Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Pembroke Pines Florida

Charter | K-5 | 680 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Both my kids have been there for 2 yrs now. From kindergarten to first grade and from Second grade to third. The school is wonderful. They have an afterschool program and a lot of extra programs. You can also have the YMCA pick up your child for after care. Gives them a balance social structure. The teachers really care and the front office (principals) office very organized. My little one in the beginning ended up in the principals office daily for a week. He was acting up and to my surprise Dr. Libidinsky was super patient and Ms. Caballero was without words, the best teacher ever, her kindness has no limits. They both were so patient and caring and my son received all the help he needed. He was diagnosed with ADHD and the school gave him so much support. Now he takes medicine and all is normal. But I realized the school was amazing with all their help. They came from Sunset Lakes which is also great. But charter is a different level. To start with, my kids each have two teachers and the size of the class is not above 20 kids. The teaching programs are extraordinary. Great school and great management (and super clean)..... Thanks FSU! Keep up the good work...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

I am glad they didn't lose your child like they did mine... Or left him alone with older kids while they were little. The principal, a total joke. So much that I had to withdraw my child out of the school not without a fight. We pursue a claim against the city and the school. Glad we succeeded and that our child is not a Pembroke Pines statistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

Our son attended the PPCES FSU campus from Kindergarten to 5th grade. He was in the ESE program from start to finish and we could not be happier with his progress. The whole school embraced our child and he has made strides beyond our wildest dreams. Mrs. A. Rodriguez is an AMAZING Teacher. We love the staff, the students, the academics....our list goes on and on. Thank you for everything. We are confident that he is now ready for the next chaper in his life, but we will miss you more than you know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

This was our son's first year at the FSU charter and the experience has been amazing. He is on the high functioning end of the autism spectrum, so he receives support from the school's ESE program and is integrated in a regular classroom. My son has blossomed in this school, all due to the concerted effort of the teachers and staff. My concerns are addressed quickly; the communication is excellent. The volunteer opportunities have allowed my family to be part of this community school in ways we had not experienced before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

We pulled our child out of private school to attend this school, and we never looked back. I am blown away at the organization, staff, curriculum, teachers, and community. We feel fortunate to be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

We were so excited 3 years ago when my son was accepted to this school, however all excitement has faded away. This school is not all it's cracked up to be. Coming from out of state, this school pales in comparison to how I grew up. I agree with other reviewers that there is zero communication. I have no idea what my son has done for the past 3 years in school. There is no class newsletter, no curriculum night, nothing other than being told to go to the state dept of education website to read the curriculum. I could go on and on. The few positives are that they haven't cut specials as in other neighborhood schools (although you do pay for them), and there are a number of clubs that weren't available in our also highly regarded neighborhood school. Also, my second son did have an excellent kindergarten teacher this year. I started to think it was me, but when talking to parents who are truly in tune to what good education is, we have all come to the same conclusion that this school misses the mark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

This is not a great school. If you do not get admission to this school do not worry, you are lucky. There is no communication from teachers. When you write to teachers they care less to answer. Even when you get answer it is always vague, no clarity. They would not share the assessment test results that are conducted all through the year with the parents. Other local schools share this information with parents. If the assessments are shared then there is an opportunity for parents to help coach their kids. This school does not get it. I have brought up these issues several times to senior administration. No followup action. They care less for the concerns. I checked with other parents in private. Most of them have similar concerns. I would encourage posting issues to expose this school. being told
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

If your child has special needs outside of autism this is not the school for you. The lady in charge of the ESE program is horrible. My child came home crying everyday from school. We spent one school year at this school and regret it. I do think it is a great school for normal students. It is sad that they can not keep up that standard for kids with special needs. We moved to our regular home school and my child is receiving all of the support needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

FSU is an ecxellent school with motivated teachers and friendly staff. My son has a wonderful year in kindergarden last year with a teacher with passion for her work and love and respect for her students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

My son just finished Kindergarten and then we had to move and the one think I hated leaving in Florida was this school. But I'm confident my son received the best education to prepare him for 1st grade. It does feel like you're with family when you're at this school. The whole staff at FSU is wonderful and I will miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Great School. Fair and motivated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

Principal and Assistant principal show genine interest in the well being of the students. Teachers and office staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

This school is excellent by far. The principal takes a personal approach to any situation brought to her attention. The entire administrative faculty is in support of the students and the parents. They ensure that all children are learning and progressing. Mr. Daniels is an excellent music/performing arts teacher, who understands how important the arts help with critical thinking skills by making lessons and performances both educational and fun. Between Mr. Daniels, Dr. Libidinsky,MR. Pfau and the entire faculty and parents, The FSU campus is by far a superior school that fosters education,safety, morals, respect. It's like sending your child to school with family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My son just finished kindergarten and we had a great experience with the teachers, principals and staff!!The programs, activities and parent involvement were exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2007

The quality of academic programs is excellent, they foster creativity. As all public elementary schools in the music department. Parental involvement is very good its a good thing that they make you do the hours so that you spend time with your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

This school was wonderful. My kids came home happy and excited about what they learned. The teachers are genuinely caring to the specific needs of each child and very professional whenever I spoke to them about concerns. The principal was always available for any concerns and I love the fact that they have a guidance counselor to oversee many social support clubs. The school keeps its main focus on the kids and the PTA is great. The family fun nights and other events were always a success and run properly. Both my kids are moving on to the middle school but they really received a well-rounded education at the Pines FSU campus - both academically and socially. Thanks Pines Charter for keeping the main focus on educating the kids with new, innovative learning styles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

Everybody gets involved, from teachers, parents, front office staff. The education that my daughter is getting is really good. And if you are looking for an incredible music teacher, you need to meet Mr. Daniels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I am so happy with everything about this school. Nice personal touch!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 37%
Black 27%
White 23%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 17%22%61%
Master's degree 83%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. LISA LIBIDINSKY
Fax number
  • (954) 499-3016
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Southwest 172nd Avenue
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 499-4244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cambridge Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL




Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT