Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ferry Pass Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 701 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

I love Ferry Pass Elementary. I have kids in K5 and first grade. I absolutely love their teachers and the time and effort they put into their job. My boys talk about school and their day every single day and I couldn't ask for anything better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

This school should not be able to teach a cat let alone kids. The staff is so rude and think they are better then all. The worst of all is the assistant principal Cathy Ray she is very rude to the kids and to the parents and should not be around and kids with her bad attitude. And the teachers will wait months before they call you if the child is not turning the homework in. Bottom line is this school needs a whole new staff we have great people in the field with out jobs but yet we have all these staff and teachers who flat out stink working with our kids it's like the city of Pensacola does not care about the kids only what they want because i know for a fact i'm not the only one who feels this way about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

Parents do not send your kids to this school. Administration is the worst . From the desk clerk to the principal . Those attitudes reflect the entire school . Sad to say but true .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

I definitely do not recommend this school to any parent. My child attended this school from 2nd to 4th grade. She had the police called on her twice for crying. I will admit my child has OCD and will cry uncontrollably if she cannot figure out an answer on her work. But her behavior never required police intervention. No contact was made with me until AFTER the police had already been to the school. Instead of dealing with her issue they threatened her with police enforcement and sending her to jail if she did not be quiet. I made several complaints to the school board and nothing was done. I eventually took her out and never looked back. Each time the police were called it was the principal who made the call and again not once did she contact me prior to calling law enforcement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2012

My child had to transfer from Texas due to court issues with her father and I. When I needed to get register paperwork from the ADMIN STAFF as I see have been complained about and the shoe def fits! They were completely rude towards me as I was trying to obtain information of the school. I never once got any information about the school or times of the school what kind of classes or nothing of the sort. I go to the school to ask questions about the school activities and they turn their old noses up at you and act as tho you are bothering them and all they want to do is sit around talking. There is no real security at that school, there is no constant nurse on duty there. The place looks like something off a horror movie it's so run down and old, paint chipping everywhere, very filthy and you can see the dirt caked up all along the baseboards, and looks as tho no one has ever buffed the floors since it opened. I feel sorry for my child going to the school and hope we are able to relocate quickly back to Texas where it's top of the line at everything, staff, security and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

From each encounter with teachers I have had over the recent years, they are wonderful. The problem lies within the admin staff. They are very rude, rarely smile and if you go in you feel you are an inconvience to them that they have to do their job. The PTA is worse than a high school clique, and voted for the upcoming year at a kindergarden performance where the majority had no idea it was happening and parents of others who were not in attendance had no say. The principal is rarely seen, seldom at actiivties and never has good communication with both parents or students. No helping load/unload buses or cars, no fun thing to give incentive to kids. My kids will be out of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

To say this is a terrible school would be unfair, because My daughter's 1st grade teacher is amazing. My 2nd grader's teacher is just awful. In an attempt to get a better rating, all the focus is on testing questions. My 2nd grader went from being a straing A student in Georgia at a +AA school, to getting Fs in Ferry Pass. The adminstration is rude and unprofessional, and simply disappointing to say the least. If you have a choice, DO NOT enroll your kids here. THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR CHILDREN'S NEEDS. All the focus is on THEIR school rating and test scores (teaching to pass the tes). My (straight A) daughter cries and has told me her teacher does not care. She is hurried thru and intimidated by this teacher and it is disgusting. I am pulling them out ASAP! There is nothing worse that watching this school dismiss my children, this place is killing me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

I love Ferry Pass Elementary! We moved to the area 3 years ago. I had read some of the reviews on this site and were a little concerned. The secret to having a great relationship with a school is to get involved. I immediately joined the PTA and volunteered my spare time. Three years later I work 30 hours a week and hold a PTA board position. The school loves it's volunteers. Very welcoming!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

2010 was a very frustrating year for my child who was new to this school. Parent/ teacher communication was poor. The principles leadership skills were lacking. From day 1 the school put pressure on FCAT and I felt neglected other areas of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

My children had good teachers. They communicated well. The leadership lacks at this school. Teamwork is not a famliar word to the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

i have had no complaints out of this school whatsoever!! my child is in the 3rd grade and we love ms. edwards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

Very good school. Nice environment. And the teachers are very hospitable and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

I have had many problems with teachers and the priciple. Especially the teacher my child has. It's like pulling teeth to get anything done. If I could I would change my child to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

This is a great school, I had twod daughters attend ferry pass and they were treated with the upmost respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I am glad we moved out of the Ferry Pass elementary district, be weary of the PTA, very clickish, and if there is a problem you have to deal with it, don't go to the principal and expect anything to happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

Ferry Pass is a great school with a very friendly and caring staff! the new principal is great and the clinic is on top of every child that needs medicine or special care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

This is an awsome school. I love Ferry Pass Elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

Math and Science Magnet program is weak and only begins after 3rd grade. I have found the majority of staff and teachers to be approachable and considerate. Don't like the trailors for classess. Need permenant structures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Our daughter only spent half of a school year here (We're military) but we had a great experience. Her first grade teacher was so wonderful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

I think Ferry Pass is a very good school. Their academic programs are the light of their programs. It is a nice mix of genres, that is why I chose to send my children there. I think they lack in extracurricur activities. And I don't think they give enough acknowledgement to students/parents who maintain good grades and excellent conduct. I felt they placed more emphasis on attendance than anything. My child made honor roll several times and the school doesn't offer the bumper stickers like other schools have. I think they should have more than just fund raisers as a way to have a school night out. The children never have performances that the parent can attend. I think they should offer some sports for the children also. Track and field at least.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Black 35%
Two or more races 10%
Hispanic 7%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%59%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. RHONDA SHUFORD
Fax number
  • (850) 494-7480

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8310 North Davis Highway
Pensacola, FL 32514
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 494-5605

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pensacola Jr Academy
Pensacola, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT