Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marshall Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 803 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2013

Recently able to observe some of the students from Marshall. They did a great job representing the positive side of today's youth. They were at a community event and I was proud of how they handled themselves. They were polite & respectful. Truly great group from Marshall!


Posted April 30, 2012

I am disappointed with the schools ability to maintain behavior problems. Primarily, the fighting. Which happen almost daily. The bullying and students that are initiating fights are not handled effectively pr this nonsense would not continue. I understand that cell phones are Not allowed. However, when the teachers are not in unison with upholding this rule, it sends conflicting messages and the students do what they what. Some openly sit and text during class. I understand that teachers must pick their battles but a school wide policy should be enforced regardless. I love Ms. Justice! I also think Mr Glover is great leader and appreciate the positive impact he has made in regards to my son's interest in school. GQ improved his outlook on school and his attitude in general. My son talked about Mr. Glover all of the time, and I recently had the pleasure of meeting him. It is nice to see a teacher that is truly dedicated and excited to lead. Stanley Glover is doing great things at Marshall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

I attended Marshall's AVID Open House and my entire family had a great time. We loved the exploding pumpkins. Great famliy evenin.g


Posted May 10, 2011

Ms Justice is the most awesome teacher on this planet. Probably any planet. I had her, my brother, my daughter & I'm hoping my youngest will get to have her. AWESOME! Marshall is pretty good too. Good counselors and they are very strict so I feel that my child is safe at school. Went to an awards ceremony & the teachers walk the isles like guards at a prison. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

Disappointing that the atmosphere is going down. I was very happy with my child there a few years ago but now too much time spent on problem kids. Administration slow to react to problems. Some terrible teachers that seem to get away with garbage classes even though other faculty and administrators know about the situation. Too bad. Some AWESOME teachers there among just a few bad apples.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

My son is in the advanced honors program and I am absolutely above and beyond thrilled with the education he is receiving. He is happy, the social climate is controlled (from what we've seen) and the materials are above and beyond! Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

It's alright and all, but they really don't have many electives. Agriculture gets a;; of the fundings for electives. Band gets nothing, and the teacher has to pay for anything. The teachers are kind of good, though. Some are strict, some are nice; it's a good mix. The students need a lot of help. Really. I mean it. They. Are. Messed. Up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2007

marshall is a good school! but uu just have to no the right peopleor else u will get into alot of trouble. our school was rated a B last year a letter gradedown from the year before,but marshall is still a great school. i am in 7th grade at marshall and i have learned alot from the staff there! great school,but some bad kids!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2006

'Hi I'm David Jimenez and I am a student at Marshall and it's the best place in the world that any 6th-8th grade student may be. I have been going to Marshall ever since I was in 6th grade and at this point in my life I am in 8th grade. Marshall Middle School has made a great effect in my life, for example I use to get D's in math but now I get all A's. It's amazing how Marshall changed me! The new Principal Mrs. Hall is awesome! I recommend Marshall Middle School to anyone who is looking for a good school! Go Dragons!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2004

My name is Taylor Sharp I go to Marshall Middle School this is my second year there and I am in the 8th gr. I love it there its fun but you also learn at the same time. We have great dances its safe and every teacher is nice. We just got Mrs.Sanders(princpal) at the end of last year and she is doing a great job of keeping our fcat scores and safty up. So parents if you are looking for a great middle school for your 6th-8th gr. child this is the school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

268 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

265 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

273 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

280 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

279 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

307 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 44%
White 41%
Black 12%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%67%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DAPHNE BLANTON
Fax number
  • (813) 707-7385

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18 South Maryland Avenue
Plant City, FL 33563
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 757-9360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT