Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles W Flanagan High School

Public | 9-12 | 2913 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2005

The school is of average quality in terms of academic programs. However, parents are not as involved as they should be. Many girls here get into plenty of fights on many occasions and not enough is done to stop it. Punishment for unruly behavior needs to be reinforced with suspensions and parents being more involved with their kids and showing them the right way to conduct themselves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2005

My son graduated from Flanagan last year. I think it is a wonderful school. There is an education there for the kids that want one. Mr. Siflinger was one of the most brilliant teachers I have ever encountered. Yes, it's crowded, but let's not make excuses for our childrens lack of motivation. A lot of kids don't speak English, take ESOL in 9th grade and by 12th grade they are still not acclamated to learning in this country. Sorry, but I don't believe that calls are not returned. They are diligent about everything they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2004

I have two children who attended this school. I have removed one and will be removing the other next year. This school does not provided proper guidance for its students. When my oldest child was in 9th grade and began failing, I personally went to his guidance counselor for help. What I was told was ' I do not have time to help your child, I have to worry about my graduating Seniors' So this school does not care about you until it is too late. My student was in danger of not graduating this year and was pulled out and now is in a school in Martin County and is getting A's and B's. It's staff all around are wonderful and communicative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

This school offeres many extra curricular activities and opportunities to persue certain interests. The school's coure selection is certainly wide ranged. And it's schedule allows students to earn surplus credits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

I'm not a parent, but a meer student at Flanagan High School. I absolutely love my school and everything it encompasses! I am aware of the fact that many children have the problem of retaining what they learnt on a block schedule, but there are ways around that; for example I am taking Spanish this year and I didn't want to forget anything over the summer or miss out on the spring session. Therefore I took Spaish 1 and 2 so I can flow from one to the other (doubling up) as if it was one class. In life you can't please everyone and not everyone is going to happy with whatever system you place in the school. Therefore, I stand behind my teachers, prinipal and school leaders in whatever they do to improve my lovely school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

On the contrary... I am not a parent; however, I am a graduate c/o 99 I am very pleased with the education that I received, and the block scheduling had a lot to do with it. In my opinion, the curriculum prepared me for the vigorous years ahead of myself at the university level. I would take 4 classes in the fall and in the spring another set of classes. The way everything was set up is parallel to college life. I enjoyed my years at Flanagan and I do not regret a thing! As for the overpopulating problem I happen to know students that were from Dade County or other parts of Broward. They would use a relatives address' so that it would be possible to attend Flanagan. Not to mention West Pines is a newly developed area and when you build more homes, more families will move in, and where there are families, there are teens ready to attend the high school. Unfortunately the developers and the city of Pembroke Pines did not address the situation properly and the students had to suffer the consequences.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2004

My child failed the 9th grade, I blame her and the system. One child can not learn anything with 30 plus kids in a class room and only have 4 main courses per week. She had more days off than actually being in school, I wish I could work having as many days off like she did. Something needs to be done, the school system is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2003

Flanagan has the worst academic and arts perceptions. They believe that next year if they implement an all academic course for both semesters, that somehow, miraculously, the students will all pass the FCAT with greater scores than before. I do not agree with the school's decision to take away block scheduling and all arts class. What if someone was pursuing an arts career? The school would have no preparation in any courses to get accepted in a college that requires experience in a subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I didn't know schools this bad even existed. Every course my child took was a joke. Science class encompassed watching Jurassic Park and the Nutty Professor. English class encompassed watching the film version of classic literature instead of actually reading it. Teachers didn't teach. Counselors didn't help. Most of the staff were completely rude and unhelpful. Teachers would not come to the phone or show up for meetings. Grading is haphazard and arbitrary. Learning is nonexistent. I was horrified and rest assured my student did not return for a second year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

the school features 'block' scheduling with only 4 subjects a semester. For example if you have math or a foreign language in the sept-dec block you won't have it again until the following September. This is a poor system if you hope children will retain the information as a building block for the next level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have had two students go through Flanagan, the principal takes an active interest in the school, she can always be found out on campus amoung the population. Flanagan, faced with being one of the most over crowed schools in the United States did a wonderful job with what they had to work with. The population of our neighborhood grew 50% over a three year period without the addition of any new High Schools. The school had to be split into two different campuses miles apart from each other, yet, Dr. Shaulas (principal) and her staff did wonderful things with what they had to work with. They deserve an 'A' for effort and production. This year a new high school has opened in our district, this should enable Dr. Shaulas to be even more a part of her school only having to deal with one campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

I only can talk about the nineth grade center. I believe the 110 minutes per class was to long and boring. My son didn,t have a good year. I called the conselor 2 or 3 times. She never return my calls.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

677 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

663 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

657 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

747 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

628 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
44%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

735 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 42%
Black 30%
White 20%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 94%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%53%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12800 Taft Street
Pembroke Pines, FL 33028
Phone: (754) 323-0650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Paladin Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Victory Christian School
Pembroke Pines, FL





True Bread Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT