Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Pembroke Pines, FL
Students enrolled: 2,913
 

3 stars
Based on 71 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


76 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charles W Flanagan High School 2

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
AP teachers have been great especially for English and history, the rest not too good, the school is overcrowded, has a disconnected prison type of environment, cold buildings, dead grass dirty bathrooms, stressed out staff kids are deduced to their barcode number on their school ID, teachers are unprofessional complain to the kids about their personal problems and even about other teachers the guidance counselor and administration have no clue how the kids are doing and seem to care less and the teachers literally do not even show up for their own open houses!

Charles W Flanagan High School 2

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
The school ool is dirty and prooly maintained. The building is always nasty it looks like it has never had a good cleaning . The bathrooms are in disrepair , dirty no toilet paper, soap or hand towels. I do not know how the health department does not site this school or the administration does not inspect the building. Look up at the ceiling in the auditorium, the dirt hanging from the AC vents give you a idea that no one is cleaning or changing the filters.


Charles W Flanagan High School 1

Posted February 10, 2015
- a student
HELLO GUYS PLEASE READ // Disgusting. I am so mad and disappointed that i have to attend this school. Its looks like Flanagan hasn't been cleaned in years. There is dirt and animal droppings all over the walls, staircases, and floors. (and i'm not exaggerating or joking) I don't understand how they could let a school get in such a condition. Its just shameful and i wish i could upload images so whoever is reading this could see what i mean. But despite all of that i think that Flanagan has 'some' pretty good teachers that want to prepare you for the world and see you do well. They just really, really, need to work on cleaning the school. And also guidance counselors should try more to reach out to the students and talk about, grades, colleges, GPA, etc.

Charles W Flanagan High School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
As senior its sad to leave Flanagan. Amazing high school experience. Alot of class choices and ap/honors. A place where you can be yourself. Friendly staff. safe enviroment constantly patrolled. I love the sports and games at flanagan. Vending machines are life savers too But the only problem is they need more parent involvement

Charles W Flanagan High School 3

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
It is not common for a student to come on campus of the zoned school that he/she does not attend to do activates. However, it is their option and right. The administration should at least be knowledgeable & willing to have a pleasant discussion of how it could/or could not work in a given situation. Office staff did try to help and "redeem" the unpleasant operator. More value needs to be put on the first impression made to the community for the school. The grounds are well kept, students are orderly and the security staff are friendly and accommodating. I will give the school three stars because seeing beyond the first impression there seems to be a lot going on for the students. My rating is just on inquiry/customer service and office experience. It has nothing to do with the quality of education, students and teachers.


Charles W Flanagan High School 2

Posted December 16, 2013
- a community member
This school is an incredible abomination. I am a junior currently attending Flanagan High School. There are shoe marks on the walls, animal poop on the stairs, most of the bathrooms usually lack of soap, the bathrooms stink and have writtings all over them, and the floors are entirely covered in old, black, dried up gum. Also, the guidence couselors and other staff members of a higher position usually never make time to listen to the students' complaints or issues. Despite the dilemmas just mentioned, however, some teachers do a well job teaching and know exactly what they are doing, as i have improved my writing skills, and many students in Flanagan are very friendly.

Charles W Flanagan High School 1

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
Yes I agree, the district needs to replace a lot of the teachers in Flanagan. They do have a lot of problems and they do take it out on the kids. I'm sure that there are kids more difficult than other, that is known in every school but there are good kids that are truly responsible and successful. My daughter last year experienced in home room a teacher that literally was a psycho Ms. McAlpine. Why is she still dealing with teenagers if she can't stand them.

Charles W Flanagan High School 3

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
I hope my child is keeping up with her grades and extra activities.My child does not belong in this school. Ive been to the mall near by when i lived in Florida without Mr.Oakley .Her present address is 10370sw 24th court in Miramar. I can be reached @ email or cell number three four seven nine two eight six eight one five. Child should be in last year of high school but due to repeated times of return back to parent .The childs home does not help my child grasp work so easily with tutor ,and without parent help.Thanks for the teachers help thus far. Miss Parent. ;t not understand why she cant grasp the work so fast withouts parents help. Thanks for the helpful teachers thus far.Miss parent .


Charles W Flanagan High School 3

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
My daughter went to this school and did well , she did mention large class rooms , but all in all went well

Charles W Flanagan High School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
I have recently moved out of district. Do u know if they will let my child finish senior year?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles W Flanagan High School
12800 Taft Street, Pembroke Pines, FL  33028
(754) 323-0650
Last modified Charles W Flanagan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles W Flanagan High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. Top