Advertisement
Advertisement

Cambridge Academy

Private | PK-5

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Pembroke Pines

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2013

I believe this school is the best experience I have ever encountered. My son has been attending this school since he was two and he graduates this year. I am already starting to register my 22 month old to start right away. The director and assistant director are two amazing people who are so friendly and are always there. His teachers have been fantastic every year and my child will be graduating being above and beynd prepared for Kindergarten. I would recommend and have recommended this school to everyone I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

We had an amazing experience at this school! The curriculum is excellent and the kids are engaged in creative and educational activities all day. Cambridge does a great job of teaching through reading, art and tactile activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

Cambridge is extremely unorganized and there were numerous times where I felt that my child was not properly cared for. One time in particular I received a phone call that my son peed through his change of underwear and I needed to bring another pair. My son was in pull ups at the time and was not wearing underwear! They put somoene else's underwear on him and let him sit in his own pee. Many of the teachers are not certified in teaching, so you don't know what you are dealing with. They can't even get your monthly bill correct. I would highly advise against sending your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

Cambridge schools are the worst, they are owned by KinderCare and upcharge for the NAME "Cambridge". I have had nothing but bad experiences with all but a couple of teachers. The director, the receptionist are total and utter snobs with nothing but contempt. I wouldn't recommend this school for a dog let alone a child. It's not worth the money, go to another school there are really good ones out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

After an incident that required involvement of the district's Director, we were asked by them to give the school another chance. We went back again to register my kid for spring break only to find attitute and rudeness at its best through the receptionist "Rosie". I asked to speak to the principal who assured me that she would speak with her, but after discussing it with my husband he convinced me that we didn't have to accept this behavior and that there were other schools with more caring and professional people... I'm glad I didn't go back, we did find another school and couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

I absolutely love this school. My daughter has learned so much in every aspect because not only are they enforcing academics they are ensuring they are well behaved. My daughter has been there for five months and had a drastic improvement with this preschool. They never watch television as most schools do and they never are sitting around doing just nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

My 2 yr old son recently started to attend this school. It is very clean, seems very organized, and his teachers were great. This week they seem to have fired all the teachers in his classroom and they were very experienced. The current teachers seem OK but may be inexperienced with this age group. I am not sure of the turnover rate of their teachers and certainly that is a concern for the stability of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This is a wonderful school. They cover so much with the children. My son really came home having learned something new everyday. One of my only concerns was that his teachers in the lower level classes (18-24 months and 2 y/o classes) weren't as proficient in English as I would have liked them to be.I think he had trouble understanding them through their accents. But at the same time he was very attached to them, you couldn't find more loving,nurturing teachers anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

I have nothing but good things to say about Cambridge. My daughter just completed pre-K after attending since she was 2 yrs. This school is a wonderful place for children, and I always felt good about leaving her in their care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

The academic programs were good because they included various subjects such as computers and spanish. They also have different activities that introduce kids to different topics such as different cultures. Cambridge offers music, art and sports classes. It is also possible to find extracurricular activities such as swimming classes, karate on-site.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18055 NW 8 Street
Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Phone: (954) 447-0187

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


The Pembroke Pines Florida
Pembroke Pines, FL



Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT