Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chapel Trail Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 759 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

I believe they don't really want to deal with the child. Their method of 'dealing' with it is to send the child to the office, where he then plays with toys there and socializes with the staff. Also, they call me (the parent) to complain almost on a daily basis and to have him picked up because "he is not having a good day". I have even had to get help from an advocate for my son to receive services such as Tech assist. I'm not very happy with the ESE specialist as she does not seem to want to help the kids. Last year she insisted that my son was going to struggle and not do well in the next grade. I don't understand how she could make that prediction when all of his tests were average and above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Chapel Trail is a great school! My son has been in this school for kinder and first grade. The teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

I don't understand why there are so many charter schools in this area. This school is fantastic! Good public schools are not an option for most people who live in South Florida. Don't believe me? Check the Great Schools ratings for surrounding areas. We moved our family into this neighborhood which is pretty much in the Everglades, FOR THIS SCHOOL ZONE. My kids have attended this school for 3 years and LOVE it! I can't find one thing to complain about. It's worth every long drive to work and the higher price to live here. I also want to add that I am not one of those PTA totally involved super moms either, you don't have to be. BUT if you like that sort of thing, then you will fit right in here. The PTA is major. All of the teachers I have dealt with have been great but there are two that really stood out. Mrs. Robayna and Mrs. Reynolds. If you can get one of those teachers for your kids- you hit the lottery. They are very special and they LOVE the kids. My children will remember these women forever. I am sad that this will be our last year at Chapel Trail Elem. but because the area is so perfect we will be moving on to Silver Trail Middle which is also very highly rated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Teachers, in general are good and open to the children needs. Principal and assistant principal are quite the opposite. They are distant and unfriendly with the kids, and parents. On several occasions they were dismissive and condescending. They are terrible leaders, and set a bad example for the staff at Chapel Trail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

I'm a father of two kids who currently attend chapel trail elem and my only beef with this school has been with the front office staff, i believe they lack professionalism and a good attitude, it's as if you were a bothered every time you have a concern or a problem and i believe it's the leadership were it starts. This unfortunately would've never occur with the previous principal Mr. B cause he would interfere in every issue that would happened at that school, the current staff is lazy, rude, unprosseional and lacks customer service education. I love the teachers there, like i said the staff is a reflection of the principal disorganize nature. I'm a big supporter of our teachers, classrooms and schools in any way i can but this school or principle should definitely retrain the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

My family s experience, thus far, I can only say that I am very satisfied with Chapel Trail Elementary, its teachers, principals, paraprofessionals and parental community. My child is happy, positive, has made lots of friends, and is enjoying her overall school experience. My child is going into first grade already reading, as well as in math adding in single and double digits. My child s academics and view of school are only a reflection of Chapel Trail s excellence and the parent/teacher support and interaction that is implemented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

My children have been attending this school for the past 3 years.They have blossomed, both academically and socially. Fantastic teachers and support staff. The principal and assistant principal seem detached, and at times, hostile. I have personally had no conflicts with them, nor have my children. They could use a refresher course in Personality 101. The teachers, I will say again, are top notch!! I would love to see more parents involved, both in the classroom and with school activities/functions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

The teachers and everyone is very nice and respectful. I cant say the same thing regarding the assistant principal, Mrs Coachman, she has a very bad attitude and does not know how to be polite to parents and students. From my experience with her, the school could do without her rudeness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

Let me just say my point based on experience as a student there, realizing their thoughtless flaws. Do they put your child in their appropriate learning level? Nope. Do they try to resolve bullying taking place at the school? No! Do they have teachers who make the kids feel that they will be able to do well in school? Absolutely not. If your child was a student who had no friends to socialize with, would a teacher ask your child's fellow students to give your child company? No such thing. If your child needed something (whether it be a bathroom emergency, a medical emergency, or an injury) will the staff always provide that for your child when needed the most? They don't give a baloney unless a bone is broken. So if your child has had bad experiences with bullies, CTE is a no-go. If your child has sensitive feelings, then this school will hurt their future self esteem.


Posted September 28, 2011

its a great school only if you are hispanic..but if you are a different culture, then your kid is in trouble. very insensitive faculty, who are only aware of their hispanic culture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

Its a good school but they focus too much on FCATS I think. I don't see the kids being challenged as much as I thought I'd see and the adminstration is rather rude. They seem to think we cant hear them when they speak about kids or parents as we wait in the office. I'm not supper excited about this school. I think they can push our kids more and be a little nicer in that office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

My son attended 1-5 + 2 months K, ending 2008. All but 5th were good or great. Especially good were teachers marie rosenthal and michelle tse. 5th grade was bad. His fcat scores fell like a rock that year. His teacher was frequently absent. The principal, balchunas, was in the classroom every day to remind the kids to accept their autistic classmate. Worthy goal, but not handled well, class was constantly in chaos. I found balchunas unhelpful and dogmatic on substantive matters, while being a charismatic cheerleader for the school and himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

Chapel Trail Elementary School should be a model for other schools to follow. The excellence in the administration and staff is second to none! We are losing an amazing Principal, Joseph Balchunas, but he has left an amazing groundwork and has put procedures in place to ensure that our school continues to be the Best in the West. We are fortunate to have a wonderful Intern Principal and an experienced and dedicated new Principal taking over. The parent involvement is extraordinary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

CTE is the best in the West as they proudly say. My child had a phenomal kindergarten year and so far so good this year. They have great teachers and Mr. B is really the best. But unfortunatetly, Mr. B is leaving CTE. We will greatly miss him. So will the children. Someone will have big shoes to fill!!! Mr. B, we wish you the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

I can't say enough great things about this school. one thing we forget is what a awesome principal we are so fortunate to have here! this guy Mr. B. should be a role model of how a principal should be. HIs interaction with parents and students is superb! hope to keep him around a bit longer; i have 2 little ones in the school and i'm afraid they'll take him from our school if too many good things are said about him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I am a parent and volunteer at Chapel Trail Elementary School. The School is so organized and has a excelent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

I cannot say enough good things about Chapel Trail Elementary. The principal, staff, and teachers are excellent. The kind. program is awesome and Mrs. Barron is top notch. The PTA program is great and Mr. B the principal is outstanding. My daughter loves going to school everyday and we are very sad to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

Im happy in general with the school, this is my third child in CTE, and we have been here since it opened, my only complaint is that my first two children excelled in the school but my last child had a lot of difficulty in math and reading skills and the school had no additional support to help her other than a great teacher, which is not enough. The school is great if your kid is doing well, but if they are not the school has nothing to offer to help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

I have a 5th grader and a kindergarten in CTE. So far the school has been wonderful. The teachers I have had experience with are great and the new principal is fantastic. he makes the students feel important, and boost their self-esteem. My only complaint is the school's appearance. That situation can be rectified, but for years it hasn't. Other than that, I'm pleased, the teachers are doing their job well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This school is a trusting and safe school. Everyone is very nice!!! This is the best school has the best teachers,staff,students and principle!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 29%
White 29% 42%
Black 12% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%53%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19595 Taft St
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Phone: (754) 323-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Somerset Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT