appreciated the multi-cultural student body, clean and technologically savvy learning environment, and the excellent teaching staff. Franklin P.Pines went through some stressful growing pains in the first year, as any new school would. But the strong administration and great staff continued to put children and education first. We are proud to be a Franklin family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

I am happy with the school. Part of the success and happiness with any school is parent involvement and establishing a relationship with teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

In response to the question about a gifted program. Currently the school will only offer a gifted program for Middle School and will be very basic and not offer much. Surrounding Middle school offer better gifted programs plus better electives. For elementary school children there is no gifted program so far but this may change for the 2014-2015 school year or may not . Nothing has been formally mentioned or announced. There is also no functioning PTO or PTA . There is nothing to currently gain in transferring a gifted child either in middle school or elementary to these schools. The library in their first location is more than half empty that is a sign of their commitment to education. Oddly enough they have the funds to open other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

Can anyone shed some light on a gifted child transferring to this school (Cooper City location) for 3rd grade? Do they have gifted/high achieving classes and how do they handle someone transferring in to a new school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

We are happy to be a part of Franklin Academy since it opened. Don't believe the extreme negative feedbacks. Get a tour of the school and ask around. It is not bad to hire young teachers. They still have the education required to be a teacher. My childs' teacher is a young teacher but she brought in a different kind of energy that my child loves and the curriculum is still followed. With the common core coming in, I think young teachers will easily adapt to the new system. The school knows what it is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

Don't be fooled... this school is not as bad as some describe. There are still some kinks that need to be worked out but that is to be expected, especially in a new school. WHAT WORKS FOR SOME, MAY NOT WORK FOR OTHERS. This is a great school. It is safe, provides for a positive learning environment and offers an enriched academic program. The teachers and staff overall have been very helpful and intuitive to the students' needs. I believe EVERY school has room for improvement, no matter where you go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

Please take your child out of the school. We did. No experience whatsoever. If you have a child under the ESE program, it is going to be worst. I was expecting a wonderful atmosphere and it is a nightmare. It could be better in an inner city public school than here. We are not the only family not happy with teachers, staff, curriculum, etc. Avoid headaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

This is a great school! My child has been attending this school for 2 years now. I like the single gender and I like the no homework policy - no homework as long as your child is performing well. Homework will still be given if the teacher think it is necessary for your child. Before the school opened in 2011 the principal told us "leave the teaching to us and spend quality time with your kids when they are at home". And this is what we have been doing as a family. We don't have to spend hours at night working on homework. This is a brand new school. It takes time to build your own staff. The school listens. They solved the morning traffic issue immediately at the beginning of the 2nd year. This school works for us but it may not work for others. The wait list is long for families who would like to be at Franklin. If it doesn't work for you feel free to leave. We would love for the school to have parents that would always seek on how to help rather than complain and think that the policies should be bend if it's against them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

The issues described are NOT due to being a new school, but rather based on the culture that is emerging in the school and due to lack of funding. Culture is based on how they conduct their business day to day.There are good teachers, some terrible, mediocre (they lack in either know how or people skills), many are inexperienced. See evidence of low funding. Don't see all students getting much on all that was advertised which include good civics. Early years are better, but missing many activities found in public schools. Franklin is not organized, a lot of lip service, but no follow through, reactive. Some classes in middle school are out of control, with teachers unable to deliver program because the students are poorly behaved.There is a lot of bullying, harrassment, and everything else that happens in public schools too..but it's not communicated openly. Walk the halls enough times and you will hear bad language, middle schoolers kissing, bouncing balls, skate boarding, texting, vandalism in restrooms. Don't be fooled - it is here too. Charters are funded 50% from public school budget and 50% privately. Weakens public, and both end weak - FL education is not good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

PLEASE PARENTS KEEP YOUR CHILD AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL, THIS YEAR WAS A NIGHTMARE FOR OUR FAMILY, VERY FEW GOOD TEACHERS AND VERY SELECTIVE WITH STUDENTS, THE ADMINISTRATION STAFF VERY RUDE, A LOT OF PROMISES AND NO RESULT 2 YEARS IS ENOUGHT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

This is my daughter's second year with Franklin Academy. I have to say last year was a little nerve racking for us. But keeping in mind this is a new school and everyone was adjusting, we stuck through it. Agreeing with some parents that Franklin needs to sharpen up their Administration a little bit. I find some to rude, but than they have some who are very professional and polite. I personally have not dealt with the principal, but always seem pleasant when I was near. I have heard bad things about the public schools in South Florida, and parents need to realize, that ALL cannot be prevented, however I believe Franklins staff needs to learn to better communicate with parents, and just not through email. Overall Franklin is a great school. Every school has room for improvement and I believe Franklin will do just that. The one policy I wish would change is the policy of parents not allowed on premises during certain hours, or you have to pick up your child before 2pm for early release, or else you have to wait in car-line. Thats a bit extreme. But besides thats "Good Job Franklin Academy"! Looking forward to more great years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

This school is overall a good school with a few flaws but people have to realize this school is only on its second year. Good academics with a few really good experienced teachers while some are lazy,rude and yell at the students. Lunch is terrible and car pick up is a nightmare, but there are good after school care programs and clubs. The kids here are alot better than most schools and Franklin is a beautiful campus. Although, I do agree with saying they should stop worrying about building more schools, but perfecting the first one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

I love Franklin Academy, I have one child in Kindergarten and another one in First grade. So far the teachers have been great and very involved with the kids. It's a new school and there some areas for improvements. Those of you who do not like it, I hope you move on to another school that serves your needs. There are a lot of people waiting to get their children accepted in the school. We need positive parents that do not expect the school to do everything for them but instead, feel that is their responsibility to educate their kids at home too. I would recommend Franklin to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

This is my son s second year and we've had a great experience overall. We went thru the growing pains of the first year and yes the pickup and drop offs are still longer than desired but the benefits do outweigh these inconveniences. For an involved parent these are minor tradeoffs for a great education. I compare with my daughter s public school and the communication between parents and teachers is superior. The technology is available to all parents and allows you to check for the students progress daily or whenever needed, up to the parent to use it. My son s teachers have been very much involved and genuinely concerned for his progress. Last year he received chess classes both as an after school club and as with his regular curriculum. Hopefully the bad reviews which all seem to have the same arguments will find a more convenient school option, and that will lead to some more open spots for my daughter to get in ;-). A stage is a great to have but not really in my priority list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

To correct my prior post ,the gymnasium is to be finished for the 2015 school year. Here is the last update we received on Dec of 2012... Pembroke Pines (K-8) - We are pleased to announce the acquisition of 4 acres immediately east/adjacent to our K-8 campus. This site will be the location of our new Gymnasium. We are currently planning facility completion by 2015 school year. This gym facility will include: full basketball and volleyball courts; locker rooms; resources for dance and wrestling; and, potentially theater amenities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2010-2011.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
White 23%
Black 15%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%53%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. BRENDA CUMMINGS
Fax number
  • (954) 436-2861

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18800 Pines Boulevard
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 703-2294

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



The Pembroke Pines Florida
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT