Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Camelot Academy of Escambia County School District

Public | 6-12 | 240 students

Modifying behaviors through a normative culture.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Two students returned to our school after a stay at Camelot. One graduated this spring -- a superb student, totally focused. Another, graduating next year, has proved to be a wonderful asset to our school. Another started here as a freshman and won student of the month!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2014

My Granddaughter has become a new person at school thanks to the staff at Camelot. When she first got there she was terrible and I was getting phone calls 3 times a week about her behavior and trying to fight. But thanks to the staff, Mr. Wooten to be specific, for not giving up on her and being a constant force in her life she has now become a tiger shark. Now I get phone calls about how good she is doing and how proud they are of her. When she missed a day of school, Mr. Wooten called personally to find out why. The staff at Camelot really goes the extra mile and does things that are above and beyond what they're supposed to do. I read some of the old comments on here and I was convicted to share because some of the negative remarks do not reflect the dedication and love the staff give these students. Camelot is a great school and I am thankful for the staff there. May God bless Camelot and the staff who work there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

This may be the best thing Escambia County ever did. I was very scarred when my daughter had to go to Camelot, but I couldn't afford private schools. I visited and talked to the staff and decided to try it. It has been the best thing for my daughter. Her grades are better, her attitude is completly changed. She wants to be a role model and cares about herself. Shes learned to get along with other girls and not fight. This program is different from the other schools, but it really works!! GOD BLESS CAMELOT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

This is school calls it's self a hands on school, I am an educator and have been for 15tn years, I would not allow anyone I know to atten this school. They put on a show whenever someone comes on campus. They do and will harm these kids. They need to be shut down. I have sent a letter to the FL DOE, and Escambia School District. Most teachers are there because nobody else wants them. Some are not even certified. They have a middle school teacher who is prek-3 only teaching Reading. A teacher certified in Tech teaching reading a noncertified Science teacher. Think about it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 13, 2013

Dear People Reading This, Education is everything to me--now. Before I was caught up in a world I thought I'd never get out of. When the Escambia County School District expelled me out of Ransom, and put me under change of placement I was frightened!!! There was when I realized I made the wrong choices and was going to have to work to acheive my regular schooling back. My mom was horrified two times more than me. I was at this point feeling like my life was reuined, and I would never see the end of this!!! About a week later we attended Orientation.This was when I saw the truth , not only as they said it, but a the staff lived up to it!! After a month or soo I was a Tiger Shark Working to suport my peers,and me. My parents said this was all steps I was going to have to take to get everything right. The truth is now I realize an education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't, and what I know is Cameot Acedemy helped me a student ,and my parents to not beleive anything is impossible.


Posted May 25, 2013

Camelot is truly a wonderful school. It is really scary when your child has to go there, especially when the child has a disability. I had heard bad things about it, but the ESE lady Miss Kemp told me to go and see the school befor eI made up my mind and I did. It has been the greatest thing the school district ever did for my son. He had trouble with his attitude and getting referals since middle school. Camelot really turned around his behavior and attitude and helped his grades improve. He got much more help with his reading than in the regular school. Mr. Stem, Mr. Max and Mr. Lewis and Mrs. Hall are great. It is very strict, but that makes it safe and keeps them under control . I wish the regular schools in the county could be like Camelot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

Camelot has made a huge difference in my sons life. He is more motivated to be a leader and display leadership skills not just in school but also in his daily life. He has matured and appreciates the teachings and advice the school has given and showed him. Mr. Hampton, Mr. Lindsey, Mr. Morris, and a couple of others were very active and supportive in and to my sons life. Their genuine passion for life for children for teaching showed in every encounter ive had and my son has had with them. I appreciate their work. I know its not easy. But these guys put aside everything outside of work and brought their A game to work and blessed my son with their talents and their love for their jobs. I'm more then appreciative of what they have done for my son I'm eternally grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

My review of Camelot Academy is that it is a good school that is assigned a difficult task. I also believe that once students are put in this school, a stigma is placed on them. When they are tran- sitioned back to a regular school and the smallest infraction by them, they're immediately placed back in Camelot. They are guilty for the rest of school life. There are no degrees of what the student offense is, they are packed off to the school for 'bad kids'. Some children get chance after chance to participate in the "In Leiu Of Program", in their primary school, but others don't. For this they must ride a bus 100 miles round trip daily. If a parent don't have transportation and the student get ill or an accident occur, you are between a rock and a hard place. For a school like this, my opinion is that it should be situated mid county, and Molino, Fl would be a better location. There are no clubs in school for the students to have any kind of outlet, such as drama club, glee club or anything,the enrollment count will prevent them from any sport teams. I am sure a number of them can sing, dance and act or maybe even write poetry. You'ill never know unless you ask them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

I like Camelot personally. My daughter has been going there 2 years, if there is something going on I know about it right then, I even get a call if she's starting her day off wrong. I have personal numbers if at anytime I'm at work & just want to know how she's doing. They have positive things for the kids to work towards like becoming a Tiger Shark, Girl Circle and Townhouse. So Camelot is not as bad as people make them out to be there are some wonderful people working there to help the kids literally public school feel are lost causes......Thanks Camelot
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

Camelot is great this year. My daughter started going there last year and it wasn't as good. The new principal and new staff people are doing real well now. It has helped my child alot with her attutude and getting along with other girls. Her grades are better to, and she gets more help and attention than at her old school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

CAMELOT NEED TO BE CLOSE DOWN.THEY STILL HITTING THEM KIDS I HOPE I WILL BE ABLE TO HELP THE KIDS CAUSE GETTING BEATING BY SOMEONE THAT'S SURPOST TO KEEP YOU SAFE IS SAD.I CAN HELP CALL 6077459.I DO HAVE A LAWSUIT ON CAMEALOT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

My son will be attending this school. I would like more information about the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

Absolutely horrible school. Granted, a school for youth with discipline problems. My son comes from a professional family who got into trouble. He's not a thug, but he comes home with bruises and injuries from bullies and the teachers do nothing about it. This, I believe, is a crime and should be investigated, but because the youth are "problem" youth, the school system doesn't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
6%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
13%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
4%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
0%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 74%
White 20%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 6%N/A2%
Graduation rate 6%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Escambia County Public Schools
Department of Juvenile Justice Programs
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%59%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 49%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students None
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Drew Stem
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (850) 497-6673

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Compass Learning
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • None
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Manna Food Bank
  • Escambia County School District
  • East Pensacola Rattlers
  • Fortis Learning Institute
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girls Circle
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Parent Conferences
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
162
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
162
Students typically come from these schools
Escambia County Public Schools
Department of Juvenile Justice Programs

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Brigadier St
Pensacola, FL 32507
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 497-6692

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Christian International Academy
Santa Rosa Beach, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT