Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Meadow Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 948 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Helpful staff and very organized, it would really improve the school to get a play area with some swings or slides so the children can get much needed exersize during the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

My son went to K at Pine Meadow last year but we moved to Helen Caro district. I'm sad to leave this school. He had Mrs. Lassiter and loved her and all of his secondary teachers, for art/music. I thought it was a great school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

Wonderful school, great teachers. I have two children in Pine Meadow. One will be in fifth grade this year and has been there since kindergarten. She has had superb teachers, great support, and positive experiences. Any questions we had were addressed by concerned and involved teachers. I can't express what a wonderful experience this has been for our children. The school building are older, but the teachers and staff are active, energetic and inspired-which is so much more important. Don't hesitate to send your kids to Pine Meadow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Loved all of our teachers up until grades that FCAT becomes a requirement. Then it's ALL about testing! My child was moved to a new class from a class that had an excellent teacher. Had nothing but problems all year with her new teacher. My child fell behind in math because she didn't understand the concepts being taught as they bounced around the book in no particular order. After an uncountable number of correspondences with the teacher to try to help my child, I was told, "(name) would just have to suffer the consequences of failing." My child needed extra help and when I requested her book be sent home over Christmas break, I was ignored and no response was sent until the day before school was set to start back, 3 weeks later, with a very lame excuse as to why she hadn't responded sooner. If you request a meeting with the principal, you will get the assist. principal, and they will do everything in their power to divert the problem back to you and your child. Teacher was never held accountable for her bad choice of words about my child failing, it was ignored, and I left feeling like I had been attacked for wanting my child to have a better education than was being provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

The teachers and the school are great. We have never gotten junk mail in the 2 years my son has gone there (see other post). We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Pine Meadow is a great school. Love all they do for all the students. Teachers go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2012

Great school. Love It. Miss Dille was a great teacher and wonderful with my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2011

Moldy classrooms. No area for the kids to do outdoor activities. They SELL your childrens information to marketing companies!!! The staff is unfriendly. The school is outdated and half of the air conditioners don't work (hence the moldy classrooms). We moved our daughter to another school this year due to the poor conditions. My son still goes there and has been getting tons of junk mail in the mailbox from travel companies saying he won something or was selected for something. People to People... read about it. This is his last year there so we didn't move him. My youngest daughter will not be going there, thank God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

My daughter is going into first grade this year and we are pleased that it is going to be at Pine Meadow. Kindergarten was a wonderful experience for her and for us (her parents). The teachers, staff and administration were kind, supportive and helpful. My daughter just blossomed! The only area that I would like to see improved would be their website-it would be nice to have it updated with current information and activities. Otherwise-only compliments!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

We are working on our 4th daughter at Pine Meadow and I must say we have only had 1 teacher that I personally did not care for all the others and Dr Thomas including the office staff have always been more than helpful with anything we need. I also feel my girls are getting a good education there, I just hate that Pine Meadow stops at the 5th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

Teachers are good and parental involvement is encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

I have three kids attending Pine Meadow and they love it. My son was identified in kindergarten as possibly gifted and they initiated the testing for the PATS program and placed him in a 1st grade class for reading and math. My 5th grade daughter is involved in violin lessons given at the school. My kids also enjoy the art class they have once a week and the music class there too. There is a lot of parental involvement and a high membership in the PTA. The teachers really care about the kids and I feel good about how they keep me informed of my child's progress and behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2005

I was on the PTA Board for 4 years 2001-2005 and I really enjoyed being there. Its a wonderful school the staff is great and a friendly atmosphere. I was envolved with alot of the teachers in various areas. The music and art and P.E departments are awesome. The children are involved in plays, talent shows,helping with giving and caring with the Box tops for Education, Manna Food Bank, Rely for life. Reflection Art Programs,If my son didnt have to move on to 6th grade...we would still be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

If your looking for a school,Pine Meadow is a wonderful choice. I have served on the PTA board for 4 years now. I have helped with the 3rd grade play for 3 years.My son is in the 5th grade this year and it's my last year here. The children cant understand why I am leaving they said it wont be any fun without you.....It is very rewarding to volunteer at this school. You feel very welcome. And you can make a difference by volunteering!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

My son had Mrs Bell for his 1st grade teacher. She is wonderful and a blessing to us.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 72%
Black 18%
Two or more races 5%
Hispanic 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%59%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. TERRI FINA
Fax number
  • (850) 494-7318

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10001 Omar Avenue
Pensacola, FL 32534
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 494-5630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT