Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Advantage Academy Of Hillsborough

Charter | K-5 | 317 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My child has been going there since it opened. There has been only 3-5 teachers that are worth a darn there. They don't communicate very well, 5 prinicipals now, and aftercare now is a joke. This school had promise the first year but downhill from there. Teacher turnover is horrible. This year my son is on his 3rd teacher. They have no advance or gifted classes. Look at this years accountability report. Last year they were rated D.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

This school is awful. The dean of students is immature and feeds into the middle school girl drama. She abuses her power and is a bully. She is a horrible example and shouldn't be working with children. All if my children will be withdrawn from the school as it is not with the time and stress that is caused by this so called "administrator".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

ii Went Here in The 2011-2012 School Year In The Seventh And i Love This School The Teachers Thought Me Very Well And i Actually Went Up Two Levels On FACT Thanks To The Way i Was Tought Well By The Amazing Teachers Only Thing i Didn't Like Was The Lunch But Other Than That I Wish I Was Still Attending There :(


Posted June 8, 2012

A friend's daughters were just disallowed from having t-shirts signed as momentos even though there is no school policy against it and it's the same as having a yearbook signed. The administation seem so concerned about little issues like these and keep ignoring the fact that they are a "D" rated school. Maybe if they focused more on academics rather than petty issues like what color student's socks were the kids there would be better off!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Would have given zero stars if the site would have let me. This school is apparently continuing to have two classrooms in one this year - which, is not against the law for a charter school to do, but is not consistent with a "Private school atmosphere." They are on their third principal in three years, and many of their teachers are not certified and it shows (this too, is not against the law for a charter school, but shows that they are not willing to invest in the staff.) They are happy to take the funding for a special needs student and not provide adequate services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

I have a grandchild that attends this school and my grandchild loves it there. The school seems to be working very hard to improve in every and any area they feel might need it... the students are their top priority.


Posted July 25, 2011

I LOVE this school. I have dedicated must of my self to this school. I believe in the teachers, the faculty/staff, founders, students, and parents. This school has such strong leadership and parent/student/teacher relationships. I couldn't think of a more perfect place for my kids to attend school. This really is the perfect hometown school!! LOVE IT!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

I have had my child at the school since the beginning, and honestly would not want him to go anywhere else. I love how understanding the staff has been anytime I have had a need or concern. I also love the mandatory after school tutoring. My son has attended Summer Camp this year and has had an incredible time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

I have three children attending this school, and I love it. Nothing disappoints me at all. The teachers are fantastic, my children have learned so much, and despite being in a larger class, with two teachers, I feel they learn more and distractions are addressed immediately!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

Classes are too big!! Teachers try very hard but two classes combined in one room is just too much! Too bad. It is much needed. It was better when it first opened.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 48%
White 37%
Black 14%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 54%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
Female 46%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%67%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 West Prosser Drive
Plant City, FL 33563
Phone: (813) 567-0801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT