Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 620 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2013

I would like to say that I am pleased with this school because my child has been attending for three years now and every single one of her Teachers has been amazing and went above and beyond. My only complaint is ONE particular woman that works in the office. I had to take public transportation for several months while I was having car issues and would arrive at school 20 minutes early, obviously not by choice. I had a toddler and an infant in a stroller and was made to stand outside in bad weather with my children and my toddler was not allowed to use the restroom. This kind lady informed me "THE SCHOOL DOESN'T OPEN FOR ANOTHER 20 MINUTES." She also would not allow me to walk through the tunnel with my child, I had to cross Palafox which is incredibly unsafe especially while walking with small children. Thankfully Ms. Gartman always helped me. This individual should be reprimanded for being so rude especially towards people who are loving parents and going above and beyond to keep their children in the schools they wish to be in. Thankfully I have reliable transportation now and I no longer have to deal with her nightmarish behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

This is a wonderful school, the only reason it gets four stars is because some teachers here have a pet. They pick a particular they like make they year easy, but if they don't like your child they will nick pick the entire year everything your child do. Especially Mrs.Fowler this lady did my kid wrong. My child isn't perfect and know one in the world is but she picked for a long time pretty much traumatized her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

I absolutely love the schools teachers but the office staff leaves a whole lot to be desired. I have never had the opportunity to have been put into any crazy situations that involve me personally, but I have been in the office on numerous occassions where I wistnessed the staff gossiping about childrens issues and problems with certain parents. As i'm sure there may be reasons of concern involving these parents and children there is no reason anyone other the proper channels should be in knowledge of any childs personal business unless it affects us. I'm terribly disturbed by the way they handle these issues and will be moving to relocate and transfer my children to a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

me and all my family attended this school and we are all smart and goal oreinted students today.. now my youngest sibling goes there. its great
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

My daughter is in first grade at Brentwood. The is satisfactory, however, there aren't options for those that run above the average. There needs to be more organization with most all activites hosted by and at this school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I have three children in this school and am very satisfied with their education. All of them are reading well above their grade level. The school welcomes parent involvement and lunch visits. My children all love the AR program and the plentiful access to the library. They have also been able to take advantage of Science Saturdays and chorus on top of the heavy focus on technology. It is a very well rounded school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

Brentwood elementary school is an outstanding place for young minds. The low GreatSchools rating does not reflect the school voucher program used here in Fla. The voucher program allows parents in low performing school districts to move their kids to better preforming schools. Brentwood elementary has had a large number of student put into it from these districts over the past two years which accounts for the drop in its performance. My child reads 3 levels above her reading level and performs above her level in math. Overall great school and staff that put your childs education first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

Brentwood elementary school has the heart and energy to identify and nurture the minds of each individual child. They have proven it year after year, my children are recieving an education that could not possibly be rivaled. How awesome is that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

I love Brentwood. Both my kids have done well going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

Brentwood is a fabulous school in all respects. I am so pleased with the teachers, staff, and curriculum. My kindergartener has amazed me with all he's learned, from computer skills to reading skills. Parents are afforded every opportunity to be involved with the education of their children. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful school in our district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

Brentwood tries to get everyone involved... we have after school activities all the time like art night, indian night, reading night,etc... The principal is always available to talk about with you about any complaints or concerns. The parents are always allowed to volunteer in your childs classroom. In my opinion its the best school in Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

I have 2 children attending Brentwood. 1 of them is in kindergarden and the other is in 2nd. They love there school and there are so many extra curricular activities that there is no way we could be involved in all of them. Both of my children are making the ab honor roll. they are in girl scouts and both have improved there reading since being there. The principal and other staff is always helpful no matter what concern you have. I am a member of the pta and activily involved in all the fundraising projects and other pta stuff. The parents are always learning new stuff with their children. I would recomend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 52%
White 29%
Two or more races 9%
Hispanic 7%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%59%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BRIAN ALABACK
Fax number
  • (850) 595-6802

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4820 North Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32505
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 595-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT