Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scenic Heights Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 889 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

Over I am happy with this school. My son is in K-5 and the year is more then half over. He has came a long way and is learning to read and write already. A parent complained about how her son was left behind in 1st. As a parent you have to be involved with your child's education on a weekly basis. Help them learn to read and write at an early age. You can not just leave it all up to the school. You see what sight words they know and work with them on a weekly basis. They send home a list of sight words and we know what they are supposed to be learning. The reason I gave a 4 and not a 5 is because they are a bit to strict with the k-5 class. they only get a 15 minute recess and they are not even able to talk to their friends in the lunch room? that's crazy. I talked in the lunch room all through school. Kids need a chance to feel free to talk at some point in the day. I have noticed that not only schools, but parents are way more up-tight with kids then they where when I was growing up. Everywhere I go I see kids as young as 1 1/2 getting scolded for acting like kids and wanting to play. People try to make them small adults way too young. Still, Over all a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

I have nothing but great comments about Scenic Heights. I am very involved in my kids education. The one thing that I have noticed so far in the two years my child has attended this school is the lack of parent participation. It is really sad. The teachers have been awesome and I communicate with them often which I might add is a big difference in the education if my child. I love this school but most importantly my son loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This is my childs first year. She is in k5. The first day of school her bus driver says that he could drop her off if no one was out because we were told the wrong drop off time. Her teacher wasn't spelling her name right and my child keeps saying she raises her hand but her teacher never calls on her so she doesnt get any stars. I just think all students should be treated the same. Its only her and one other black in her class. I dont think the school is about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My child went to S.H for K5 and first grade. K5-no complaints. Great teacher, clearly loved her job, and was simply amazing. One year later, an absolute disaster. So bad, that my child was retained another year in first grade for not reading 60 words a minute FLUENTLY. The retention is not what bothered me. The fact that my husband and I had no idea about it until the report cards came home on the last day was a huge problem. My son found out from HIS bus driver that he did not pass. We have tried numerous times to get my son help throughout the school year and not one step was taken by S.H to improve or focus on his reading. We were told otherwise, but it was lies. The schools mission statement should be changed. It should be against the law to print such a lie about a schools mission, or if that IS their mission, they are so far off target. The kids and their education is not the primary focus atbthis school. My son used to love school. They should hire teachers and other faculty members that actually strive to help children learn. I would never in my life recommend this school to my bestest of friends, or my worst enemies. Compassion and professionalism is 100% not there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

I have a child who currently attends this is school and as stated previously, the quality of education depends on the teacher. My child's teacher seems to be careless at times and there has been more than a few occasions where I had to correct or bring light to her mistakes in a kind and gently manner. Compared to other public schools in the Pensacola area, I guess Scenic is okay, but far from the excellent education some students are receiving in surrounding counties or even the county where I once live. Also, their procedures for car riders in the evening is horrendous and should be restructured. They begin to dismiss students at 1:50pm, but if you're not in line by 1:15pm, you'll be waiting for your child for atleast 30 minutes. It's very unconvenient and as I stated before, should be restructured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Scenic Heights Elementary School is a great place for children to learn, the administration, teachers, staff and PTA work together to make it a pleasant environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

The three star rating is a generous rating. Overall, the educational experience is average but it truly depends on the teacher. My kids have had experienced caring teachers until this year. There are many passionate teachers at the school but there are a few who do not want to teach but babysit. This has been my worse nightmare coming true. The administration takes the word of the teacher over the students and is happy with the status quo. The administration is unapproachable and unhelpful. A parent with concerns about their child's well being is on their own. I would definitely trust the low rating reviews for this school. I would not recommend this school unless parents had the choice of picking out a teacher for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

My kids love it here and the staff and after school activities are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I love scenic heights. It is a great school for under and over achivers. Everyone is treated farley and everyone gets along. Students can get involed in extra activites and the special area teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2006

Scenic Heights is an outstanding school. As a parent children attending Scenic Heights, I see the teachers, administration and parents care deeply for the children and a quality education. Parents and teachers are working together to give our children a great learning experience that will take them through many years. There are many extracurricular learning activities made available in the school with symphonic band, choral concerts, special theatrical presentations, grade level parent participation activities, violin lessons for 5th graders, speed stacking and fitness clubs. There are also many opportunities for parents to be involved with their children(s) education. Teachers and staff support parent involvement in programs such as math superstars, reading, spanish enrichment, home room activities, etc... Technology at Scenic Heights has increased by the addition of over 60 new computers. Accelerated Reader programs are available in every classroom. Our children are stepping up to the testing challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

We've sent three through this school, and I was a member of the PTA eight years. By the time our last child left, the school was a shadow of it's former self. The principal is cold and ill-matched to kids at the elementary level, parents have been shut-out of the school, teachers' days are filled with test-prep which, in turn, provides mounds of homework for students. Where there used to be field trips and parent volunteers and the principal hugged kids, now there are gates, locked doors, and few fun activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

My son is in kindergarten and has had a wonderful experience at Scenic Heights. His teacher is highly motivated and creative. Her classroom is highly conducive to learning. I was very nervous about my son going to such a big school, but have been pleasantly surprised how well everyone knows him. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

The academic programs at Scenic Heights seem average in comparison to other elementary schools in the area. You really have to be your child's advocate here...if they have special needs you must push and invest time to make administrators recognize this. Extracurricular activities are standard, nothing to rave about. Parent involvement doesn't seem discouraged or overly encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

This is an outstanding school. There isn't much in the way of field trips or extracurricular activities that I have seen, but the leadership is wonderful. The teachers for the most part are good with the exception of a few teachers. My son had a teacher that didn't seem to have a clue all year long despite several conferences with her concerning his progress. Overall, I give this school a big thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

My husband and I have been thrilled with the success our 3 children have experienced at Scenic Heights. The faculty and staff have made school a fun and warm place to learn even if they impose 'homework' much to the kids dismay! We have a variety pack of needs with our 3 kids. 1 childs' needs are met with the accelerated programs another has needs met with special assistance for learning while the youngest is just having a blast learning far more than we adults learned at the entry level. I must commend the Teachers that we have experienced as knowledgeable and eager to have each child succeed with enthusiasim and willing to listen to parents. As a public school I feel comfortable with the acedemic needs being met but do wish I could afford private school with a religious atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2003

I feel I made the right choice in placing my son in Scenic Heights. He is learning at a nice pace and he is learning discipline at the same time. The teacher and parents work together on everything and the teacher keep you well informed on your child performance rather poor or excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2003

The most caring professional groups of teachers and staff members I have ever encountered. My son loves going to school at Scenic Heights and he is motivated to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Black 19%
Hispanic 11%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 142%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 27%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%59%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARY ELLEN WIGGINS
Fax number
  • (850) 494-5624

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3801 Cherry Laurel Drive
Pensacola, FL 32504
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 494-5635

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT