Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles W Flanagan High School

Public | 9-12 | 2913 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2009

This high school has a great 'overall' program for the students. The majority of the teachers are approachable and very responsive to your parental concerns. Their school website is excellent and provide many helpful links for parents and students alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

It seems that Flanagan's status has improved over the years mostly due to the quality of its teachers. I fear that any further gains will be difficult for two reasons: loss of seasoned teachers loss of funding affecting technology, as well as other programs Flanagan's leadership has never been an asset and this upcoming year will be especially challenging with the transfer of two capable administrators.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 20, 2009

This school has excellent teachers and opportunities. Excellent music and baseball programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

Ive been to three high scools( Sarasota Military Academy and New Mexico Military Institute) and this is the worst one ive ever been to. Constant interuptions from other students and administrators on the PA system, many fights, and the students don't act like there even in middle school....What is up with that? There is no discipline at all and if there is its only found in their NJROTC program. I do not recommend this school to any student or family looking for the right high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2008

I attended this school only 1 year. It's the best high school i ever attended. The classes were challenging. Excellent AP and Honors teachers, great technology, upscale facilities, great block scheduling allows you to take 8 courses per year (and potentially finish early). The stuff I learned here set me up for a career in software engineering! A++ Plus, the school is not overcrowded anymore, Pembroke pines is great area
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2008

Flanagan is an outstanding school in every way. There are more AP classes offered at this school than most. Outstanding teachers and administration. Rated one of the top 1000 schools by Newsweek for the past 4 years. My children all went through Flanagan and are attending Ivy League Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

Considering that Flanagan is the only high school I've attended my opinion may be biased. For that reason I didn't grant it the full 5 stars. I've never had a problem with a student or faculty member. It doesn't matter what school your child is in, it is their initiative that determines whether or not they will learn and do well. Sure, I've taken a class where at the end of the semester I walked out wondering how much I learned, but that's 1 class out of the 16 that I've taken so far. Siblings also attended this school & the only problem they encountered is when trying to switch out of a class it can be difficult to do without bringing a parent to speak with your counselor & argue your reason. It's not dirty & the schedule is easy to get used to. Plus, you can take more classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

My son attended Flanagan for 4 years,graduated in 2004 and is currently attending Columbia University in N.Y. My daughter is currently a sophomore at Flanagan. Both of them have taken Honors and AP classes and have done very well. As far as getting a quality education .... your child will only get what your child puts in. Flanagan has no shortage of exceptionally bright and gifted students. The music program is SUPERIOR, the color guard team is rated 4th in the world and some of the best high school athletes in Florida attend Flanagan. Any school that says they have no discipline problems is lying. They ALL do at some point or another. Flanagan has handled their discipline problems about as well as any school possibly can. A co-worker of mine is transfering her daughter to Flanagan next year because of discipline and drug problems at her very expensive private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

Times have certainly changed! I'm as a parent of a daughter attending FHS feel very disappointed about the lack of discipline and action by the school officials. Hate to say that FHS is going down! My daughter a straight 'a' student will not be returning to FHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

A good school, deserves an A. Truly awesome and amazing, has diversity in classes and AP courses. Music program is excellent, best than any other high school in the area. Oppurtunities are offered that beat all of the other high schools. Should be a prep school, its block schedule gives you a taste of the pace that college will move at. Only school with an orchestra in south broward besides Dillard High School. If you go there you will not regret it. Everyone welcomes you in and there are clubs for every kind of person. not overcrowded, classes are not huge, but normal sized. Very good teachers, better tham the ones elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Flanagan High is the best school in the state. Academics is number one. Wide variety of AP offerings, back to back Baseball State Champs, NJROTC State & National Champs, World Guard & top band program, athletics in the top 5 in the county. Great school to have gone to. Go Falcons
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 13, 2006

Flanagan is a wonderful school in my eyes. They have access to some great technology as well as a myriad of extracurricular activities. Flanagan is home to over 40 clubs, organizations, and sports teams. The school is actually very clean,despite what you may have heard. I have found my teachers to be exceptional at what they do, as well as being kind and helpful. The band and colour guard programs are absolutely unbeatable. Their winter World Guard is ranked 5th in the entire world. Their marching band program is greatly supported by both the school and the wonderful PTSA, and is also one of the best. We recently acquired a great new band director, Steve Rivero (Hialeah High).
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2006

Attending this school was a wonderful experience. They have a wide variety of honours and AP classes to choose from, extensive extracurricular activities, and a great band program. Parents really like to be involved in their PTSA. When I attended, the school contained about 6,000 students, and I still had a pleasurable experience in my years there. Apparently, the number of students there has reduced to about 3,000, and they no longer need a split campus. They have many different 'academies' that can assist you in choosing a career path. In a nutshell, don't believe anything negative you hear about Flanagan.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 17, 2006

Diverse, Lots of clubs to choose from, Pathways to focus on, Great community
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2006

This school is very diverse and has good ap classes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2006

This school is very diverse in its ethnicity, which is a good thing, but the school itself is really bad and it is very dirty.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 19, 2005

Flanagan is not the greatest school in the world, but there are worse.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2005

I love flanagan. My son last year he was on the wresting team and foot ball. It has the best sport and if your child gets involved than he be o.k. They have all kinds of clubs. The teacher are nice. They call you when your child is not in or late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

The music department is fantastic. From having many outstanding music ensembles, to a world class color guard, it is an amazing family to be apart of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

This school gives students to potential to really succeed. My child was a gifted and AP student at Flanagan and her needs were always met, almost certainly even pushed to the limit. Her teachers were top notch and my daughter really appreciated their help. She achieved top scores on her AP exams thanks to her teachers. My daughter was not involved in any athletics but almost certainly attended a lot of games and was an intricate part of the student government and student council. My only complaint would be a lack of overall parent involvement. Overall, the D rating does not give this school justice. In terms of AP programs and high level academics, I am very satisfied with the school, it helped my daughter get into a Top 50 University! As long as your child is academically ambitious, the materials are there for success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

677 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

663 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

657 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

747 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

628 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
44%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

735 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 42%
Black 30%
White 20%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 94%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%53%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12800 Taft Street
Pembroke Pines, FL 33028
Phone: (754) 323-0650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Paladin Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Victory Christian School
Pembroke Pines, FL





True Bread Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT