Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Panther Run Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 547 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

We love Panther Run Elementary! My children have been accepted to several area charter schools, but we turned them all down in favor of Panther Run. The principal, Ms. Saef, is amazing. She truly cares about her staff, the students, and the school. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I love Panther Run Elementary. The teachers are very well qualified and caring for the children like a big family. My son is very happy abouth Panther Run Elem. but this year he will be starting middle school, I am sure he will miss all of the teachers there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

Best school and teachers love it. Both my kids have gone here. Great staff. I highly recommend Panther Run
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

Drop off at Panther Run is usually pretty smooth. The only thing that usually slows things down are the parents who won't let their students ourt of the car anywhere but the number one position closest to the entrance. At least 10 cars could be dropping off along the lane and the two staff supervising the area rarely budge from the railing to assist or encourage parents to let the children out sooner to keep the line moving. It usually only takles a few minutes to drop off once you enter the liine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

Can anyone tell me what the parking and drop-off time is like at Panther Run on 172nd? I am looking to transfer my daughter to this school since I have heard so many great things about it. It currently takes me about 45 minutes to drop my daughter off due to lack of parking and drive-through space at her new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

This is my 4th year at Panther Run, and every year goes by, just exactly the same as the one before. Nothing feels special anymore. Just the same script read over and over. Administrative people and teachers are very nice, however they're just trained to repeat the same script every year. I am sure Many parents could support economically the school for better enrichment activities, art and music events where every kid in the school could be involved, not just the one or 2 lucky ones per class that get to be in the end of the year presentation. This neighborhood is great and deserves that Panther Run have more innovative activities. They have great facilities and auditorium, just missing a leader to implement change to take advantage of all of what they have. I am posting this in hope that comments like these make the school principal realize there's a lot that can be done. Panther Run have great people working there, but change is being for long needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Panther Run is the best school in Broward County. The entire staff is excellent. The kids are nurtured and loved. The school environment is very welcoming. This school is so awesome. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

My son has attended Panther Run since kindergarten and is now in the 5th grade. It is an amazing school with truly caring teachers and a challenging curriculum. The Principal, Ms. Saef, genuinely cares about her students and is always available. She can always be seen in the halls interacting with students and is always available to talk to parents, with no appointment needed. Even though our schools have faced severe budget cuts over the years, this school strives to continue to provide more, with less. There are clubs, extra reading and math programs, special events for the students and family nights. This school provides much more than just the basics. My son has had great teachers, who really seemed to love their jobs and their students. They strive to challenge each child to reach their full potential. This year, my son's teacher told us that she was always available to us and then really proved it when she gave the entire class her home phone number. Parental involvement and volunteerism is encouraged at this school, which creates a family-like atmosphere. This is a wonderful school with great leadership, caring teachers and a fun, yet challenging atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

Compared to my daughter's previous school, Panther Run is average, at best. Some of the fifth grade teachers are not very imaginative in the way they present the material to make it more interesting. They are given the basics, but litle effort is made to go beyond that. Much of the information taught, my daughter had already learned one to two years ago. I had heard that this was a great school, but it does not live up to expectations. Also, there are many county and state-wide contests that the school can be involved in for the benefit of their students that they do not take advantage of:( In response to most recent comment, teachers can be very creative and provide advanced education on a limited budget (speaking from experience). This is the challenge presented to all teachers across the US. I am sure there are great teachers in Panther Run but my teacher comments are related to those I have personally encountered. Additionally, I did not state that Panther Run does not participate in ANY state/county contests but that there are many more that they COULD BE involved in. And...YES...these options have been discussed with teachers and other appropriate individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

My son attended Panther Run from Kindergarten through 5th Grade last year, and I have to disagree with the review that said Panther Run is average because their teachers aren't creative and they don't partake in county or state-wide contests. All of the teachers, particulrly 3rd through 5th Grade's, challenge the students with monthly projects that encourage research and creativity. As far as being given the basics but not going far beyond that, if there is any validity to that, then it is because of the school's and teachers' limited teaching resources due to the strangling budget cuts. Regarding State and county contests, this simply is not true-- Panther Run's students participate annually in the PTA Reflections program (we actually had several county- and state-wide winners this year!), we have a Math Club who competes, and we participate in Accelerated Reader and Math Superstars. I would like to challenge any parent who wishes to criticise what their school 'doesn't' have, to GET INVOLVED and try bringing that program or event to your school! Did you even try bringing more county- or state-wide programs to Panther Run?? I seriously doubt it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

I have heard excellent things about this school...looking foward for a Open House soon!! Just moved from out of state and everyone I known so far only have heard wonderful reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Because of their "Pay It Forward - Who I Am Makes A Difference" philosophy which encourages each student/faculty member/parent to reach their highest potential and encourage others to do the same.


Posted March 31, 2009

I love this spectacular wonderful fantabulous school! I have been going here for 5 school years and I never ever want to leave! Every single kid should go to this awesome school! You should pick this school for you bright sweet child.To conclude my thoughts, your child would learn how to interact with other kids and have fun ways to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

This is a great school for any student. My friend's daughter is very excel in this interesting school. The students here are indeed nurtured with education. The activities are strongly captivating. The great principal has perfect leadership for this school. I am proud with how my friend's daughter is saving paper, water, and etc. under her principal's rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

A superior school! Very good teachers along with their tutoring. _____ Best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

This is our first year at Panther Run. My son's kindergarten teacher Mrs. Stanback, has been excellent. She is warm and caring and he is learning a lot. The curriculum seems challenging for kindergarten. However, it is obvious that there is no extra money in the schools, as there are no extracurricular activities or paraprofessionals in the class. There is absolutely nothing besides the bare basics at this school. Ms. Saef the principal is readily available and makes it a point to get to know the children. Overall, the experience has been a good one so far. I am rating it above average considering the way my son has progressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

My daughter attended this school from K-5th grade. The teachers were all great! They did the most possible a school can do considering how the FCAT has changed schools from less creative activites to just teaching for tests. The school did start out strong but things went down hill a little bit when the administration changed. Half of the really good teachers left when this happened. The art, computers, music and writing were either removed completely or it went down hill because of changes of staff. I blame the administration for the staff change and I blame Jeb Bush for taking out all the creativity from schools and concentrating too much on the FCAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

We loved this school. My son attend from K-3 and the academnics were great. The teachers were caring & took the extra time to educate as well as nuture the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

This is an incredible school. The kids are 1st. All children have their needs meet. I have never seen such a great tetament to education in Broward county. From the administation to each faculty and staff---all love our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

this school is very good the staff attends to the needs of the children and that is the most important thing of all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 24%
Black 16%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Northwest 172nd Avenue
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Phone: (754) 323-6850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Pembroke Pines Florida
Pembroke Pines, FL


Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT