Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward

Charter | K-8 | 463 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2013

This is going to be our 4th year in Ben Gamla. The first few years were OK but this year with the new principal we had a great year, big improvmets from the previous years. Mrs. Weissberg's (the principal) added leadership and invoation, parents are involved, teacher care about their students and what I like the most is the culture. I am extremly happy with the school and the fact that my kids are going to stay from K-12 is just terrific. Thank you tachers and principal for a wonderfull year. (2013)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

... We were grateful to discover Ben Gamla exists. Despite the reviews we found we decided to speak to parents with kids already at the school and were surprised by how warmly and lovingly everyone spoke of it. We enrolled our 5 year old for the school year 2012-13. We now commute 30 minutes just to take him to school (and drive 30 minutes back!) If we weren't ecstatic we would have immediately pulled him out! (Who in their right mind travels 2 hours a day just to take / pick up their son from school if not because they are super thrilled with the school itself?!) The sense of community is overwhelming from the get go. Education is outstanding. I love the fact that Hebrew is taught as a 2nd language every day. Not many Broward Schools teach a second language, any language!, to all kids on a daily basis. The teachers are engaging and it's incredible the pace with which children progress! Also, students actually have fun. Yes, incredibly refreshing to know that, isn't it? :) The whole staff is attentive, patient, helpful. Bottom line, we are extremely proud of the school and are looking forward to continuing to be part of this community for many years to come! Go Ben Gamla!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

This school was a big disappointment. My daughter has been miserable here and I fear the academics are frighteningly behind other schools. We will be switching schools next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

My kids have been there since they first started in Plantation, and this year I can see a BIG difference. They are more focused on getting bigger and more students than they are about the kids and families that are there. If your child has any special needs or is ESE, then Ben Gamla is not for you. They don't have the resources to accommadate like a regular public school does. It isn't a priority to them. This school had a lot of potential but it failed me and my children. I stayed and was patient through all of the confusion and now I am leaving. My kids are so much happier in their new school and so am I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

Excellent new atitude to the whole school. Love the new principal and all the office staff.


Posted September 14, 2010

My children are at Ben Gamla and were there last year. I am very happy with the principal, the entire organization and the way things are being run. The principal made more things happen in the one month before school opened than I saw last year. I am so happy with the professionalism this year. Love all the new specials the children are getting. GREAT IMPROVEMENT. Looking forward to growing with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Ben Gamla in Plantation was great last year, The teachers and principal were amazing. It had a warm feeling and a great sense of family. This year I need to admit, I am very dissapointed with the school. the new Principal is mean and sesms like she doesnt care about the families. the teachers are unhappy and the disorganization this year is unbelievable. I am considering moving my children to Weston to complete their year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 18% 23%
Hispanic 16% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 81%53%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Einav Cabrera
Fax number
  • (954) 587-8347

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6511 W Sunrise Blvd
Plantation, FL 33313
Phone: (954) 587-8348

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT