Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Plantation, FL
Students enrolled: 398
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 2

Posted June 15, 2015
- a community member
Problem number 1: This school lacks proper discipline and is way understaffed. Problem number 2: Students in this school have no extracurricular to look forward to other than art. Some students do not even get the opportunity to physical activity (which is crucial to growing kids). Art is the only elective that students have, no music class, no band, no chorus, no drama, no dance, no home economics, it's ridiculous. This explains a lot of the behavior problems in the school. Apart from the fact that students are frustrated that teachers keep quitting. How are students suppose to explore their talents before they go off into college if their abilities are not awakened? Its just sad, and I feel sorry for the kids that attend this school.

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 3

Posted March 29, 2015
- a community member
There a number of problems with this school. I say this as a student who has been at the school for two years now. For two years the staff and administration have done a decent job of handling school matters. They provide enough extracurricular activities even though they run on a tight budget. The school has absolutely no sanitation issues. The issues it does have are as follow: Lack of disciplinary action on bad students Underqualified teachers Teachers teaching subjects they have no expertise on (former PE coaches teaching History) Too many teachers deserting the school (like true frenchmen) Sadly, most of the issues mentioned above are mostly due to a vast majority of under-disciplined kids. The student body doesn't care at all about the school. In fact this year no students volunteered to do yearbook. After a certain teacher left, 3 history teachers were in and out. Most of them either unqualified or just not able to manage a classroom. Again, it is the student's fault for being total d*cks to the teachers. But overall a pretty average school. Not worth $300 though.


Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
I am most grateful that all 3 of my children are out of Ben-Gamla, and are now in much much better schools. May you be so fortunate.

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 1

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
The orientation last night was awful! I could barley walk in or breath or hear anything. It was like a bad disorganized flee market. Very disappointed! Is this what the new administration going to be like this year!!!??? Where are the Board of directors in all of this.

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 3

Posted August 13, 2014
- a community member
Not ok really some things just need to be fixed and some teachers just can't teach they need to check this persons back round they also need to get sport teams for middle school because I was on a team and it was all fake we barely cheered at any games but one and we couldn't even stand up they need to be more serious about extra curricular activities


Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 5

Posted July 13, 2014
- a parent
School is a B! We had a great year last year and are looking forward to many more! Ben Gamla is not run by losers for losers! I think his teacher and the principal were great!!! We will do fine without your negativity, as I would not want my son in a classroom with your youngster! Call and schedule a tour, don't let the crazies scare you away. Great small school with a lot of potential to be an A in the near future.

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
They have all the bad reviews removed. The school is academically awful, and changes principals every year. Kids are always leaving. Look at test scores - C. A school run by losers for losers.

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 4

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent to a middle school student at Ben Gamla. We have been with the school for three years and have seen a change for the better. The new middle/high school assistant principal is working to class up the upstairs. The teachers are dedicated to their students and most the middle school team teaches straight through without a planning period. The teachers know their subject areas and are motivated to effect change. It's a shame that some of the parents can not see how dedicated the staff is and to stop interfering.


Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 2

Posted March 30, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school last year in 7th grade... Like in every other school there are those mean/popular girls, but this school you were either mean, popular, not really put in a group, or bullied. Going to and from school on the bus was horrible not to mention i had to wake up at 5:30 or 6:00 to make the bus and a few times I didn't even make it. The highschoolers were especially mean to certain people on the bus. Overall the lower school I cant say anything for, but definitely didn't like the middle school. I heard they got a new principal but that doesn't change the way the kids are.

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward 4

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been going to this school for 3 years already, we are very happy, especially with her amazing teacher this year, she is one of those special teachers that really care for her students and their academic success , thank you Mrs. Egan ,we love you...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward
6511 West Sunrise Boulevard, Plantation, FL  33313
(954) 587-8348
Last modified Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ben Gamla Charter School South Broward Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top