Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

R. C. Lipscomb Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 925 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

We started public school after moving into this district in December 2013. From day one we have had problems.. we were initially told that he would be placed where ever there was room without even taking into consideration what his learning capacity or personality was. We wanted to have everything settled before the Christmas break started so we could get him excited about moving schools, and when we went to the school to register him they said they wouldn't do it until after, we even tried the Monday the teachers were back and there was no office staff. So in the craziness of the first day back from school we were then given our teacher not having a clue what her teaching styles were like or her personality. It has shown that she is not a good fit for our son. She has not communicated with me one time about how he is doing other than a time that I came into the school to drop off a bulky project he did and she said "Oh he's doing great, no problems" and that was it. then she sends home a progress report with a C. That isn't great!! The last straw was when he came home and was crying because his stomach hurt. He had gone to his teacher and she said. "your not sick" YES HE IS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

This school is fantastic. When we first came we had no idea there would be such a school anywhere. The Principal greets each student coming in the morning through the breezeway and the students in fifth grade are selected for hall monitoring to keep the students from running or fighting, etc. Every student leads the way at Lipscomb. There are also Lipscomb Leader awards ended at every semester for the different character traits favorable to the faculty and students at Lipscomb. This is for those students who display those traits during the year. Lipscomb leaders are as big as honor roll is, but can be attained by anyone. I feel like my kids are in big trouble because we will be leaving after second semester of this year 2013-2014 to VA. I hope we find one that will compare and still let the students thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

My school is awesome and very supportive. However, there are so many students at this school, your child can be left in the crowd. Lots of activities for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

My daughter has been attending since K now shes in 4th. Mr. Cooey use to be the principle up until 3rd grade and the school was amazing. Since the new principle has taken over things have gone down hill. She is awful! Never a smile, not good with the kids and horrible attitude with the parents. She needs to take a step back and re evaluate how she is running things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

I have two children in Kindergarten this year at Lipscomb and I love it. My kids love school. The teachers are organized and caring. The new principal, Mrs. Sanders, seems to be doing a great job as well. I don't know much about this county as we are from another state. But I can tell you that you should be very happy with this school. My children seem to be learning in a very organized fashion. I am extremely pleased with the Kindergarten program. Parent/teacher communication is wonderful. Also Mrs. Fine is an exceptional teacher. She goes above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

My special needs child has attended Lipscomb for 5 years. He has made tremendous gains and accomplished more than we ever imagined. The love and care given to him is beyond measure. I have learned that you can't please everyone. The administration is excellent and the PTA is one of the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

Lipscomb is a great school!!! The leadership of the school is phenomenal, the teachers are nuturing and very supportive and the PTA is awesome! They really help to make increase the value of the education and extracurriculars provided at R.C. Lipscomb. Last, and certainly not least, are the parents and other caregivers seen throughout the school at all times, showing their love and support for their children and school pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

I attended Lipscomb as a child and now my child is attending. She is doing excellent and we love the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Lipscomb is great and the teachers there are wonderful. They truely care about the students. The faculty and teachers are very good about communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

Lipscomb is a great school as many other parents have expressed; however, the increasing number of students over the last few years is having a negative impact on several areas to include infrastructure (space), quality and diversity of programs, and the learning environment. There are just too many students in a school that was not designed to house them. There need to be a cap on the number of students that are allowed to attend from outside the geographical district. My prediction is that there will be a corresponding decrease in the test scores that are used to rate the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

My child attends the 4th grade at Lipscomb and I have seen a huge change in his interest in school. He loves and looks forward to going to school and especially going to the science lab. He brings home experiments that he has done in the lab and it has made a difference in his understanding of science. He came from another school that did not have this and now science is his favorite subject. Great job for going above and beyond to have those little extras to help our kids better understand the sometimes looked over subjects. I would highly recommend this school to anyone with an elementary child. I always feel welcomed to come into the school to volunteer with various different activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

My grandson has had trouble enjoying school and with his grades since beginning school. Now a third grader and a member of R.C. Lipscomb, he truely enjoys school, and his grades are so much better. A blessing for sure.


Posted April 1, 2008

I volunteer at the school and the kids are great as is the faculty


Posted July 26, 2007

I absolutely love this school. I heard mixed things before choosing this one. they have a new principle which is very involved in the school. They encourage a lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

My oldest daughter just started K here and she loves it. There does tend to be an exceptionally high focus on getting things right for the 'test' and that is disturbing considering my daughter is only six. The teachers are great as is Mr. Cooey, the principal. The PTA is very active, althought having a fund-raiser every month seems a little excessive. My younger daughter starts school here next year and we are very excited to see both of them progress through the various grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

R.C. Lipscomb is an excellent school! We have been here for 3 years and purchased a home specifically in this district because of the good ratings. Our 3 daughters attend R. C. Lipscomb. The principal and administration are exceptional. Teachers are professional yet nurturing and very accessible. There is a warm family environment and a high moral standard modeled by the faculty and staff. There is also a huge amount of parent involvement. I'll be sad when my oldest one moves on to 6th grade next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

Strong PTA with impressive degree of parental involvement. The physical plant of the school has to be among, if not THE, finest in the district. High quality academics and truly fine staff make this a great school. Surpasses the 'elite' private schools we toured in every respect. My chid is excited to go to school everyday and that is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

Mrs. Schmitt & the Self-Contained Gifted Program are tremendous! My son wanted to read and study more. Mrs. Schmitt helped him become more organized which is a major feat considering most 10-years-old have a hard time remembering to turn-in homework. I would highly recommend this school. We were so lucky to have found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

I found most of the faculty in this school to be rather self-important. The school does produce high FCAT scores, but their special needs department is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

Great interest in teachers towards the students. Very involved staff. Children are always happy and polite. Attention to details.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Black 15%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Hispanic 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%59%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SUSAN SANDERS
Fax number
  • (850) 494-5722

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10200 Ashton Brosnaham Road
Pensacola, FL 32534
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 494-5703

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Pensacola Jr Academy
Pensacola, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT