Advertisement
Advertisement

Tanglewood Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pembroke Pines

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2012

i must say i am impressed by this school. First an foremost i am very stable an hate to move my child around from facility to facility but this was the best move i have made...i had to remove my daughter from another daycare due to an issues with their teacher leaving hand marks on my child. i have never seen an OWNER so involved like they are with their kids an parents.. pple like them are blessings to us an our children.. believe me i have shoped around many daycares b4 i placed her here an u would b amazed by how these pple run things... down to cleanlyness...THESE PPLE CARE ABOUT U AN UR KIDS...and that just touches me... no one ever writes a review until something bad happens unfortunatly with my daughters last daycare that was the situation, so i decided y not let the positive stuff shine as well.. they are just that shinning star hiddenin the woods :) this is my daughter last summer with them shes moving on to kindergarden.. she loves uu miss franka, ms ashley.. as for emplyee wise i dont know i dont work there obviously... but i hope they are treated well b-cuz they are stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

I was working there i left because the director treat the teachers really bad and she is looking all the time for new teachers it's look nice and big but it is not so great when the parents away
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 9, 2010

Both of my daughters graduated from Tanglewood. The smartest move I ever made was enrolling them in this school. The foundation that this school provided has helped my girls to both be eligible for the gifted program at Nova since Kindergarten & they are still in gifted & honors classes today & are in 4th & 6th grades. Ms, Chrissy-words cannot describe what an incredible teacher this woman is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

My 2 year old son never wants to come home. Every afternoon when I come to pick him up he just wants to stay there! He has very nice teachers who really care about him. If by any chances he falls or have low grade fever they call me right away. The personal are also pleasant and nice. The place is always neat and clean. I highly recommend tanglewood academy as your top school, day care or after care in our community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

This is the best school in Broward County! My son attended this school from VPK through the 1st grade and I cannot say enough good things about this school. He had a remarkable teacher, Ms. Chrissy, who cared about each of her students as if they were her own. I looked at Tanglewood as an extension of home. The care, atmosphere and academics cannot be matched by any other school I know. Each student is given individual attention and benefits both academically as well as emotionally from this type of attention. The teachers as well as the office personnel and support staff have a wonderful rapport with every single student and their family. The only thing bad I can say about the school is that they do not go past the first grade. I hated having to leave Tanglewood, but am grateful that my son had the opportunity to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I love this school. We came to South FL when my daughter was just 3, and she is now almost 6 years old. She has been going there the whole time we've been here and she has learned so much I cannot even explain. She is in Kindergarten now and doing way more than I imagined a 5/6 year old would do. I love to watch her face light up when we pull into the parking lot every morning. The staff there is wonderful and loving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

This is the best school in Broward County! My daughter has been there for almost a year and she has learned so much and the staff is wonderful! I will always recomend this school to everybody. When I leave every morning, I always feel releived because I know she is in good care, when I return at the end of the day she is so happy. That makes my day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2004

I cannot explain how much I love this place. I grew up at Tanglewood. Ms.Betty, the Director and Ms.Marie, the owner are the two sweetest people. I went to Tanglewood from age 3-12, volunteered till I could work there, and at 16 started working there. These people have been everything from my teachers, to my mentors, to now, my friends. If you are looking for a Preshool or Afterschool, look no further. The moment you step in, you are welcomed by warm hearted, wonderful people. The education your child will receive there will pave the path for success. (trust me, most of us make it to a major university) 'Where great beginnings never end' is an understatement. If you go in there for a tour, take this, print it out if you can. Nap time is from 1-2:30 and they close at 6:30.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 33% 29%
Hispanic 33% 24%
White 33% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (954) 431-3840

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9860 Pines Blvd
Pembroke Pines, FL 33024
Phone: (954) 431-8805

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Broward Girls Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



Pines Middle School
Pembroke Pines, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT