Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerset Academy Middle School

Charter | 6-8 | 873 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

i like this school. it is nice. the school. nothindg to improve in the scholll
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 13, 2013

My friend kids attended this school. I have heard and seen great results. Hope to send my child there soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

I have been to this school since Kindergarden and I personally like it but it isn't the best school in the world. As a student I can honestly speak for the other student and teachers as well. The school has many cliques and a huge amount of rude people who can be bullies. Even though our school says they take bullying seriously, it still goes on all the time. I know lots of people here so I personally don't get bullied but a lot of new people who tend to be more quiet usually get bullied. Also, the people can be very obnoxious. As for the learning, this school has both good and bad. I've had some teachers, actually, quite a few teachers that have been absolutely amazing. Not only are they fun in class, but you learn so much! I've also had teachers though, that you learn absolutely nothing in all year but don't worry, there aren't that many of those. Our school keeps progressing and is trying to provide as many classes and opportunities as possible. The learning is magnificent and if you want a challenge, the advanced and pre-AP classes are magnificent. Hard and challenging, but definitely not impossible to pass. I like this school but like others it has it's good and bads.


Posted May 25, 2011

An abundant of overachieving students, teachers, and administrators! We feel extremely fortunate to have three children attending Somerset Academy. This school exemplifies what a school can achieve under superior leadership. Principal extraordinaire,Mr. Bernardo Montero, is by far the most impressive principal I have witnessed, yielding tremendous accolades for this school. My husband is an Attorney and I am a former teacher and we feel the school is affording our children top notch academics in superb environment. The parental involvement is incredible as are the amenities and facilities. They have award-winning programs including: a Pre-Law Academy complete with a real Mock court room, a Pre-Med Academy, a Fine Arts Conservatory complete with a Dance Studio and a professional Martial Arts program. The school is constantly triumphant in all kinds of competitions...From debate events to athletics events. They strive to excel in ALL endeavors and activities, big or small. Prior to Somerset, our children attended an excellent charter school and private school in Weston. Somerset has undoubtedly surpassed both of these schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

Somerset is not for the mediocre! If you or your child are driven to aspire to be the best, then this school is for you. The excellence begins from the administration and infused into teachers and curriculum. Head Principal, Mr. Montero aspires to be the best and it shows. He is involved in all aspects of the school and knows every family. It is a unique charter school with Elementary, Middle, and High School in separate buildings but on the same campus. Our children look forward to attending school and we are confident they are receiving an accelerated education second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Started out well enough and had so much potential to be a great school then the culture of the school changed about four years ago. Most of the teachers are not certified. The administration promises all sorts of things but never deliver on the promises. It is now all about the money and less about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Since moving to Florida some years ago, this school is the BEST I have experienced in Broward county! The principal, Mr. Montero, exemplifies what every parent looks for: good leadership, high standards, discipline, proactive academics and good communication with parents. If I have ever had a problem, he is always responsive and productive. His teachers, for the most part are extraordinary. Chapel Trail is a TRIPLE THREAT "A" SCHOOL for a reason: GOOD LEADERSHIP! He is the best thing to happen to my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Great school with involved teachers though wish they were all fluent in English... Do not understand why children from Spanish speaking homes goes to beginner Spanish??? Mr Montero is great and strict which for me and my child is greatly appreciated. The admin seems to be in lala-land from time to time different answers depending on who you speak with. Overall I think this is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

My daughter is new to the school and I love it. She is bused in from Fort Lauderdale and it requires us to have longer days but it is worth the extra effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

My son is an ESE student which just started Middle School. The transition to a completely new school is hard for students from Elementary let alone a kid with ADD. It was a rough start but action taken on my concerns were addressed immediately. Principal Montero's exceptional leadership is noticeable. He has no troubles rolling up his sleeves in every capacity of the school's function, be it car line, security and just about anything that comes his way. His connection with the students is what caught my eye above everything. My son respects him and that's hard to come by now days. My experience with the teachers I'll sum in three words, responsive, communicative and proactive. My experience with staff, Guidance Counselor and ESE Director has been wonderful and love the variety of After school activities and clubs. I know my son is safe when attending Somerset. Fantastic school all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I have two children attending middle school at Somerset Academy. Both children are making a smooth transition from a small private school to the Somerset family. All of my experiences thus far have been very positive. The faculty and administration seem to be very dedicated and focused on the success of each child. My children are very happy and are thriving, both academically and socially. They feel safe, secure, and nutured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

My child has been attending Somerset Academy since the 6 grade and is now in the 11 grade. Overall, this school is a good school. As a known over protective mom, I have felt comfortable to let my gaurds down at Somerset Academy. In part because of the Principal/Head Master: B. Montero. By now I believe most of the parents at the school have his cell phone number. He makes it available to them and in a recent letter sent home to parents, he included his cell number. I've called him on emergency using that number and was pleased to have him answer. Parents have to stay invovled and demand excellence, but they are working to give us just that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

This school is way overrated. There is a lack of supervision. They think they are a private school and want you to pay for everything. They will not allow you to go to the class to pick up your children in the afterschool program. I believe it it because many of the room have no discipline and it is like a zoo. That was my experience prior to them making that rule. I called and left messages for the current principal and he never returned my call. That was 2 years ago. They need more sports for the middle school and they tell you it is $250 to play. This is on the website. Look specifically for soccer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

My daughter came from Griffin Elem. in Cooper City which was a super great school, A rated. The school is K-5. So we put her in 6th at Somerset. Somerset needs alot of work. They are buiding a gym now, we haven't let her take PE due to the heat and they have gym outside. She has had a few really great teachers. Though due to it being a charter school they tend to leave the school. So the teacher turnover rate is very high. My daughter has always made honor roll and scores really well on the FCAT. She likes the school but gets discoraged with some of the teachers. We are trying to locate to another school but the only acceptable one is perhaps: The College Of BCC. which is only for 11 & 12th grade. So Somerset is still the best choice for the next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

overall I love this school. There are just 1 or 2 improvements needed. I ussually have to go to the school if I have a question or need something even if minor resolved. And there are just not enough after school activities to involve the children within the actuall school area, not to another park were the child can not transport self. However, the teachers are absolutely wonderful, and in this stage in age it is very important for me to send my child were i feel he is protected and safe. In the 2 years that my son has been there I have not heard of one fight or seen children picked on. So overall I have to say I love somerset academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

Somerset Academy seem to be having a hard time maintaining the set standards. The grades have been dropping steadily in the last 3 years instead of improving as with other peer schools. A real concern for me. In general, not exactly a poor school but wouldn't call it great either. Seems district schools are doing better in achieving preset standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

My daughter joined Somerset at inception and is now in Middle School. She was joined by brother three years ago, he is now in Elementary school, grade 2. Excellent academic programs, great teacher involvement. The teacher involvement is bolstered by parents who are actively involved as we are. I find the Admin Leadership to be disjointed but again, once you are involved, things get resolved and fixed relatively quickly. I like a school with uniforms and the level of discipline which Somerset requires is great. For me, an A+ school on effort alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

The benefit to this school is the small class sizes, 800 total kids and teacher envolvement. The cons are the lack of programs/clubs that will benefit the children. There is no music program or adequat area for the children to play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2004

It is a shame to get such a poor response rate on phone calls back from administration. We sometimes need to wait days or show up in person simply to get a response to a two-second question. No wonder, so many parents take out their children to more respectful locations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2004

Poor response rate from administration. We took our children out immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

280 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

280 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

283 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 63%
Black 16%
White 12%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%53%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. BERNARDO MONTERO
Fax number
  • (954) 442-1762

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20803 Johnson Street
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 442-0233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Silver Trail Middle School
Southwest Ranches, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT