Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward

Charter | K-8 | 463 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

I am a parent to a middle school student at Ben Gamla. We have been with the school for three years and have seen a change for the worse - and it gets worse. The new middle/high school assistant principal is already going bye bye. So another year another principal. Look at the low test scores. Great education / preparation for a future employee of McDonalds or shwarma stand. What goes on for an education is truly sad, and unfortunately most of the parents who keep in this Ben Gamla just do not know any better. Ben Gamla perpetuates ignorance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

I am a parent to a middle school student at Ben Gamla. We have been with the school for three years and have seen a change for the better. The new middle/high school assistant principal is working to class up the upstairs. The teachers are dedicated to their students and most the middle school team teaches straight through without a planning period. The teachers know their subject areas and are motivated to effect change. It's a shame that some of the parents can not see how dedicated the staff is and to stop interfering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

This school has impressed us so far! This is our first year and my son is in 3rd grade with Mrs. Fudali. He loves school and is doing very well! We are elated that the school is K-12. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2014

I went to this school last year in 7th grade... Like in every other school there are those mean/popular girls, but this school you were either mean, popular, not really put in a group, or bullied. Going to and from school on the bus was horrible not to mention i had to wake up at 5:30 or 6:00 to make the bus and a few times I didn't even make it. The highschoolers were especially mean to certain people on the bus. Overall the lower school I cant say anything for, but definitely didn't like the middle school. I heard they got a new principal but that doesn't change the way the kids are.


Posted March 24, 2014

My daughter has been going to this school for 3 years already, we are very happy, especially with her amazing teacher this year, she is one of those special teachers that really care for her students and their academic success , thank you Mrs. Egan ,we love you...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Don't let the last review scare you. The office staff, principal and teachers are amazing. The school is very warm and loving to the kids and parents. The reason why the school is rated low is beacons a lot of the kids are from Israel and they don't speak English very well. The principal is working very hard to make this school and A school and she will succeed. She is very dedicated and so is her staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

My child attends 2nd grade, Mrs Egan is a very attentive student and assess the children's ability well. She has gone out of her way to provide extra resources to help with extra work. We appreciate all her extra hard work with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

As a previous Dade County School employee and parent, I see a vast difference in the school culture and integration of technology outside of the classroom assignments. At Ben Gamla they are not only dedicate to the academic success of the children but the are as equally concerned about the socials skills of a child which is paramount in preparation for tomorrows leaders. Its more of what school use to be about in the late 70's and early 80's encompassing the old African proverb of "It Takes a Village to Raise a Child".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

My children have been attending Ben Gamla since it first opened it's doors. Mrs Weisberg has turned the school around since she has been there and it has been wonderful. My sons teacher mrs Egan has been very influential this year for him. She is patient, fun and loving towards him and the class. His reading has improved tremendously since he joined her class. She has increased his confidence and helped mold to be more responsible. I receive almost daily contact from her updating me. He loves his teacher and his school. My daughter has had year after year amazing experiences here. She looped this year with her teacher from last Ms Gayle. This teacher has been a role model to my child and has taught her above and beyond. She is very loving and as the kids describe very "cool". Her class is very well behaved and my daughter has benefited from having Ms Gayle two years in a row .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

My girls have been at this school for two years now and it is PHENOMENAL the change in the school since Mrs Weissberg took over as Principal. She has re introduced important subjects like drama and physical education. Mrs Egan is the best teacher that I have that we have ever had. Even the expensive private school that my girls attended is not have a teacher who came anywhere close to her. She is energetic, fun and inspires her students to always aim higher. And I love that she not only has my telephone number but she actually calls me whenever she feels the need to! These two educators really don't consider it a job, they have a passion to teach and help our children. We don't pay them enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

My daughter has been attending Ben Gamla since Kindergarten and she absolutely loves the environment and teachers and is also learning to speak Hebrew. She is now in 2nd grade and Mrs Egan, albeit new to the schoool, has already won the hearts of the parents as she goes above and beyond for her students. We are grateful for all the extra resources that have become available to help our child excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

Ever since Mrs. Weissberg took over as the principal, this school has been amazing. This is our 4th year here and I was ready to leave because of the old principal. Then I found out Mrs. Weissberg was coming so I had to give it another year!! She is amazing and really knows what she is doing. Did you know Broward County made a Mrs. Weissberg day?? That's how good she is!!! The only reason we are a 'C' school is because a lot of families move to America from Israel and bring their kids to Ben Gamla so they feel more comfortable. This effects the grade!! Also, being a smaller school, you feel better bringing you ADHD kids here because they get the attention they deserve but that too can effect the grade. AND because our grade is for K-8, we have an extra 100 points added to our average when testing. What I mean is most school get the average to decided the grade with 600 (I don't remember the actual number) so we are cut by 700. Basically guaranteeing it being a lower grade! So basically, I love the Elementary and high recommend it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

My children have been in Ben gamla since it started 5 years ago. The actual principal is phenomenal. She inherited a school with problems which she has been diligently working to get them fixed. The changes could be seen last year but more so this year. The quality of teachers is amazing. There was a turnover of teachers; However, the new teachers are great and experienced. I highly recommend this school. We drive from far to bring our children to this school even though we have great schools around us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

My daughter has been there now for three years. I like the school, my daughter does very well there and enjoys it. The school has had some rough times. When we started there it was a different principal, she was not good for the school, very miserable person. I think the new principal, Mrs. Weissburg is doing amazing things for the school. She has been there now two years and I have never had problem meeting to her. Yes, the school has had change in some staff, as some teachers were not teaching. My daughter had one of those teachers last year, and we were very upset. This year already I am in love with her teacher. The communication is very good, and my daughter comes home again with a light in her eyes and a big smile. She loves her new teacher, who was just hired by Mrs. W. My friends and I had coffee this weekend and we talked about our children's new teachers. All of us are happy. My friend with a boy in 3rd grade also has a new teacher, and she too is very happy so far this year. I think the school is doing a great job. I am thankful to have this school in my neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

This is my son's 4th year going to Ben Gamla and I couldn't be happier with the administration and faculty this year. He was placed with a new teacher to the school this year. We were very concerned, especially with FCAT. Mrs. Wolf has been phenomenal with my son. I know it's only the first week of school, but I already see a change in his work ethic and behavior. Mrs. Weissberg did a great job this year, and has a great bunch of teachers working for her. This will be a great year at Ben Gamla.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I love the school. My son is so happy there. He is learing Hebrow everyday. The Principal is great- the Teachers are great as well as the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My oldest daughter has been at this school since this started and I've seen a very good change this last year. The best of the school is that we are like a big family where almost everyone know each others and the parents are very committed to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I am a former teacher at Ben Gamla . I had to resign this year for personal reasons. Mrs. Weissberg is a top notch principal! She is dedicated to surrounding herself with teachers and other staff who genuinely put their whole hearts into their jobs and truly care about the students. She also believes in continuous training and professional development of her teachers so that all students can succeed. The school is very family oriented and has a warm and caring environment with high parent involvement. It is so nice to have parents who are interested and are always looking for ways to help! Ben Gamla has the latest textbooks and technology in the classroom, which are both essential for student learning and engagement. The Hebrew program is excellent as well! It is shaping up to be a great year this year! I highly recommend Ben Gamla!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 1, 2013

The school did great last year. All the way from the administration down have done an amazing job. We have been in this school since it started. The progress is noticeable! Do not quite understand how could someone give a bad review with the excellent year they just had! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

We've been at the school for four now, and absolutely love it. The warm sense of family and safety, combined with caring teachers and top notch academics make me very happy to have chosen Ben Gamla.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 18% 23%
Hispanic 16% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 81%53%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Einav Cabrera
Fax number
  • (954) 587-8347

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6511 W Sunrise Blvd
Plantation, FL 33313
Phone: (954) 587-8348

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT