Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerset Academy

Charter | K-5 | 894 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

81 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

As a student myself in my first year of high school I have been attending somerset for 4 years now an I can honestly say it has been the best experience.We are a family. The teachers and staff are phenomenal and I love all my teachers to death and can speak to them about anything. Mr.montero our principle is the best we all love him he's still a high schooler at heart and understands us I mean what other principle is going to do the Harlem shake with the other high schoolers?! As fun as he is he keeps our school in line and tends to each and every student as best as he can be very professional and funny whenever he wants. At somerset there are many clubs and societies you can join which keeps me on my toes and keeps me busy. This selection of clubs allow anyone with any type of interest to be accepted and allowed to do the things they would like. Not to mention our arts conservatory program which although I am not included is spectacular for students who wish to continue their dreams in the arts and become painters, dancers, actors,and musicians. Overall somerset is a spectacular school and I highly reccomend it to any newcomer.


Posted September 12, 2013

My child is new to this school (Kindergarten). I am pulling her out and putting her in the public elementary school. The teachers here are inexperienced and if your child is gifted forget about them being challenged in anyway. My daughter went into this school reading at a first grade level. She's in a class with children who don't know how to read because they place kids at all different levels and do not offer anything extra for advanced students. This is a charter school, which means it is owned by investors. You can tell because the school is not well maintained. All they care about is money, not the kid's educational growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

my kids are new to this school. teachers and staff are really good. welcoming atmosphere. my kids are happy and they are excited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

We transferred my son from a private school to Somerset mid Kindergarten year and love it. This school is a small school and has Elementary, Middle School and High School in the same campus. We love the school, the Principal Mr Montero and the school staff and teachers. Great High School program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

Our Child was at a Broward County Public Elementary School for Kindergarten and 1st Grade. During this time, we were told our child was above grade level and was doing great, however we suspected that there were issues with her reading and comprehension. We were told repeatedly that she was reading on 2nd grade level, even though she was in 1st grade. Within two weeks of transferring to Somerset Elementary, we were told there was indeed an issue with reading and comprehension and that she was below grade level in reading. For 2 years in the Broward County Public Schools her issues were hidden from us, when during this time we could have worked with her, but instead she fell further behind. The teachers and staff at Somerset have been instrumental in turning her around. She was put in specialized programs; there was continuous communication with her teachers and us. My child is now in 4th grade and is truly reading at grade level. Also, I am proud to say, she is an honor student at Somerset. She has worked hard, but this could not have been achieved without the commitment and dedication of the Somerset Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

The quality of education is really poor in elementary. Some teachers don't explain lessons and don t check homework. It is all about submitting papers and exercises online and they don't check the learning process.... just the grade. My kid came from a good public school as an honor roll and ended up failing two classes and getting lost with concepts at Somerset. I had to hire tutors outside of school! They promote the school as one of the best with a nice image and cool website but good education is not in the program yet. Public schools in the area are much better. Be aware!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Great school!! I am so happy my daughter goes to somerset, she is in Kindergarden and her teacher is nothing but excellent, always on top of everything, sending emails, notes; I can see the improvement in my daughter. The principal Mr. Montero is always accessible, committed in every aspect of the school. Im glad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

An lot of overachieving students, teachers, and administrators! I feel fortunate to have my fifth grader son attending Somerset Academy. This school exemplifies what a school can achieve under superior leadership. Principal extraordinaire,Mr. Montero, is by far the most impressive principal I have witnessed. The elementary school has exceeded our expectations. The parental involvement is incredible as are the amenities and facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

My daughter started Kinder this year at Somerset. After much thought, as to which school she should attend we chose this one and I am SO happy that we did. My daughter's teacher is great at communicating with parents. Every email I've sent her has been answered in much much less than 24 hrs. The curriculum is demanding and keeps my kid motivated. I am so glad that she's in this school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

I have nothing but praise for Somerset Academy. My daughter started kindergarten here last year, and has made remarkable improvements both academically and socially. She is even reading chapter books at a second grade level! The staff and administration are helpful, friendly, and organized. Looking forward to another school year at this excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

my kid begged to get out of this school and I sent him to a "rough" public High school nearby worried that we had made a mistake leaving somerset Acedemy (PP) high. Well, it was no mistake. The school has a lot of turn over in teachers, the security was allowed to "sag his pants" even though the uniform policy doesn't allow it for the students. Some of the "dance team" looked like 29 year old professional "working girls". The girls in particular just seemed way to "fast" . The public school nearby has provided a better education, more ap classes and more sports and clubs. We're done with somerset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

An abundant of overachieving students, teachers, and administrators! We feel extremely fortunate to have three children attending Somerset Academy. This school exemplifies what a school can achieve under superior leadership. Principal extraordinaire,Mr. Bernardo Montero, is by far the most impressive principal I have witnessed, yielding tremendous accolades for this school. My husband is an Attorney and I am a former teacher and we feel the school is affording our children top notch academics in superb environment. The elementary school has exceeded our expectations. The parental involvement is incredible as are the amenities and facilities. They have award-winning programs including: a Pre-Law Academy complete with a real Mock court room, a Pre-Med Academy, a Fine Arts Conservatory complete with a Dance Studio and a professional Martial Arts program. The school is constantly triumphant in all kinds of competitions...From debate events to athletics events. They strive to excel in ALL endeavors and activities, big or small. Prior to Somerset, our children attended an excellent charter school and private school in Weston. Somerset has undoubtedly surpassed both of these schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

Somerset is not for the mediocre! If you or your child are driven to aspire to be the best, then this school is for you. The excellence begins from the administration and infused into teachers and curriculum. Head Principal, Mr. Montero aspires to be the best and it shows. He is involved in all aspects of the school and knows every family. Strong parent involvement enhances this special school. It is a unique charter school with Elementary, Middle, and High School in separate buildings but on the same campus. Our children look forward to attending school and we are confident they are receiving an accelerated education second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

My children have been in this School for the past 6 years, and I have nothing but good to say . The Teachers are caring, nurturing, loving, patient, and really involved. The parent involvemement by far is the best. The staff is very responsive and helpful. It's almost like a Family, everyone knows everyone, which is why the students have alot of respect for teachers and other students. The higher the grade the more control the School has, which I think is great. The Teachers , principle, staff, and student Counselor really take parents concerns seriously and take the time to care and correct any given situation. Just like everywhere , there is always a bit of everything in any School, but I as a Parent have to say this is a great School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

The truth is this school has yet to achieve effective contol. Everything is incredibly disorganized, and i often find myself thinking "how could this possibly meet the requirements to become a school?". As i feel the teachers are truly amazing, the administration is lacking. it seems like a group of friends just decided to take on the role of governing the school without taking it seriously, they are all 'pals'. And i can assure you that they in no way follow a normal protocal. if the entire administration were to be fired, and replaced that would be the key to making this school a succese. I am a student, so i experiance this first hand. As im sure youve read in a couple of the reviews this s'hool is like a family, which is true, but a few of the students are favored by the office employees, they dont know where to draw the line. Some of the favored students have gone as far as complaining about some teachers enough to get them fired. Ultimately i feel the lack of effective decision making on the administration's part is preventing the success that should be taking place. I honestly have no idea how the school board can deem the administration fit to handle a school.


Posted September 10, 2010

This is my kids second year at this school and I'm hating it. My kids have been dumped into classrooms with 28-35 students. this is really ridiculous. The teachers can't teach effectively because of the overcrowding and they don't encourage the kids to take home books to study. Really ridiculous again. There's no organized sports available for elementary students, and God forbid if your child wants to join a team, the Atheletic Director won't even pick up his phone to answer phone calls. There's hardly ever anyone available in the Elementary and Middle School office to answer questions. It's a joke. Can't wait to transfer my kids to another school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My son has been at Somerset for 2 years, and he loves it. The teachers, staff and VP are always involved with patient, respect and love. It is a healthy environment for a child to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Is the first year in this school and my son loves it, his teacher is so nice and patient. All the staff are very kind, they maintain a high discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

my children hhave been at somerset for 6 years. love the school, teachers and all the staff. love the fact that somerset academy is an accredited charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

This was my daughters first year and we love it. The teachers are all active. Ms. Kaye is an amazing administrator who interacts with the students and children well. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 29%
Black 17% 23%
Asian 11% 3%
White 10% 42%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20801 Johnson St
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Phone: (954) 442-0233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT