Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Paul Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pensacola

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $104,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2014

This school is the worst school ever the children are all selfish, spoiled brats. They bully, and think there better than everybody. This kid told me that the students hate them and treat them like trash. The teachers don't anything in fact they punish that kid. Don't enroll your kids here!


Posted January 14, 2014

We love Saint Paul! With smaller classes, the children get the individualized attention that every student deserves. From the moment we first walked through the halls and spoke with the faculty, we knew our child would receive the best education instilled with the religious morals that our family holds dear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

I've had 4 children attend St. Paul Catholic School (SPCS) & I am completely satisfied & thrilled with the well-rounded education they have received! SPCS has provided my children the opportunity to get an academic, spiritual, athletic, & moral education that surpasses that of any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

We have been extremely pleased with our children's success & happiness as they have attended St. Paul's for 4 years now. St. Pauls has recently rolled out an amazing technology program that we are excited about for middle school. This is a school that truly teaches the students the 3 "R's" Reverence, Respect and Responsibility! We love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

This school is just absolutely amazing. My two kids started going to St. Paul Catholic this year and everyone made us feel welcome - even before school started people were already reaching out to us and welcoming the kids. Teachers and staff are very caring and there are lots of activities for the kids and parents to get involved. Everyone works together for the spiritual, emotional, and academic development of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

We are very pleased with the current faculty and staff. The most valuable asset is the overarching Christian values and standards that are modeled and taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

St. Paul Catholic school has fantastic faculty and staff. My children have thrived there. The parental involvement is superb and communication with parents is excellent. Technology is a priority as well! Love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

This is an excellent school. The teachers and faculty are all very patient and knowledgeable. Glad we made the choice for St. Paul!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Our daughter is beginning her third year at St. Paul Catholic School. The teachers, faculty and staff are excellent. The families are supportive nd welcoming. It is the education we wanted for her. Spiritual, academic and emotional growth with the three r's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

St. Paul Catholic School is the best school in the Pensacola area. The atmosphere is friendly, the academics strong, and the teachers are committed to student success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 3, 2013

St. Paul Catholic School is a nurturing, caring and innovative school. It utilizes new technology to better equip students, teachers and parents for todays learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

The decision to enroll my two boys in St. Paul Catholic School two years ago was the smartest educational decision that I have every made as a parent. The school is always looking for new technology, new ways to provide 5 a star education to our children. The teachers are very knowledgeable in their field, the principal and staff are very friendly and professional. They St. Paul families are very welcoming, they are always willing to help and give advice. My boys are 8th graders this year and even though we have only been in school for 2 weeks I can tell that they will be completely ready for high school next year. They have made friendships and memories that I am sure will last a lifetime. I believe St. Paul Catholic School is providing our children with a education that can only be summed up as excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

St. Paul's faculty & staff pour themselves into the spiritual & academic development of the students. Countless times, I have been at school well after the final bell had rung & found many teachers tutoring students or preparing for the next day. The same can be said of our priests who, over the years, have invested themselves in the St. Paul families. This past year we lost 3 of our teachers due to their spouses being transferred & one followed her call to the mission field (contrary to the misinformation in a prior review). Our new faculty, however, brings to the school a wealth of knowledge, experience & faith that is unparalleled. Having middle school children at St. Paul for the past 6 years (& counting), I can attest to the fact that reading is most certainly emphasized. Sporting events are part of the experience, but only as they relate to the teaching of responsibility & hard work. If the school is characterized as over-emphasizing anything, it would be the spiritual growth & well-being of the children. If you are a parent who wants academic excellence but more importantly, wants your child to know & feel God's great love for him/her, then this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

You can pick a school based only on academics, and this school is solid with that when compared to others in the area. When you look at the graduates and how they place at the high schools and colleges, you can see how the basics and study habits taught here have carried over and have given them the tools to succeed. However, what keeps us at this school is how it emphasizes Christian values of reverence, respect and responsibility. It is a safe school and as a parent, knowing that your children are surrounded by teachers and a community that supports them is priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Disclaimer: beware, the school is asking parents to write reviews, so that they could enter to win a contest on this website. I've been with this school for a good while. Sadly, it just keeps going even more downhill every year. There is a high turnover rate of teachers, most of whom can appropriately be deemed average or ineffective. The administrators have to practically hire a batch of new teachers every school year! Sports are paramount. I was extremely disappointed when I found out from my child, that the teachers have discontinued the middle school summer reading program, their excuse being 'children don't read,' etc. So the sad truth is, they are falling for the whims of little well-off white kids. The school is also very active in typical private school behavior--always asking for donations. Another complaint is that to cut costs the administrators make certain teachers devote their precious time to teaching two entirely different subjects, for example English/art. Superficially, this school may seem superior to the area's public schools, but really it can appropriately be equated with them, the only difference being a more affluent clientele.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

We love SPCS. My daughter has been there for 4 years, and all I can say is that the school, the staff, and students are wonderful. My daughter has learned a lot, not only academically, but in her faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

Nothing exceptional here. As a previous student that left a few years ago, I was disappointed by the lack of quality in the school's academics and spiritual facets. Sports are up to par, and the school frequently wins championships, but perhaps there is too much of an emphasis on this one feature. There are bullies, you do not grow in your "faith," and a few teachers leave every year due to all the ridiculous responsibilities they are required to fulfill. Religious who are in charge of the faith and church are not genuine, but rather disguised businessmen who are in need of money to run the facility. It's not worth it to send your child(ren) here and waste thousands of dollars each year. Sadly, this is just one of the many academic letdowns in this area. Don't fall for the school's sugarcoating of its programs if you are wise enough to see right through it. Hopefully, no one will delete my eye-opening review here because of all this criticism.


Posted September 3, 2009

I love our school. The children are taught to 'See Christ in Everybody'... which is of prime importance to me. The students in the school also excel in academics, rating very highly in the ITBS standardized tests. The Middle School is incredible - the teachers are teaching critical thinking skills not just facts to be regurgitated back at them on a test. The administration, both principal and pastor, are very supportive of the school. The parents are very dedicated to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

What grounds St. Paul's Catholic School as a wonderful academic institution is its solid academic foundation that is balanced through a Christ-centered philosophy that starts from the pre-K level and challenges students thru to 8th grade. The administration, faculty and staff are top notch and really put their focus on what's best for the children! The parents and school community overall is very supportive. The school practices what it preaches by reaching out to the community in various service projects which engages even the youngest students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

They are prepared! Last night I attended PTA at Catholic High School. As I went from class to class and heard the last names of many of the students. I realized how many came from St Paul. and that many of them are taking college prep courses and are in the top ten of their class. St Paul played an important role in getting the students truly on board and prepared our students for high school and beyond. The teachers strive to build on a foundation from Pre-k on up. If you are looking for caring teachers where kids come first, you will find it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 42%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Pensacola-Tallahassee
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3121 Hyde Park Road
Pensacola, FL 32503
Phone: (850) 436-6435

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT