Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Simmons Career Center

Public | 11-12 | 174 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

Simmons career center gives students another chance to reach their goals and to graduate with 24 credits. the teachers are amazing and i give them props
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

My daughter just graduated from Simmons, the faculty and staff are very caring and determined to do whatever it takes to help students realize their potential. If there were more schools like Simmons, I do believe the high school drop out rate would fall sharply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

This school has changed my sons life.I thought a high school diploma was a dream. The caring and concerned staff at Simmons made my son a success story he went from D's and F's at his previous school to straight A's and National Technical Honor Society. Thank you very much to the awesome staff at Simmons Career Center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I graduated in 2007 and i feel that Simmons is an amazing school. i was held back in the 4th grade and failed 10th grade and had a horrible GPA in high school and every other grade I was in but when I heard about Simmons i applied and got accepted and started there in august of 06' and started with a 4.0 GPA and it never dropped a single point. granted I didn't like a select few of the teachers but the majority of the teachers and staff is absolutely amazing. Mrs. Washington , Mrs. Noble and Mr .Steffen are the best teachers I have ever had in my life! My name is Tommy Medley and I thank every one there at Simmons for helping me graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

I graduated from Simmon's in 2005. Prior to attending Simmon's I dropped out of Plant City High School. I just wasn't doing very well there and in my 3rd year of 9th grade with a horrible GPA. I heard about Simmon's the following year and decided to look into it. I was fortunate enough that Simmon's accepted me in my situation and started there as the Senior I should have been at PCHS. The teachers were amazing; they actually cared about each student as an individual. I maintained a 4.0 GPA and graduated at the top of the class, with the highest test scores. This school gave me the second chance that I never dreamed I would have had. And I am very thankful for that. I recommend this school to anyone who asks. It truly changed my life. And left an impression in my heart to succeed and better myself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

This is my sons first year at simmons and what a wonderful group of people running this faciliity our children are in good hands.We are off to a great start this fall .Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

My son graduated from Simmons this year. This school was perfect for my son before he came to simmons we thought he was going to be one of those statistics of being a dropout. Simmons saw his potential and took him by the hand and and brought him through to graduation. I knew he would graduate but simmons made him see that school is not so bad and he is very smart. I rate Simmons 5 stars. The staff is great and Mrs. Washington is awesome. I just cannot thank them enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

This school has turn my son around. He went from not liking school, to having the time he always wanted to. He is now looking forward to being a senior next year. The nursing program has given him the chance to plan for his future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

Im a former student at Simmons Career Center and I give it 5 stars for best teachers and best Academic Learning Experiance. I never got a chance to graduate because my parents moved away but if I ever had a chance to finish High School I would do it there. I started at Simmons in Aug. of 04 and left Jan. of 07 I would have graduated in may of 07 but never got the chance.... I miss everyone there and hope to return very soon....
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Hispanic 43%
Black 11%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 2%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 81%67%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 66%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1202 West Grant Street
Plant City, FL 33563
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 707-7430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Plant City High School
Plant City, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT