Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Panther Run Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 547 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2006

I feel when we first started going to this school it was great but as the years went on the moral of the school went down. The teachers are still great but it does not feel like the same school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

The two years we spent at Panther Run were good with a few exceptions. My son attended 1st and 2nd grade. The teacher's were great, but I didn't feel that they were allowed to challenge the students enough when needed. When I tried to get my son tested the administration stretched it out far too long. I also felt that the students were being taught to take a test and not to excell in areas that they were ahead of the curriculum. Other than that it was a very nice environment for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Panther run is a very good school. Nice environment for the children. The school could introduce a greater usage of computers in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

My daughter went to the pepper speech and language class at panther run elementary. We were very pleased at the care and attanetion she got from the teachers. The class was very small with two teachers and they regulary updated us with her progress. We were overall impressed with the progress she made at the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

There is a high level of parent involvement here. The staff is very helpful. Any problems I ever brought to the front office were handled immediately. The teachers are always willing to stop and listen to your concerns. There are different activities to keep the kids always looking forward to something. Panther Run is a great school. My son will miss it next year as he moves on to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Great School! Very respectful to parents and students, with a high academic level taught in a motivating and encouraging environment. Classrooms have many resources that facilitate the learning process for the children. Teachers are knowledgeable and experienced. The use of forms for children to complete too much sometimes to my opinion, I would prefer more creative thinking and interactive activities instead. Excellent extra curricular activities, art, PE, media, computer and writing, although this year I was disappointed with the removal of the music class. Receptive staff that make communication with the school easy and scheduling teacher-parent conferences simple. Children develop a nurturing relationship with staff and classmate. Considering the high population of Hispanic students it would be a great asset to include Spanish classes in the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

Great School! Quality leadership, teachers and staff. Really are about kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2004

I am extremely impressed with all aspects of this school. The leadership, teachers, and especially the academics are high standard and amazing. The school culture is one in which all staff members, children and parents hold their heads high and are proud to be members of the Panther Run Family. I want to thank all of the staff but especially the Assistant Principal Ms. Saef. She has been at the school since it opened out here and treats every child as if they are her own. She encourages the staff and students to do their best while making the learning environment a positive one at all times. Both principals have been wonderful, but to me, Ms. Saef is the heart and soul of this school. Thanks to her and all the staff for a job well done. Keep up the great work; our children are better because of all of you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

I agree! the principal in this school is a stone. It really is sad.It's a great school, great kids, great teachers, great parents who want to do things. But nothing from the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

A solid, clean, safe environs for primary grades. Beyond basics (FCAT), horizons are limited for intermediate students. Extracurricular activities have been vanishing (except in vendor-run afterschool care). Few evening family events. Good K-4 writing instruction; weak in hands-on science. No ability grouping for math. If your child has math aptitude, look at neighboring Chapel Trail's grade 3-5 Primes program. Recess time, often minimal, varies widely from teacher to teacher at the same grade level. This school has more than its share of good and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2004

I am very pleased with the education my son is receiving at Panther Run. So far they are teaching him according to his level within the classroom. I take off my hat for those teachers that use multiple intelligence methods to address of the students. Good job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

the school is excellet from kindegarten to 5th grade. Teachers go the extra mile. Administration is helpful and professional. PTA is the tops and parent involvment is the key to sucess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2003

I have 3 children currently attending Panther Run. Panther Run puts children first. The school and faculty focus on educating the whole child. Activities and resources are readily available to students and parents. There isn't a better school anywhere in the county. They are #1!


Posted June 27, 2003

I have my daughter in panther run and I think that is a really great school. She is happy there and the teachers are very kind.


Posted June 19, 2003

Panther Run has excellent resources for its students, but as with any school, the parents must strongly advocate for their children and the specific needs of the child. The school does not proactively inform parents about the various enrichment opportunties. However, they are very good about responding to parental inquiries. The teachers are great!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 24%
Black 16%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Northwest 172nd Avenue
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Phone: (754) 323-6850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Pembroke Pines Florida
Pembroke Pines, FL


Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT