Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

N. B. Cook Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 626 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

N.B. Cook is the BEST school in Pensacola. I am so honored that my daughter goes to N.B. Cook. She wakes up HAPPY and READY to go to school everyday. Thanks N.B. Cook for caring for our Kids. The principal Mr. Brown is Great! as well as all the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

N.B. Cook is an awesome example of what school should be like for our children! I have two boys at this school and wouldn't want them anywhere else! The teachers are committed to our children 100% and teach with passion and dedication aimed at helping our children succeed. The added bonus of the arts are also a reason we chose Cook. My children are receiving a well rounded, top notch education. Clean school, excellent staff, positive environment for both of my boys. Would recommend this school above any other in Escambia County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My son start at nb cook this year (kindergarten) and every time he comes from school he is always singing and happy! It seems his creativity its been challenged in a positive way!! The teachers are great!! I love the enviroment and disposition of every parent at school...everybody wants to help in order to address excellence!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

This school is the STANDARD OF EXCELLENCE that all others should compare themselves to for success!!!! The drama department is TOP NOTCH and my daughter FLOURISHED in the program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

I went to N.B. Cook Elementary K-12 and I thoroughly enjoyed ut. I received a top-notch education that was enriched by the school's concentration on the fine arts. I would recommend N.B. Cook to anyone.


Posted February 27, 2012

This is my child first year attending Cook, we were nervous about making the transition from Pensacola Christian to a public school... I'm so excited we made an excellent choice, although Cook is a public school its the best free private atmosphere school in the county. The drama & music classes has helped my daughter tremendously with overcoming her shyness we love Cook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

My child has gone to NB Cook from kindergarten through 5th grade and I wish they had a middle school. I feel like we have gotten a private school experience for free. With just a few exceptions, it has been an amazing 6 years filled with great teachers and wonderful administrators. My child has truly loved her school and so have I as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2011

N.B. Cook is an exceptional school. The building itself is beautiful and clean. The teachers are really, I think, some of the best in the city. There is a lot of emphasis placed on personal repsonsability and being part of a community. The special areas include common ones like art and music, but at N.B. Cook, students also participate in drama and dance, complete with a wonderful dance studio! The leadership is top notch. Every year each class puts on several performances: one is grade level and the other is a play with is comprised of several grade levels. There is a drama club as well. I am super glad my child goes to Cook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

It is a bright, clean, and well taken care of school with wonderful and dedicated teachers and support staff. They welcome parent participation and have an incredible emphasis on the student's education. This school supports its students while pushing them to achieve extraordinary goals, and I know that my daughter is excelling because of a combination of amazing aspects within her school environment!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love N B Cook Elementary because we've been to 4 other schools, none of which even tried to teach my son, who has ADHD. At N B Cook I have teachers who CARE about him and share feedback with me that I can pass on the doctor to determine when/if we need to adjust his medication, a nursing staff that knew his tummy ache was more than just nerves over the FCAT and called me, allowing me to get him to the hospital before his appendix ruptured, and a counseling staff that helped him deal with his grief in a way that I couldn't after my mother, his grandmother, died suddenly. The Drama club has awakened in him a passion for the arts that I couldn't get him to even look at sideways before. He actually reads now...for fun! It's the most amazing thing I've even seen! And his artistic talents have flourished while at N B Cook. We have one more year here before he moves on to 6th grade and I can only hope we find something half as good for him to attend for middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My triplet great niece and nephews are happy there and that's what is important to me. The school must be doing great.


Posted April 25, 2010

It is an amazing school. It is a school of the arts. In addition to the regular curriculum, they teach dance, drama, music, visual art, and build self confidence. Every child leaves there feeling more confident and as if they are a star. They build self worth and inspire life long belief in one self. My children have benefitted tremendously from N. B. Cook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

cares very much about its students, and its teachers.


Posted April 25, 2010

I love N.B. Cook Elementary because my 3 grandchildren are learning so much and have such great opportunities in the arts as well.


Posted April 24, 2010

N.B. Cook Elementary School of the Arts is the best because it incorporates the arts -- music, dance, drama, art -- and EVERY child is a star!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

My kids NEVER wake up saying they 'don't want to go to school'... they LOVE it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

This school has the most intelligent and caring teachers in the city. We have been extremely happy at N.B. Cook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

After transferring from another school, my daughter has blossomed beyond belief! She is no longer bored and is challenged on a daily basis. Each and every student is valued and encouraged to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

My grandchildren have received an excellent education and they have really enjoyed the arts classes at N.B. Cook Elementary School.


Posted April 24, 2010

N.B. Cook is a wonderful school. We have been very please with it. The teachers and staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Black 18%
Two or more races 6%
Hispanic 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%59%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 Star School (2007)
  • Golden School Award (2007)
  • Graded "A" by the State of Florida (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:00 a.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. TROY BROWN
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (850) 595-6823

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1310 North 12th Avenue
Pensacola, FL 32503
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 595-6826

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT