Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tomlin Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1593 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

The school is very organized.My son is in 6th grade and they do a very good job keeping 6th graders separated from the 7th and 8th graders which is great. The school also keep parents informed and get kids involved in clubs,sports, and community activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

This school is terrible,The staff terrible,pickup and drop off terrible,bullying is terrible.Some of the teachers have called my kid a tattletale because he came home and told me how in civics they were talking about texas and my kid said well i don't agree with texas laws really with executing mentally impaired individuals,And this terrible excuse for a teacher said "well you better not ever go there" this from a teacher to a student in a class pretty much based on opinion!Really speaks volume about the character of this sad individual.This teachers name is Linda Hiers its unbelievable that a supposed teacher makes remarks like this to a student who she's getting paid to teach over his opinion what exactly is that supposed to be teaching our kids!!!Run from this school.Garbage!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Many supportive faculty and teachers. The school has many migrate students and there is support for all of the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

I was hesitant at first, but I have to say I have been very happy with my child's experience at Tomlin. I highly recommend this school and I am thankful that we made the switch. My child is excited to return in the fall!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

I love Tomlin Middle!!! I went there for my 6th grade year and enjoyed it a lot. The Pep Rallies, lunch, education, and teachers are the best. Now I moved but i still wish i could be there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2010

i love tomlin!i!i! im in 7th grade and all my 6th grade teachers made my 1st year at tomlin awsome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2009

This school was amazing all the teachers were really cool not too strict they were a lot of fun. Pride is alot of fun you get too get out of your classes for an hour.I love this school great teachers who are fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2008

i love tomlin !!!! im now in 8th grade and i loved all my teachers they are all awsome !!! Also to the one team i loved most ,the AVID team !!!! This team was awsome to be on beacuse the awsome teachers such as ,Ms. Mattheus ,Mr. Hinchey ,Ms. Sutorius, Mrs. Hanks, Ms. Walbreker!!!! I loved also the other two teachers that aren't there any more mrs. sweat and mr. thomas!!! It has been nice to have these teachers for the 2 years in AVID !!!Also i dont want to forget my 6th grade teachers Mrs.B. Smith and Ms. Albano!!! From the experence at tomlin and for going there ,i made many new friends that are now my best friends!!!Tomlin is the best school there is to learn and meet new people at !!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2008

This is my 12th year at Tomlin Middle School! I get up EVERY morning and can't wait to get to school. (I know...weird) Tomln is one of the top rated schools in East Hillsborough County! We have close to 1450 students and 125 on staff. You would think that a school of that size would be cold! NOT! Tomlin is a very welcoming school for students,parents and teachers. Our administration is very active and forward thinking! They put the student's first! (As it should be!) They do their best to create a safe learning environment where students can learn to their full potential. Come out and see us during the Strawberry Festival! We have plenty of places to park!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2008

i love tomlins ilap program and mrs. subko and mrs. hosmer
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2008

I am a student at tomlin, recently out of 7th grade and when I first started going thre this year, I was afraid that it wouldn't be a very good school. But the teachers are superb are very helpful when you don't understand something. Although some have different teaching styles, they all want to help kids learn; sometimes we just don't realize it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

I love this school! the teachers and the staff are so great... and Tomlin's FCAT scores have gone up. It is a great school to go to!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2007

I am an involved parent at the school and see how students come first with administrators and staff. From my understanding there are over 1500 students that populate the three grade levels. Tomlin does an excellent job at handling the number of students and providing many extra curricular activities. I am completely satisfied with my daughters three years at Tomlin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

I was a student at Tomlin for all three years of my middle school education, except for one nine weeks in the 6th grade. Tomlin was better than any middle school I had seen, it has wonderful teachers and a great staff. It was amazing and I loved it ever so much. If I could go back and re-do my years there, I would again and again and again.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

I feel that as a parent of a 6th grader coming into the school, that it has been very confusing. Between the schedule changes, finding the way around the school etc., If feel things were not very organized. Also, the homework load is just more than the students can handle. The students do not get home until 4:45., There is homework in 3 or more classes on most nights. If would be helpful if say english/math were assigned on mon/wed and maybe science/history etc. Be assigned tues/thurs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

503 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

502 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

559 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

560 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

540 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

539 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

538 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

535 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

520 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Hispanic 42%
Black 9%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%67%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SUSAN SULLIVAN
Fax number
  • (813) 707-7024

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 North Woodrow Wilson Street
Plant City, FL 33563
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 757-9400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT