Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

City Of Pembroke Pines Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 1928 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2008

I have a daughter in 1st grade and she started at grade K. I'm still learning about the differences between Public, Charter and Private shcool systems. In K grade she had an aswome teacher and aid very caring and professional. Now in 1st garde she also has a great teacher who she loves and has a great relationship with parents. The only problem I find is the excessive homework they bring home every week. I do not think/feel it's necessary so much homework for a 6 yr old child. I'm very happy to ready the positive feedback from other parents which assure me that I made a good decision, so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I have a child in Kinder and I am so very pleased with my daughters progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2007

Our son Dennis Manzi was studying in Flannegan Charles High School where he completed the grades 9th to 11th. Infortunately he didn't had the best grades during this time. So, we took the decision to change him to the City of Pembroke Pines Charter High School. That doesn't mean that it was the Flannegan School's fault. We know that the only responsible person was our son. We had a great experience with the Pembroke Pines Charter High School because the quality of the academic programs is excellent. We had the oportunity to be in some of the meetings that the School did, and we felt after that our son was in a great place to study. Also, the activities in sports, music and arts give to the students the opportunity to see other doors to the their future. This is an oppportunity to say thanks to the Principal, teachers and staff. Gabriel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

Great school. Great teachers. Tecachers are very nurturing, which is important because students feel welcome. Students are challenged through consistent homework & projects. Parental involvement is excellent & the key to success for all schools to thrive and for students to stay on track. I am very pleased with the quality of the school and my girls love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My daughter attends the Central Campus and we are very pleased. She is gifted and they do offer gifted classes based on test scores. The teachers are top notch, Mrs. Perraud is one of the most caring, unbelievably dedicated Kindergarten teachers at the school. We feel like we are getting a private school education with no cost. I believe that the parents who complain about the volunteer hours are the ones who would liek to drop their kids off at school and forget about them. Although I am a working mom I find it very easy to complete my hours each year. This school is great and I have not heard of any complaints from the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

I was disappointed with the charter school system for my children. Basically, they gear to the average child with hardly any accommodations for the struggling or gifted child. I took my children out (one had learning disabilities and the other is gifted) and they are getting so much more instruction at the public school. In the charter school, neither of my children would have received the instruction appropriate for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

The school is excellent! The teachers are able to teach because the self-confidence level of the students is so well nurtured!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2006

The pembroke pines charter school is not all that it is cracked up to be. It is fine if your child doesn't need academic help. If your child struggles, but is not failing, it is up to you to hire a tutor if you want them catch up. The curriculum consists of homework and outside time and that is it. The atmosphere seems hostile. I don't see or feel any compassion with the exception for one or two teachers. Also the field trips are expensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

Preety good school , alot of parental envolvement . Very strict code of conduct policy's
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2005

I feel like a millionare, having my kids in the Charter System (West), the quality of education my kids are receiving is SUPER!!. Teacher's for the most part are well qualified, and those that are not, are not longer teaching at this school. My three kids are part of the Charter System and they just know one way to get educated: Work hard, do homework, respect others and be responsible with your assignments. Thanks to God for giving me and my family such privilege.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

Great School and system period!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2005

Our family has been part of the PPCS system since its inception. My son began in the 2nd grade (the year the West Campus opened) and my daughter has attended from K through 5. As both a Mom and an elementary educator, I have been very pleased with the West campus school. There are 25 children max. per class with a teacher and an aide assigned to each classroom. There are currently 4 classes per grade level which makes for a small-town feel. My children have known most of their fellow students since their first year at PPCES. Parents are required to volunteer a minimum of 30 hours each school year. This requirement helps ensure that parents stay involved with the school and with one another. This has been a BIG PLUS. The teachers are caring, nurturing individuals who work hard to meet all of their students' needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

This is an excellent school, parent involvement is strongly encouragd, and they are definetly at an advantage with the smaller class sizes and high quality academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

I'm very dissapointed with my child being 5 in grade K with way too much homework daily. The dicipline in the school is very strict. Overall, I would still keep my child here. The effort will pay big one day. Great teachers and environment. In matter of hours my concerns are heard and fixed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

School is well run and teachers are responsive to parent concerns. Offers and encourages parent involvement in education process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2003

Best school my child has attended. Students are held to a much higher standard. Parent involvement is key.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

311 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

329 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
Black 23%
White 19%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%53%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10801 Pembroke Road
Pembroke Pines, FL 33025
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 450-6990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palm Cove Elementary School
Pembroke Pines, FL




Tanglewood Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


True Bread Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT