Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,900 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
74 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles W Flanagan High School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to all the band and color guard parents for all they do for the kids and the music program.

Charles W Flanagan High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
It's a big school , and very easy for troubled children to fall between the cracks.


Charles W Flanagan High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
Students are sent assignments late at night when they are due the following day. Teachers do not input information in grade book in a timely manner, assignments are imputed almost when due and grades are not updated until the end of the grading period so one can not activitly monitor student performance.

Charles W Flanagan High School 3

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
Lack of Communications with parents . The building is dirty . Web site does not contain updated information and teachers do not respond to parents. Attendance office and teachers do not communicate children on school sponsored field trips are given unexcused absence .

Charles W Flanagan High School 2

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
AP teachers have been great especially for English and history, the rest not too good, the school is overcrowded, has a disconnected prison type of environment, cold buildings, dead grass dirty bathrooms, stressed out staff kids are deduced to their barcode number on their school ID, teachers are unprofessional complain to the kids about their personal problems and even about other teachers the guidance counselor and administration have no clue how the kids are doing and seem to care less and the teachers literally do not even show up for their own open houses!


Charles W Flanagan High School 2

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
The school ool is dirty and prooly maintained. The building is always nasty it looks like it has never had a good cleaning . The bathrooms are in disrepair , dirty no toilet paper, soap or hand towels. I do not know how the health department does not site this school or the administration does not inspect the building. Look up at the ceiling in the auditorium, the dirt hanging from the AC vents give you a idea that no one is cleaning or changing the filters.

Charles W Flanagan High School 1

Posted February 10, 2015
- a student
HELLO GUYS PLEASE READ // Disgusting. I am so mad and disappointed that i have to attend this school. Its looks like Flanagan hasn't been cleaned in years. There is dirt and animal droppings all over the walls, staircases, and floors. (and i'm not exaggerating or joking) I don't understand how they could let a school get in such a condition. Its just shameful and i wish i could upload images so whoever is reading this could see what i mean. But despite all of that i think that Flanagan has 'some' pretty good teachers that want to prepare you for the world and see you do well. They just really, really, need to work on cleaning the school. And also guidance counselors should try more to reach out to the students and talk about, grades, colleges, GPA, etc.

Charles W Flanagan High School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
As senior its sad to leave Flanagan. Amazing high school experience. Alot of class choices and ap/honors. A place where you can be yourself. Friendly staff. safe enviroment constantly patrolled. I love the sports and games at flanagan. Vending machines are life savers too But the only problem is they need more parent involvement


Charles W Flanagan High School 3

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
It is not common for a student to come on campus of the zoned school that he/she does not attend to do activates. However, it is their option and right. The administration should at least be knowledgeable & willing to have a pleasant discussion of how it could/or could not work in a given situation. Office staff did try to help and "redeem" the unpleasant operator. More value needs to be put on the first impression made to the community for the school. The grounds are well kept, students are orderly and the security staff are friendly and accommodating. I will give the school three stars because seeing beyond the first impression there seems to be a lot going on for the students. My rating is just on inquiry/customer service and office experience. It has nothing to do with the quality of education, students and teachers.

Charles W Flanagan High School 2

Posted December 16, 2013
- a community member
This school is an incredible abomination. I am a junior currently attending Flanagan High School. There are shoe marks on the walls, animal poop on the stairs, most of the bathrooms usually lack of soap, the bathrooms stink and have writtings all over them, and the floors are entirely covered in old, black, dried up gum. Also, the guidence couselors and other staff members of a higher position usually never make time to listen to the students' complaints or issues. Despite the dilemmas just mentioned, however, some teachers do a well job teaching and know exactly what they are doing, as i have improved my writing skills, and many students in Flanagan are very friendly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles W Flanagan High School
12800 Taft Street, Pembroke Pines, FL  33028
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (754) 323-0650
Last modified Charles W Flanagan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top