Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerset Academy

Charter | K-5 | 935 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2010

My son has been at Somerset for 2 years, and he loves it. The teachers, staff and VP are always involved with patient, respect and love. It is a healthy environment for a child to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Is the first year in this school and my son loves it, his teacher is so nice and patient. All the staff are very kind, they maintain a high discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

my children hhave been at somerset for 6 years. love the school, teachers and all the staff. love the fact that somerset academy is an accredited charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

This was my daughters first year and we love it. The teachers are all active. Ms. Kaye is an amazing administrator who interacts with the students and children well. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

I have my kids in the High and Elementary schools...nephews are in Middle as well. My daughter has been there for 5 years and it was the best decision we have ever made. The principal and vps are amazing. They know the kids by name and treat them w respect. They teach them, not only the curriculum, but also how to treat others and have a no-nonsense style. Sure, there is always room for improvement but thats at every school, work, organization...nothing is ever perfect. How can anyone prefer a huge public school where your child is just a number when you can have a school where every child counts as a person and the staff cares for each...I am sure if the staff was not helpful, then it must have been a reaction to how they were being treated...some parents can be rude and offensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

I believe the school has great leadership starting from the principal. The teachers are great and the security in the school is improving. They currently installed cameras all around the school. Which makes me feel safer for my daughter. The school also offers extracurricular activities for all ages. They offer a great Judo program after school plus other sports to all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

Somerset Academy offers small classrooms, large class sizes, and outdated curriculum to its students. Administration is hard to reach and is not very friendly when you do. Most of the teachers are nice, however there is a constant turnover rate every year leaving only a few veteran teachers. I pulled my son out after two years and am very pleased with the nearby public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I have been with Somerset Academy since my 9th grader entered 1st grade. All my children are attending and have had great teachers. I am proud of the prestigious SACS Regional Accreditaton Somerset holds. Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Both my boys go to Somerset and they are both metally stimulated from the criculum as well as the indivdual treatment from their teachers. I appreciate all the efforts from the faculity there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

I have three children, the oldest now being in middle school. All three have attended Somerset Academy since Pre K 4. The teachers are wonderful and committed and the administration is responsive and caring. Academically, I've witnessed my children soar. I plan on my children all completing high school at Somerset, their home away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

Great school so far for my kids. I have been a very involved and vocal parent and at Somerset Academy - pembroke pines, it is always open door for me to talk to teachers and the principal. I moved my kids from Private School and have no regrets and have been there 4 years now with my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Excellent school! My son's in 2nd grade and has been here since K and he loves it. The people, the academics everything is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Im a student in middle school and I absolutely love my school. Im in eight grade and have been in somerset since it was brand new and in trailers (I was in kindergarten) so far, I have had my share of great teachers, whom I will never forget. they were kind and pateint, and offered as much help as possible. my school might not be perfect, but they are working on it! they just recently added a new building which is used as a media center, basically a library and a quiet place to study and have presentations, and a seperate cafeteria for high school students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

My name is Tracy Mahoney, and I have been a teacher a Somerset Academy for six years. I also have my two children enrolled there in pre-k and in first grade. I could have sent my children to any school, but I chose Somerset Academy because of it's wonderful staff and because I know my children are being challenged, as well as, nurtured. We are one big family at Somerset, and we care about each other very much. All the teachers at this school treat the students like their own children. Overall, this school is a wonderful environment to send your child all day, everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My children have been at Somerset since they were in Pre-K. I had several good schools to chose from, but I couldn't have picked a better school than Somerset. It is a great, family atmosphere, the academics meet the children's development needs, the teachers are awesome and the administration is caring and supportive. I recommend Somerset Academy in Pembroke Pines to EVERYONE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Absolutely top rate!! I would not put my kids any where else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My son attends Somerset Academy Elementary school and we love it! The teachers and staff are great and there is a good environment for learning which is also very importatn for me. They also do a lot of activities to integrate the families in the school, so you get a chance to know who your kid in relating to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

To me this is a great school. I had trusted my 3 kids's education to this one. they learn, the enjoy and it also has a good discipline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

i was in the first graduating class of somerset in 2006, i had been attending the school since 9th grade since the high school first opened and even though there were so many changes it had to have been the best school i've ever attended the adminstration was unbelievable and keeps getting better
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2007

Somerset has an excellent curriculum over and above the standards set by the State. The administration and faculty exhibit compassion, professionalism and an ability to communicate effectively with parents. It is definitely a warm and caring environment for the children and their families. I believe this to be one of Somerset's most notable assets.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 62%
Black 15%
Asian 11%
White 10%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20801 Johnson Street
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 442-0233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT