Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Forest High School

Public | 9-12 | 1710 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

Where shall I begin...? The guidance office secretary is rude every time I have to go in the office, the principal chose to show a softball game to the whole school instead of have third period so my son missed his Algebra class, one of the teachers didn't know my child was in his class for three months because he never took roll, and classrooms are disrupted constantly by unruly students. We moved to Pensacola from out of state, and my child is doing a level of work that is two years behind the actual grade she is in. I can not wait to move out of this school zone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

Leadership Lacking. Pine Forest does have some good teachers, but overall the school is a disorganized mess. My son came to live with me a few months ago and began this school, it has been a big disappointment. They do not welcome parent involvement a all and do no share information on my son's progress. Also, I have had several run ins with the female dean. She actually cursed relating a situation with my son. We are Christians and I do not appreciate it one bit. I tried to talk to the lady vice principal and she was rude to me. The principal just took up for them when I tried to talk to him. I am trying to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

I am a substitute teacher at this school and I do not recommend it to other teachers or subs. The students are defiant and argumentive. For example, I asked for a student's attention, in a nice tone, and I receive the word "what." I also have students yell at me or take advantage of me when I try to get their attention. I subbed at Tate, Washington, and even West Florida and I have never had this problem. I think Pine Forest needs to do something about it's discipline.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2010

This is my son's second year at PFHS. He's doing great academically and involved in ROTC which keeps him around students with the same motivation level and most of them seem to have good norals and values. The teachers at PHFS don't send home many updates on students but I'm able to keep track of his progress by going online to the Eagle Hotline which is a great tool for any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2009

I am a 9th grade student, and so far, I am enjoying this school and excelling. I do believe that a few teachers just do not belong in this environment, that they are clearly out of their element and unable to work with adolescent children that have minds of their own, but most teachers are above amazing and truly do care about the students. Our math teacher, Mrs. Bergstrom, is one such teacher. I believe that there is a clear lack of parent involvement, and some of the children there are beyond ridiculous when it comes to having bad manners, a lack of respect, and a loud mouth, but this really is a school where the willing can LEARN.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

I value the school and it potentially has the capability of getting a better rating than a 'D'. However, aside from picking and choosing the 'right friends' there. The school needs to exercise more stricter discipline and classroom management policies. The blend of Woodham and Pine Forest to save money has created a 'territorial problem' with the students.The class iszes are big which doesn't help. Some of the teachers don't post their homework assignments on the board and some classes are 'out of control'.The ROTC program is the best, second to none in the district and is exemplorary to the other teachers and school climate and benchmarks. Recentely, I had a Parent Conference Scheduled led by a Guidance Counselor. Half of the teachers showed up even when they were given a three week notice and remeinded the day before. Even the Guidance counselor wasn't present. How am I suppose to feel?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

To the parent below that said Pine Forest is the worst school in Escambia County: You can not blame your child's poor performance on the school. If your daughter was performing well and you changed schools the drop in performance was probably due to changes in the child's life. My daughter is a junior at PFHS and is carrying a 4.0 unweighted with all honors classes, this is all due to parent involvement, great teachers, and wonderful administration. By the way, we do have doors and walls now, actually they were there at the start of school. The school responded beautifully to the over crowding as a result of Woodham closing. You need to get involved in your child's education and make sure that she is choosing the right friends, with those changes I am sure that your child will excel. Go Eagles!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

This school is great 100% I love it and so does my child I'd recomend everyone to Pine Forest High School!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

Well the parent below me doesn't have a clue of what Pine Forest is really about. You are just a parent. The administration is absolutely the best. They all pitch in to help keep Pine Forest in the best shape it came be. You have teachers administrating excellece in direction. Not only do the teachers help get the students to class on time, they offer the kind of help to all grades to get you through another day of balanced hard work. I believe Pine Forest is the best school in escambia county because as well they interact with the community. Pine Forest gives back unlike the schools. So just because i was a student at Pine Forest i still believe if you want your child to feel safe, get the academic study they need, advance in life through social skills, and to better themselves choose PFHS!!!!EAGLES!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2008

This is the worst school in escambia county. I am currently a parent at pine forest and i must say, the teenagers there are just out of control, my daughter had straight A's while attending pensacola floridas Escambia high school but we had to move due to career choices. The teachers don't care about the students work. The deans there have absolute no clue on how to discipline the teenagers, the atmosphere of this school is in horrible shape, they have no walls or doors the only sorry excuse of a door and wall they have are dividers. the students clearly lose concentration and are not able to finsh their assignments. My daughter is going into the 10th grade and next year i am defintely putting her back in Escambia, i dont care if i have to drive her myself to escambia high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

This is the worst school in escambia county. I am currently a parent at pine forest and i must say, the teenagers there are just out of control, my daughter had straight A's while attending pensacola floridas Escambia high school but we had to move due to career choices. The teachers don't care about the students work. The deans there have absolute no clue on how to discipline the teenagers, the atmosphere of this school is in horrible shape, they have no walls or doors the only sorry excuse of a door and wall they have are dividers. the students clearly lose concentration and are not able to finsh their assignments. My daughter is going into the 10th grade and next year i am defintely putting her back in Escambia, i dont care if i have to drive her myself to escambia high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

hello eveyone, two of my three children graduate from Pineforest hs. they both got a scholaship and both carry a good memory from these school, my son was in football and more maintain a 4.0 average and my daughter same, and they are both carry the same now that they are in college. so thank you all pine forest principal , teachers (ms.sue) (mr. lamont) those are the challenger teacher, above all thank you for mrs. Barbara patterson for the hard work, and thank mr pollard and mr hubbard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

hello my name is barbara marshall my daughter will be graduating this year she went to plne forest for 4 years she liked this school and so do l. she spent all 4 years in the band and she enjoyed it as well as the other academic programs.pine forest high school is a good school and i will tell other parents about it. god bless [ barbara marshall]
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

Academic programs are very good. I sometimes find it difficult to get in touch with teachers. Pine Forest has an excellent reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I feel that Pine Forest is a excellent school. I have had one child graduate and another is in 11th grade. They keep the web information up to date and anytime you have a question someone is there to help you. Ms. Patterson is wonderful she will help you out anyway that she can. The teachers that my children have had are good they really try to help and will contact you if you let them know that you are intersted in what your child is doing. They will even help you with ideas to increase their study habits, they also have tutoring session available to help. I'm just really glad my childern attend PFHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

Pine Forest is a great school for your students to attend. They have the best art program that I have ever seen and a really good academic curriculum. I enjoy all my classes very much and there is a variety to choose from. Their extracurricular activities are also good. I joined the cross country team and enjoyed it a lot. The discipline is handled well and most of all, the teachers are very nice and are always willing to work with the students. I really do not see a lot of parent involvement though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2004

At the risk of sounding like an old person, I was one of the 'original' students at PFHS, starting in 1976 as a sophomore and leaving in the class of '78. We were all very proud of our school and in the years following '76, we rapidly proved the school to be a player in the Pensacola area, not only in football and other sports, but almost every other extra-curricular activity. The previous posters complaining about how football seems to be the priority now probably don't realize that that's always the way it's been in Escambia county schools. Football gets the school noticed. Almost every other activity has to come to blows to get any of the scarce cash it needs, or the kids have to resort to demeaning fund raising drives to get it. I can't even begin to tell you how many cars I washed, or popcorn, candy bars, doughnuts, or posters I sold to support the group I happened to be in (band, etc.). Many times we had to pay our own way for something. I think what our educators should do is take a look at all the previous graduating classes and where all the football players and cheerleaders are now in life, then compare that to the former 'nerds' and where they are. That alone should tell them where the money needs to be spent. Don't get me wrong...PFHS was a fabulous school back then and I hope it stays that way or gets back to it!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 21, 2004

Escambia county schools are not a diamond in the rough. The funding is all focused on Football. Other activities are left to fend for themselves and scramble together fundraisers in order to get decent T-shirts, go on trips, to competitions and festivals, etc. The focus should be on all of the extracurricular activities and not just football. The entire school seems to be preparing you for college. . . Until it comes time in your Junior year after you've passed the FCAT. No one seems to care that you still have many big tests ahead of you that you need in order to get into college. Keep up the good work, PFHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2004

I graduated from Pine Forest over six years ago and it still stands as the best school experience I ever had. The teachers and staff were wonderful. The safety was above most school standards. The atmosphere was the best, keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 31, 2003

I graduated from Pine Forest this past year. I must say that this has to be the best school in the district. Of my four years here, I feel that I was well prepared for college. Other than lack of doors, which really doesn't matter, the school is great. The teachers work well with each other, fighting and violence is minimal, and the education level is a cut above the rest! I wouldn't have gone anywhere else...


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

487 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

413 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

414 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

386 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 45%
White 38%
Two or more races 7%
Hispanic 5%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 55%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%59%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FRANK MURPHY
Fax number
  • (850) 941-6163

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Longleaf Drive
Pensacola, FL 32526
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 941-6150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Newpoint Pensacola
Pensacola, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT