Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Longleaf Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 779 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

This school is absolutely HORRID. We have had problems with bullies from day one & lazy teachers who do NOTHING about it. The women who work in the office are rude & have horrible attitudes EVERY SINGLE DAY ... they will ignore you while you're standing at the window, & when they FINALLY acknowledge you , Its only by saying "do you need something ma'am ?"..... I'm taking my kids out of this school ASAP ....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

This school is AWFUL! My son will be transferring in a month, but it won't be soon enough! Lots of problems with bullies and teachers who don't take time to make sure a child actually understands the curriculam. Save yourself and your child the headache and pick a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

i went to this school as a child and now 2 of my children attend. This school takes care of and treats all their students equal and great. They make sure students stay safe which is a big for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

I really like the school they were so nice when I put my child there in late feb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

We were nervous about moving but this school is wonderful and my two children in longleaf are loving it and this is a wonderful surprise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have a 5th grader and a Kindergartner. We transferred from a Private school because we moved from Tampa. At first, the challenges were high for our 5th grader - school was larger, teachers - more of them, students, more of them, etc. However, the teachers recognized these (minor) issues and were in continual communication with us regarding grades, social skills, behavior, and goals we set together. She has come a long way and I feel is completely ready for Middle School - even though I am not! Our Kindergartner surprised us with amazing reading skills in Kindergarten - we were comcerned with his social skills this year - as of today, he too is shining in amazing ways, and we seriously give muych credit to the teachers and staff at Longleaf.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

The curriculum was too fast paced. The teachers didn't have time to go back and teach my child what he didn't understand. So I ended up having to re-explain what my child should've learned in class. I can understand having to help sometimes, I just feel this happened too much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I have two children in this school, one in 1st grade and one in the VPK program. I am constantly amazed at the efficiency in which this school operates and how excited my children are to get to school every day. My children are progressing extremely well in a very bright and positive setting and that's all I can hope for in a school. To all of the hard working people at Longleaf Elementary, your dedication and spirit is very appreciated!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 46%
White 40%
Two or more races 9%
Hispanic 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%59%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. PATTI THOMAS
Fax number
  • (850) 941-6112

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Longleaf Drive
Pensacola, FL 32526
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 941-6110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT