Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Creative Learning Academy

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

 
 

Living in Pensacola

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $104,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

Creative Learning Academy is a wonderful private school committed to the highest level of academics, in an creative and interactive manner. Small class sizes allow the teachers to be actively involved with each child, and to know each family. The enrichments are wonderful, including an extraordinary spanish program, technology that is integrated into the curriculum, arts and music, and daily PE. The entire experience is well balanced. CLA seeks to nurture each children's individual development and self-confidence, while promoting a love of learning that is foundational to life. We have been very happy to watch our children blossom at CLA and know Pensacola is fortunate to have such a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

This school is good for some, but not for all. They have a fixed curriculum and will not accommodate for any child outside of the curriculum, whether the child needs more challenge or less. My child complained that she was bored and the principal and teacher couldn't do anything about it. It is a great school for those kids who click, but not every child will have a good experience. My children are now in a school where they are able to go above and beyond what is expected for their grade level. For such a high fee, I would have expected CLA to be more accommodating. But sadly they are not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

Unless your child is highly gifted, don't bother to apply. It is really too bad, because on the tour they made the school to sound very individualized and extremely accommodating. But after the assessment they chose not to accept our child (one is GT and the other is Dyslexic) and instead of returning our calls, they send a form letter. I have tried several times to reach administration to ask for recommendation for other schools in the area (we are military and new to the area) yet they refuse to return the calls. Prior to the assessment, they always took my calls or returned them within 1 hour. The assessment cost $200. You would think an private educational institution, the receives funding from the University, would have a bit more professionalism and integrity. It makes me wonder if anything they said in the tour was true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Creative Learning Academy is a wonderful nurturing environment. It not only has wonderful teachers, but also looks at the whole student! The curriculum is excellent and the small class sizes are a big plus. The enrichment classes are also incredible! My children love CLA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

All three of my children graduated from the program at CLA. They were very well prepared for high school and beyond. The best part of CLA, as a parent, was the warm and caring community of staff, teachers, and parents that helped make every year a success. The teachers are well qualified and dedicated to the whole child. My husband and I agree that the benefits of a CLA education far outweigh the tuition cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

A safe, warm, nurturing environment where kids can be kids and parents feel good about leaving them there. The education they get is world class and they will be leaps and bounds ahead of their peers at other schools, local or regional. Worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

The one star review is terrible. The person who gave the review must just not be smart enough to make it. I am a student here and I got out of public school a few years ago and i thing this school is amazing and I am in the honor role with As&Bs. I am saying this as nice as I can for the one star review guy. This school excells in every subject and almost all of the 8th grade graduates are accepted into the IB program in PHS. This is a smart school and you have to be smart to make it here.


Posted April 27, 2010

this school is awful i went from straight As to failing a class it is an awful school to learn at
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2009

I have to admit, CLA is a hard school in eighth grade; we have a lot of studying to do, a good bit of homework, but in the end...it is worth it. I am just glad that I get a great education every day by amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

CLA continues to provide my children with an excellent academic education while getting them to be critical thinkers and leaps and bounds ahead of their peers. They show respnsibility and self confidence that I do not see in their non-CLA friends. Outstanding school and worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I have gone to CLA since I was in Pre-primary and I am now in the 8'th grade about to enter PHS. CLA is like a Pre-IB program, it really gets you ready for PHS, so you can get into a great collage. I love CLA and I am sad to leave it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

Like most parents, sending children to school for the first time is something we worry about. The preprimary program is amazing. They both loved and wanted to go to school l every day. My oldest is now in the Middle School Program. It is really top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

Both of my children attend Creative Learning Academy and I am constantly impressed with the education and creative opportunities they both enjoy everyday. I know they will be well prepared for high school and beyond because they are able to study, organized their thoughts and ideas, think independently, conduct research and are confident in all of these areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

CLA is a great school for those that what a small cozy family atmosphere. I enjoyed the small class size of 11-18 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 42%
Black 3% 23%
Hispanic 3% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Math (2012)
  • Spanish (2012)
  • History Fair (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Clubs
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:20 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Laura Thompson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • FKC
  • NAIS
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (850) 432-1896

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Montessori
  • Motessori for Preschool
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • University of West Florida
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Game club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Pensacola High School - IB Program
Catholic High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3151 Hyde Park Rd
Pensacola, FL 32503
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 432-1768

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Newpoint Academy
Pensacola, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT