Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerset Academy

Charter | K-5 | 935 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

84 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2007

I am extremely happy with the elementary school. Mr. Taibi is an amazing administrator. The school safety measures that he has implemented have made me feel much more secure about my childens safety. He communicates with all parents through a monthly newsletter which gives parents important information about the school. My children's teachers are all excellent, as I have three children in the school. I am concerned about the atheltic programs that will be available to them once they enter high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Good academics,small and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

The strongest area of this school is the teachers. When the school first started, there were a few years of adjustment and unfortunately, there has been quite a bit of teacher and staff turnover. But things seem to have settled down, and with new principals in place, it finally seems to be settling down. Not very many extracurricular activities for all grades---elementary, middle and high school. The PTA group tries hard, but parent involvement is dismal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I love Somerset Academy for my kids. The population of the school is small and the kids are well educated. The principal is involved in the school activities. The parents are really invovled and the teachers quickly respond to any parent concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

my son is in the 4th grade and I have to say I am satisfied with the academic material that is being taught. They have focused a lot on their writing skills. He is given lots of homework and I see a big improvement in his writing and vocabulary. He attended 3rd grade also and this year seems to be more intense. Sometimes all that homework can be overwhelming for me and interupts my time but it has been worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

Your strongest teachers and assistants have left. No wonder the school has gone down hill. What do you think helps make up your school? Who do you think protects your children academically and socially to the end? We need to start protecting our teachers too, before we lose them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My children were at Somerset for three years. We moved them out this year to a private school where they are much happier. This school's administration has been completely disorganized the entire time we were there. There were 3 different principles. Principles Dr. Ruth and Mr. Montero were definate advocates for the children, however, did not have much impact in creating a educational environment where a parent felt secure in the actual education. There is a high turnover in teachers - NOT GOOD! We liked the smaller environment and the athletics. I think the elementary and middle schools were O.K. but the high school is a little scary. I hope the school can eventually get it together because it has potential. I just didn't want my children to be the pawns while they work out their kinks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Too many changes have taken place and it is not the same mom and pop type of environment the kids first had. That's what kept Somerset apart from the rest. Now, things are robotic and impersonal. The best teachers have really gone, and the discipline problemed children from other schools have come in. Things need to be revamped before more parents withdraw their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2005

This school is small but with high academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

This school lacks a lot of organization and administrative skill. There is a lot to be desired. We hope fresh staff comes in to 'unharbor' this stressful environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2005

What a difference from last year! Somerset is reaching its full potential!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 11, 2005

The school has a progresive attitude and their MIND program for making Math fun is great. Kids love it! The staff and faculty are very organized and proactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

We have been part of Somerset for the past two years. The teachers at this school are amazing!. Great changes have ocurred at the administration level, the new Head Master/ Principal is leading in the right direction. The improvements can be observed at all levels. Somerset Academy is one of the BEST schools in the area, and yes there are always aspects that could be enhace, but for that to change, the Level of parent involvement needs to increase. The most important thing is that the quality of the academic programs are outstanding, that our children are in the hands of loving teachers, and that the new administration is doing its best to solve the growing pains of a young school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Somerset is continuing to grow. Unfortunately, learning by their mistakes is common. This year seems to be improving with much better communication. As with any non-public school, kids with special needs will not see much support. We had our child in a private school and there were no provisions for special needs children. Just the opportunity to pay hundreds more for private tutoring. There is a tendency by Somerset parents to treat this school as if it was a private school they were paying thousands of dollars for and that rules are not meant for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

This school is good. Although young, it has reached its goals and more in six years it has existed. It has an excellent sports program, especially in volleyball and basketball.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 12, 2005

There is ALWAYS room for improvement at Somerset. The owners have been trying to figure out how to run a real school for more than five years. One of these days they may get there. In the process, several advertised school innovations were eliminated. Always ask questions about changes for the next schoolyear. Yearly student and staff turnover can be huge. Teacher support and professional development have been very weak. If your child has ANY identified disability of any kind, or major cultural differences, make sure the teacher has had experience dealing with that. Support for teacher from school level may not be available. If you have any indications that your child may have a learning disability or be gifted, be proactive. Don't rely solely on school to assess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

Excellent all the way around.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 14, 2004

I have taught at this school for awhile now and it is quite disturbing to see the amount of gossip and lies that curtail the campus on a daily basis. Administration conduct unfair teacher evaluations that are unannounced, fees collected for activities and fundraisers go straight to administration that keeps up to 50%, and command is given to too many undeserving staff members. Somerset fits too many horrendous cliches and the childish up and up that run the place are only assisting in its demise.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted December 11, 2004

Very poor choice of administration, Academica!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

The school is adequate. Teachers are a definite bonus. If they weren't here, we would most likely not return.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 62%
Black 15%
Asian 11%
White 10%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20801 Johnson Street
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 442-0233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT