Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Escambia High School

Public | 9-12 | 1745 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2014

The engineering program at EHS is top flight. My child has completed all 4 yrs and was accepted at 5 major engineering universities and will attend Auburn next year with a full ride. She was not even the top student in the program! As with all schools there are problems with the duds but these are mostly hard working, caring and smart teachers. The ROTC program is the best in the country and the music program is hands down the best in the area. The honors science and math programs are of the highest quality. In short this is a good school in an old building with a diverse student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

This is the school we are zoned to go to. I wish we could afford Private school, this school is a joke and so is their Sports department. My son tried out for Basketball and they told kids that a list would be put up the next day. Well guess what his name was not on there but Kids that did not try out were, How is that fair to anyone? Teachers are just there to get a paycheck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Escambia High School is a terrible school. The administration is a joke. I would NOT recommend sending your child here. I will not be allowing my younger children to attend Escambia High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

I graduated from Escambia some time ago. It definitely is not the best school out there. There were constant fights, a high dropout rate, and some pretty bad teachers that didn't do their job. The school was too poor to afford cameras so it was easy to skip class. However, it is possible to obtain a good education there. In my experience, all of the honors, AP, and dual enrollment teachers were the best teachers in the school and were caring about my performance in class. Regular-level courses should be avoided as they tend to be led by poor teachers. If you have no other place to send your child to school and you are reluctant, I believe it is possible to make it work out. My parents were skeptical about sending me here at first, but were glad I stuck around and I ended up graduating here with honors.


Posted January 24, 2012

I am a parent and reading all the high school reviews has led me to this school. I have searched the web but would like feedback from actual students. My son is a freshman and has great grades. Tell me something about the classes and teachers.. How do they add up? I am reading some bad reviews but do know that you can succeed once you put your mind to it. I am an involved parent and DO NOT tolerate bullying, or bad teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

I believe this school is like any other school, it is what you make it. The faculty and staff are very supportive, and if you make yourself friendly and take the right steps they will support you fully. I took a part in academic programs, all honors courses, and even played in the orchestra. Escambia has wonderful opportunities for growth and development, and the top band, orchestra, and ROTC in the county. The all county orchestra is led by students from escambia high, and so is the all county band. The Band and ROTC programs are top rated in the country, and win many ward. If you stick with the right crowd and put the effort in your opportunities are endless
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2011

This school is worse the worst in the county. Some of the teachers speak very bad English and there are almost no resources. Overcrowding is a huge problem, along with fights, and not just your typical fights. Two students once got into a fight over fried chicken. Also, the buses show up late all the time. Today, it showed up 30 minutes late, yesterday, it didnt even come.


Posted April 12, 2011

Honestly, Escambia is not that bad. I moved here my sophomore year from a AMAZING high school and was quite reluctant to come here once hearing about it. Now, I am almost done with my junior year and I love it here. I find that the teachers, students, and counselors are great. Yes there are fights and lock downs but what can you really do? Maybe these things happen more at one school than the next but it's all what you make of it. I am involved in honor courses, many clubs, and stick with the right crowd. Chose you friends and classes wisely and you will be fine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2011

New Leadership is badly needed! the school has great potential, but unfortunitly this leadership promotes incompetence! What a shame! I have seen this school through the eyes of a student and parent and have seen good leaders come and go and this current poor leader stay!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

Before moving here, we checked all the local schools and settled on EHS after speaking with a few parents with experience. I've not been disappointed. Granted, it's not a wonderful as the school we just came from- but this is Florida. I graduated from high school in Florida and can tell you - EHS is just one of many like it. Our child has great grades, honors classes and a good bunch of friends. If the parents stay involved with their child's school life, they can keep everything in check. Know their friends, know their classes and teachers, and teach them right from wrong and ensure they are strong enough to stay out of trouble. There is good and bad at every school - it's just what you make it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

My daughter just started school here. I had heard dismal reviews before she started, but because this was our district, and her grades were consistently high enough to go out if district I got stuck sending her here. It is a joke of a school. The 1st time mid term progress reports were to go home, half of her teachers "didn't have theirs ready". I set up a parent teacher conference and her Math teacher and ROTC instructor didn't even show up. I followed up to her Math teacher with not one, but two emails requesting an update on her grades and progress in her class she ignored both of them. I then called the Principal to try to find out some info. I got the secretaries voice mail. She failed to return my call. Also, Mrs.White in guidance is beyond RUDE as are most of the staff! Horrible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

As the parent of an 11th grade student ,and another who graduated and is in her 2nd year of college, I have GOOD things to say! Honors' classes, academic fairs,clubs, sports, PTSA, and scholarships! I have found the Principal to be incredibly committed and entirely approachable from the start! She has personally reached into her pocket to address student and school needs on many occasions. I have met many wonderful Teachers and Coaches who see teaching as a calling and have a real heart for the kids. I'm sorry to hear that others have had a lesser experience, but feel that Escambia H.S. affords students a great all around academic experience with ample opportunities for growth on every level. My children have gone to Magnet Schools, Gifted Schools , and had eligibility to choose any school. We chose EHS.Parents are encouraged to get involved and PTSA is a great way !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

My daughter attended Escambia High for about three months before I pulled her out of there and enrolled her in homeschool. This is absolutely the worst school I have ever had to deal with. There are entirely too many administrators, and none know what the others are doing. The staff are cold, rude and uncaring. Drugs, fights and the 'gang-banger' attitude are prevalent in the student body. Walking into this school felt like walking into a prison. Only one of my daughter's teachers seemed to be interested in making sure she was catching on and keeping up as a new student to the district. The others were just plain rude. Also the curriculum is almost a full semester behind schools in other states. If you can help it at all, don't send your kids to this school. It's absolutely horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

I have traveled quite a bit and have experienced many different academic environments and this has be the worst. The principal is far too busy with other things to be truly concerned with the students. The majority of the office staff is rude and uncaring and most teachers are the same way. There are huge issues with fights especially in the bathrooms, drugs, etc. and the principal is reluctant to install new cameras to provide a bit more protection, but the teachers have smart boards in the classrooms that are rarely used. What about protection of the students? The school PTSA does not provide any real assistance and are concerned with luncheons, fund raising, and beautification. This was my first, last, and only year at Escambia High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I'm a sophomore at Escambia High. Yes, there are fights, and drugs, etc. However, it is in the other schools just as much, it is just publicized more from Escambia. Having gone there for a year and a half, I'm in honors classes, many clubs, and play sports there and I am most definately proud to call myself an EHS gator.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2009

I go to Escambia High Its not what they are saying it is .There are fights ex..... There for this school is ok but its not the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

I love Escambia High School! :D When people say it's a bad school, 99.9% of those people have never been there. It has just as much druggies, gang members, slackers as any school. It all just depends on who you hang out with. If you have great friends who don't do drugs and don't fight and you keep up your grades, you'll make it through. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

I have two children enrolled at EHS and for the most part they would not go anywhere else,but there are a few teachers there that are really rude and uncaring about the students (in my opinion).My biggest concern at the moment is the dangerous situation in front of the school during drop off and pick uupup
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

I am a going to be a sophomore next year and i loved my year at escamabia. I am proud to call Escmabia my school. And can't wit to go back next year. I also love there sports program Go Gators!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2008

I am currently a senior at EHS, and I have spent all four years there. Alot of people think it is a horrible school, but let me tell you. It is not! the main complaints are overcrowding, mediocre work, no books, and the appearance. Lets think a minute though.. Who is to blame for them? The administration has done everything in their power to fix these problems! the school district doesn't give us enough money for books, the teachers are 'mean' because students arent willing to learn therefore they get mediocre work, the appearance of the school is improving every week due to our clean and green days, and the reason we are so overcrowded is because the escambia county school district closed down woodham high school. In my opinion, there really isn't that much violence either. No more than any other school. I would reccomend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

498 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

374 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

390 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

431 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

331 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
71%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

317 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Black 33%
Two or more races 8%
Hispanic 6%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 62%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%59%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MIKE SHERRILL
Fax number
  • (850) 453-9381

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1310 North 65th Avenue
Pensacola, FL 32506
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 453-3221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Christian International Academy
Santa Rosa Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT