Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakcrest Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 635 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

I don't know who, or what, controls the rating system. Yes, it is highly inaccurate and by no means indicative of the actual school one is reviewing. For example, my son attended a school in the Northeast (Rhode Island area), and while this particular school was given a rating of 7 out of 10, this school should, in all reality, receive a score of no more than 2. The school is horrific, the teachers are lazy and uninterested, the principal is a bigot, and the supporting staff is completely unprofessional, with the exception of the custodial staff, who are actually quite nice. The ratings are off and very misleading. Too bad. Because many parents depend ont the ratings, many overlook a good school and are misguided to choose an Inadequate school instead. Bottom line, Do not pay attention to the ratings. Look at the actual comments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

I've attended this school from Pre-K to 5th grade and it's been a fantastic experience,especially with Mr.Wilson the new principal.The teachers and staff are fantastic,and it deserves more then a 3.


Posted February 14, 2013

I was skeptic at first sending my son to this school because of the area but turns out, this is a wonderful school! My baby has made so many friends and his teacher, Mrs. Shoupe is awesome :) .. The older kids on his bus are so good with the younger kids; always helping them on the bus. He has yet to have anyone pick on him and actually is friends with some of the older kids. I believe this school should be given a higher rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

My daughter was in Mrs. Holley and Mrs. Houston's Pre-K class. What a positive experience this was for her. We feel like Oakcrest is the best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Although most of these children live in a low-income neighborhood, their teachers are most progressive and professional in attitude and aptitude. These children are eager to make progress, even though yhey are hampered in the economic system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

Please come to visit Oakcrest Elementary and then see if you think a 2 is a fair rating. We have highly trained and dedicated teachers. Teachers who give 200% of themselves on a daily basis. Our school is clean and cheerful. ( as stated by the D.O.E.) We feed our children free of charge breakfast and lunch. In addition, children in need are given food to take home with them when school is not in session. We take care of those in need. This is an unfair and unrealistic rating. I invited you again, to come visit Oakcrest.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2009

I have 3 children ages 13, 7 and 4. My oldest attended Oakcrest from Kindergarten-5th grade. My youngest 2 are attending now i have one going into 2nd and my baby is going into Kindergarten. They both have been going since Pre-K. The school has changed so much over the last couple of years thanks to the wonderful new principal they brought in Mr Wilson. He has done an excellent job with the not only the children, teachers and parents but with the whole school as a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

My son attended Oakcrest Elementary last year. He was in kindergarten and ESE for speech. I found the teachers and the staff to be very friendly and caring towards their students and parents. I believe this could be a great school with more parent involvement concerning their children and what goes on in their school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 64%
White 16%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%59%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DENNY WILSON
Fax number
  • (850) 595-6988

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1820 Hollywood Avenue
Pensacola, FL 32505
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 595-6980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT