Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beulah Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 914 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014

I have been nothing but please with Beulah thus far. My child had Mrs. Poole last year for Kindergarden and she was absolutely amazing. Very interactive with the students and the parents. This year, my child has Mrs. Burgess. I am so impressed with her up to this point. She gives a lot of work and my child eats it up. Her patience is beyond compare. The administration staff, I have had interaction with are fantastic and professional. Even the bus driver and cafeteria workers are great. I appreciate the staff and the teachers at this school. It is not easy when you have some parents that are very interactive with their children and some that are not at all. If your child is not receiving the education that he/she needs to be, it could be because learning starts at home! I struggled with the concept of public school or sucking it up and paying for a private school. I've been nothing but pleased so far and could not imagine my child receiving any better education than she is now. She has 4 more years there, but if the past two are any prediction, I am pretty sure we will continue to be happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

My child is happy to get up and go to school every day. His father and I chose Beulah because they were a smaller and more Well rounded. My family love's the school and staff and we know our son will be better when he moves on to middle school for all he has been taught and seen in this family based environment. {The Cherry Family}
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Last year was our first year at Beulah, my son came from Ferry Pass Elementary. We are so glad we moved, this school is great and just slowed how much the other school was lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

Beulah Elementary is now a "C" school and that does NOT stand for cool! Lesson Learned... Do not choose your home based on the school grades in a particular district... you may be VERY DISAPPOINTED later on! STOP teaching toward the F-CAT, it's obviously not working. Don't cut out recess, field trips and extra-curriculars to do hours of F-CAT practice worksheets! That will not help. Don't base teacher evaluations, pay and job security on a tests score. This will not create better scores, but could possibly created bitterness and resentment toward those who underperform... Other schools in Escambia have gone up in grades or have maintained their A and B grade status consistently (even with all the recent changes)... Get with those administrators and find out what they are doing that you are not! Our students deserve an A School again! Go WILDCATS!


Posted October 28, 2012

OUTSTANDING SCHOOL!!! Amazing teacher, staff, even the PTA volunteers are amazing! I'm so glad to have my daughter attending this year. Such great interaction and I love that they keep my up to date with the important things of the week and not nit-pickey day to day nonsence.


Posted December 22, 2011

We really like this school. We move around (the country) a lot (my kids range from 15 to 7) and this is one of the most friendliest schools my kids have attended. This is our 3rd year here and I will be sad when we have to leave. The teachers are involved and keep parents involved and informed. I don't know what the previous poster was talking about but I get a phone call from the school when my kid is absent and I forget to call her in sick. We will miss Beulah if we have to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

Not satisfied with the gifted education program. Identified gifted kids bussed to another school once a week and then they are held accountable for work/hw missed and miss out on special school events such as heritage day, soc hop and chorus, which are scheduled on the very day they go to the gifted program. My child was told that it was optional to go. That is my decision not theirs. I am unsatisfied with the IEP planning at this school. I do not feel they are individualized or properly implemented. The last IEP meeting I attended only one representative from the school showed up. I am aware that I also need to be more proactive regarding this and intend to do so! My child has been held to rules not outlined in any handbook or classroom rules agreement and other rules that are outlined such as dress code seem to be overlooked daily. I feel this creates confusion for children. To end on a positive note, my children's teachers are kind and respectful to me and my children and they have always responded with gratitude to the time, energy and resources my husband and I have contributed to bettering our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

When moving to Pensacola one of the main things we looked into was schools. We read about how great this school was and found ourselves a home in the area. Well I don't what others consider when deciding a school is great, but it sure isn't the same things I do. When my student is absent and I forget to call in, no one calls to notify me of his absence. Umm safety issue! I don't know if this is common in Pensacola, but where I'm from you call in and notify the school your child won't be there or they call you to make sure the kid is safe at home. My student is gifted and we(even my son) have asked the teacher for more enriching work and have been ignored. He's in the gifted program and it's nothing more then "projects" . This school is not even close to what I would consider a decent place for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I moved to this area because I was told how great Beulah is. Not the truth. I have now been told more than once and by more than one staff member their that they are to many kids for them to keep track of them all. 'm sorry but that is not an acceptable excuse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The teachers really care about your child and get to know the parents by name. They organize family school activities and really get the parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

This is only my first experience with the school system. To be honest I am delighted with Beulah, the teachers, the staff, the Principal, even the volunteers, everyone is proud of their school and their accomplishments. NOTHING is too much trouble, and learning is fulfilled in whatever way it takes to help the children learn it. This is a GREAT school and a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

My daughters spent 5 years in a local private school until we moved and I visited Beulah. Hands down one of the best public schools in Escambia county. Loving teacher,low child to teach ratio and tons of fun field trips. The prinicpal shows her leadership with the PTA with the 100% enroll with parents. If I could give more stars I would. Go Beulah Wildcats!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

Beulah is an excellent school with quality teachers and administrators alike. As an educator myself, this is a teacher's dream job. Learning is a priority along with extracurricular activites. The parent involvement is tremendous and I believe help make this school even more successful and productive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

I could not be any happier with my childs education thus far. Very happy with every teacher and every staff member I have meet. I love being envolved and knowing what is going on at all times. I and my son feel at home at Beulah. They make you feel like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Excellent school, great teachers. My child did very well at this school. I would recommend it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Top notch academic program in an area that has middle to low average socio-economic backgrounds. Very low teacher/staff ratio attests to the excellence in teaching and administration. Teaching and learning is the focus at this school and the principal is very hands on. I would definitely send my children to Beulah, one of the best schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

Beulah Elementary is an outstanding school. My daughter attended 5th grade there and we were thrilled with her teachers, with the administrative staff and the prinicpal. It was a great learning experience for her and for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

Very good school. The quality of education is very high. Your child will definitely be on the right track.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

147 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Black 11%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Hispanic 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%59%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MONICA SILVERS
Fax number
  • (850) 944-0285

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 Helms Road
Pensacola, FL 32526
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 941-6180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT