Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerset Academy

Charter | K-5 | 935 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

84 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2004

While the school is very 'cutesy' and offers a lot of holiday fan fare and great extra curricular events throughout the school day, which many schools do not offer, many parents continue to complain that administration is not improving. We need someone stern yet loving to set these children in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2004

My son has been a student at this institution for four years and each year the school has had a new pricipal who has variant views and ideas from his predecessor. The teachers are also transient which tells a lot about how much they view the school. Good luck if you pick this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2004

This year I am seeing lots of improvements in all the areas, security, traffic control, dissmisal, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

Somerset Academy has certainly changed over the past year. My wife and I were thrilled when we were able to get our children into the school back in 2002. The school was great and was a very pleasant experience. When we started the 2003-2004 school year I could tell a drastic change for the worse. The school has lost focus on the child and have pushed the business side of the school. The grounds are a mess. Security is a joke. Drop-off and pickup is a disaster. It has become a nightmare. Parental involvement was encouraged last year. This year it is harshly discouraged. The constant request for money is horrible. I wish this school would place their focus back on the student and qulaity of education. By the way, the problem is not with the teachers (they are great) but administration and ownership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

Somerset Academy is a school with little organization. The work seems to be on level, however the learning enviroment is very poor. The physical apperance of the school is in great need for improvement. There is no playground for students, recess is held in the parking lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

Somerset has offered my daughter an advance style of education I feel that every child in the US should be able to benefit from. The interactions amongst staff and parents are like no other. The non traditional small classroom setting helps teachers focus more on the idividuals in the classroom. The school setting allow the students to feel comfortable and relaxing. My child have improved in many ways including academically, socially, and the best is gaining confidence. I would highly recomment the structure of Somerset for every school in this country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

I was a teacher at Somerset Academy for a short time. In that time not only was I overworked, underpaid, but continuously underminded and disrespected. The only reason I stayed the length of time I did was due to the incredible parent support I recieved as well as faculty support. The administration beginning with the principal needs to be redirected and removed. A school is not a business; teachers are not pawns. We are what makes a school work. This school has chosen to run its quality teachers out and not even stop to question their dismissal. If I were a parent I would not bring my child anywhere near this facility. I would not want them around digruntled teachers, but no where near a principal that instead of showing love omits fear.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 22, 2004

I am a parent whose child will not be attending Somerset Academy next year. How can a school claim that it a school of choice when they can't even provide books to its students? The administration cannot (or will not) get what is needed from Academica Schools, its parent company. The teachers are the only reason to be there. They are left hanging by the administration. Too many parents are not aware of what is really going on in the school. Too many teachers are leaving and very few have their own children enrolled. What message does this send? Parents need to take a good long look at what is happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

I just wanted to thank the fourth and sixth grade teams for doing such a great job with our kids. I've noticed such growth with my own children and those I car pool. We used to go to Chapel Trail Elementary and the change has been enlightening on all of us. Work needs to be done overall. However the teachers are great and the work is challenging :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

Thank goodness for the teachers because the administration needs work!Everything is untruthful that they say, parents are not a priority to them, and they have tremendous attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

I feel this school needs alot of work. The communication is the biggest issue. Administration treats the teachers here very poorly. The teachers are the main attraction to this school -not the administration which is still struggling through issues like getting books. I feel that those who do not want to admit there are problems, are not in touch with reality. There were 4 schedule changes in the fall. The ESE kids went through more than that. Teachers were fired from one day to the next, leaving K and first graders devastated. Two ESE teachers left because they were overworked and were not helped. A number of teachers have confided in me of the lack of respect they get from administration. Many are planning on leaving. I have heard compaints that since the bell system does not work properly, kids are running in the hall way and knocking on class doors while other classes are still going on. I have left several messages to the administration and there has not been a phone call back. There are really very little positives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2004

Many have complained about the new administration. Being in a position to compare the old with the new I say thank heavens for change. The old administration was too much about style over substance. They may have been more accessible but there was nothing going on underneath. The new administration has done an incredible amount of work in fixing a badly broken system, but overall success can't come overnight. I know firsthand that most of the people doing the complaining are doing nothing to get involved to make Somerset a better place. Go directly to the people who can help. You want the fence we were promised? Go to Academica and ask why we don't have it yet. Want books? Ask your local and state legislators why charter schools are treated as second-class institutions when they serve to relieve a badly overcrowded public school system. Have a problem? Fix it! I'm the parent of one elementary-age child and one middle-school age child, and I have nothing but the highest regard for this administration and the potential it represents for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2004

We have been here for 3 years, I would not put my son anyplace else. The Principle and the administration are wonderful. The teachers are happy now with the 'new' administration then they were last year with the 'old' administration. The curriculmn is the best. They allow us to be involved with our children. What other school can you find that in. In my opinion all those other people that have left negative feedback are the ones that only complain and do not do anything to make a difference and don't want to face that they are the problem not the school. If they are so unhappy it is a school of choice so go somewhere else and leave us educated parents alone that know that 'Somerset' is a great place to be. We are growing and we are proud to be part of Somerset. My child loves his school so stop giving us a bad name over the floor being dirty, every schools floors are dirty. And yes, there were major problems with registration but that was because the 'old' administration left everything hanging for the 'new' administration to clean up. Funding is a problem but what school doesn't have funding problem. We are also growing and people don't like change or they want things to happen right away. Life takes time and all of our children are learning. A+ for Somerset and for our Principle, sure she is strict she cares for her kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2004

Somerset Academy has had its downfalls. However, under the new administrator, it's all coming together. The teachers and administrators work very hard for the benefit of the children. The parents are excellent, very involved and always willing to help. As an educator, I feel that if everyone that has made all of the negative comments would employ a little more time trying to fix the problem rather than gripping about it, Somerset would be all that it can be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 11, 2004

Administration needs a lot of work. They work like it's a factory-not a school. The children need more discipline and direction from the head up. Everything is just overlooked. My child was punched in the head and the other person was simply given one day of IS. They need tougher rules so the children will respect them. Wearing a belt and tucking in your shirt is important. However, safety is not on their list. What gives?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2004

I have been thoroughly impressed with the administration and staff at Somerset Academy. At what other school are you invited to have coffee with your principal? At what other school is the administration available between 4 pm and 6 pm to meet with parents? At Somerset Academy the assistant principals are there early in the morning helping with traffic, greeting parents and students, and they are there long after the last child goes home from LEAP. The office staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. Each one has a can do , how can I help you attitude. Where else will you find such a fine, thorough curriculum? Our kids are continually challenged to think and apply what they learn. I am always pleasantly surprised and grateful when Friday folders come home. I find out that they have had the experience of lying on their backs to paint like Michelangelo. They are reading the newspaper and writing and thinking about current events. The packets they complete in conjunction with the books they read are thought provoking and challenging. Book reports are fun projects. There is nothing rote about instruction at Somerset. Children learn by application and experience. The teaching is first class. Using every modality; teachers capture each child s learning style. The curriculum is comprehensive and integrated in such a way that our children cannot, not learn. Mrs. Olicker is a curriculum expert. The critical skill sets and knowledge needed to prepare our children to succeed from elementary, to middle to high school have been purposefully and consistently integrated throughout our children s experience at Somerset Academic Village.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2003

If it weren't for the awesome teachers (I don't know how they do it!) my kids would be out of this school. The principal runs the place like a business and not a school. Kids fear the environment when she's around. The other administrators lack respect for their employees and do not return phone calls from parents. This school should be closed down and should start up brand new with a new company backing it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2003

In my opinion the frustration received from the operational system in this school is no surprise anymore. The address issues are never resolved. All I can say is that my Honor Roll student is now an under average C/D's academic level and I'm very concerned about the FCAT scores. This is not to mention the filthyness in the bathrooms and cafeteria.Good Luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2003

Somerset is known for the great curriculm. This year with the new administration many parents are concerned about the future of the teachers and also the curriculm signed up for. Budget is also a major issue therefore lack of supplies and school materials are not available. Lack of communication from Adminstration and not agreeing to partnership makes it very difficult to want to continue in this school. If you are thinking about Somerset speak to the parents and do alot of research. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2003

The school management needs work, I believe if you have key people with good qualities and very good managing skills, it will make everyone work harder and better. If our kids are going to compete in a more complex and sophisticated marketplace in their futures, they need the best effort from parents and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 62%
Black 15%
Asian 11%
White 10%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20801 Johnson Street
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 442-0233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT