Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plantation Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1036 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Hi,I just started the 7th grade and my teachers are good and my classmates are good to, about 65% of the school is like "Ghetto" and have a bunch little 11,12,13,14 yr olds cursing! But the teachers know how to teach, if you trust your child let em go, but cursing around here is contagious!


Posted May 30, 2013

We are very happy with PLMS. The teachers and school staff are very kind and caring. We came from Central Park Elem (many yrs there) and although I was fairly happy with it, the overall attitude at PLMS is much better. They treat you like family. The principal is so nice and accessible. My daughter is very happy here. She got picked for a magnet program at another school that she was originally excited to try for, then decided she just didn't want to leave PLMS. She participates in Student Gov., Chorus, and First Priority clubs after school. They have very good academics, the IB program, sports, and reward programs for the students too. I can see they care about my daughter's individual needs, and my son's too when he was there. More parent involvement would make things even better. Plantation Middle School is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

They need to change the school zone so more white kids can go to the school .it would be better I'd the school have a higher ratio of white kids.plantation middle please work on your ratio I would b very happy black mom.thank u .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

This school is the worst school ever see in my live. you never met a counselor he not help to the students, the teacher are pathetic, they don't care you child and they don't have passion to teach. only write, write any time the class Algebra everybody failed this class. the poor teacher try to did her best, This school need a new counselor the county paid him for nothing, Broward county need to investigate this school. FFFFFFFF.


Posted July 21, 2011

My daughter is in the IB program at PM.What a fantastic program after having my children at a nearby private school for years ,i thought she had the best education.Wrong!!!not only was the academics sub standard so was the discipline. I have been pleasantly surprised at Plantation Middle.The curriculum is challenging,the teachers are easily accessible and the children in the program are well disciplined and most importantly, it's FREE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

The IB program is an excellent step Plantation Middle School has taken. Looking at the curriculum of other private schools, PM's IB program is truly competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

I have to say my daughter loves this school. The teachers are great. Much better than the nearby private school we went to . I have to say I was shocked how good this school is given the (underserved) bad reputation that it has. I really like that it is small compared to the other middle schools. she is in the magnet program and advanced classes but most of her friends are not and they like it as well. Save yourself the private school tution and don't be afraid to send your kids here like I was (a central park mom here).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I love this school the teachers are perfect,not not only helpful but nice.They make you want to come to school in the morning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

This school has recently gone from being a C school to an A school which is great! My child has made some very good friends here. She is very happy in 7th grade despite a rough start last year. The teachers are very helpful and cooperative. My daughter has even stopped getting B's in Math, which is a minor miracle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

The school is doing a great job this year. Very pleased with learning and kid's overall attitude about school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2005

I have to kids in this scool, and to me this is an excellent school for any kid that wants to learn. The school have many resources and the teachers, counselors, Principal and staff are always ready to help when you ask for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

This school is not a very good one. There are fights almost every day and the school is dirty. Real security guards walk around the school which says something about just how safe this school is. The teachers are rude and do not care whether they do well or not. In fact when my child went there, a few teachers told her class that they didnt care whether they passed or failed and it wasnt their problem; it was the students. The teachers are not encouraging. Also, the academic standards are extremely low. Resources are low and the children are not well desciplined when neccessary. If you care about your childs educaution, you shouldnt send them here. A private school, even if you cant afford it, would be the best idea.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2004

I am very satisfied with the education my son is receiving at Plantation Middle School. The curriculum is challenging and the extra curricular activities offered are many. As with most things in life I believe you get out of it what you put into it and the PTO does an amazing job of providing those extras both materially and through their many volunteer hours that help make the school special. The ethnic and social diversity will only help my son deal with the reality of living in a multicultural society. The fact that PMS has received the 5 Star Award attests to quality of the students, parents, teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

I am so happy with Plantation Middle! My son is taught a challenging curriculum and has so many extracurricular activities to choose from. This is my third child to attend this school and it has improved every year. I am especially impressed with the communication. I get a weekly e-mail of everything going on for the week at the school in addition to the school newsletter. And, when I go to the website there isn t a question unanswered. We have a wonderful new principal, we have an outstanding staff and a very friendly PTO. Come Join Us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2004

This is my 5th year as a parent of a Plantation Middle student, with one now in high school and one currently a PMS student. I am proud of our school. A new principal and many dedicated teachers fill the campus with positive energy. The curriculum is very strong and competitive to many private schools. The direction of the school is always a focus that is taken seriously. There are many opportunities available for the students that choose to embrace them. For those same students, success stories begin. Each child is responsible for decisions he or she makes and middle school is the time a lot of children begin learning these lessons. Good and bad. all schools share similar problems. Private or public, white or black. No school is perfect because there are no perfect children attending them. Responsibility starts and ends in the home. Thank you to all the plantation middle school parents who send their children to school ready to learn. Plantation Middle did a great job preparing my oldest child to handle a strong curriculum at plantation high. Also, the parent/teacher/organization PTO at plantation middle does a fantastic job supporting the school. The PTO donates many hours of their time to contribute to the well being of the students. They also contribute heavily with financial donations to help go over and beyond the call for the plantation middle students. Plantation Middle is a school I am proud to send my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2004

This school has a new Principal as of Sept 2003, and is continuing to get better every year. I especially commend them on the wide variety of extracurricular activities which includes the following clubs: Science, Human Relations, Chorus, KIND (Kids in Nature's Defense), Yearbook, CAD(computer assisted drawing), Drama, Jazz Band, PC(personal computer)Explorers, FEA(future teachers of America), NJHS. I think this shows the level of caring and commitment that the staff feels for the kids. The school also began a Saturday School in October. Teachers offer the following courses: Algebra, FCAT reading, FCAT math, Science, and Technology to anyone interested. The communication with the parents is excellent. A newsletter sent home every month, website with up to date information, and I get an email every weekend that lets me know what is going on during the upcoming week. My kids have had great experiences and real growth here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

My son began attending Plantation Middle School in 2002 in the 6th grade. He had a rough start but I attributed that to the transition from Elementary to Middle. He finished out the 6th grade with all A's & B's. Since the new school year started with him being in the 7th grade, his 1st report card was all A's and 1 B. I also had the opportunity to meet with one of his teachers and his Assistant Principle. There were no problems with scheduling or resolving the issue I had. There isn't a perfect school out there unless you are going to Home School. Plantion Middle does have issues, but If we work together, most can get resolved to some level of satisfaction. It takes a village to raise a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2003

I thought i was sending my son to a school which would benefit him. Instead i am feeling very alienated from the very thing which should be beneficial to his future. I don't know if it is a way out for them, but you can actually feel the distance between yourself and the staff. Mind you we are talking about 99.5% of the staff at Plantation Middle. They are so informal. Can you imagine if i am feeling this way , what are the children getting? Personally i know how hard it is being a teacher,being one myself,but to get to the children you have to be very open minded. The principal though, needs to deal with situations more diplomatically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Plantation Middle School is clearly emerging as one of the premier middle schools in the Broward County District. With a seasoned staff of consummate professionals, the faculty and administrative staff have made tremendous strides in enhancing the educational experience for all students, by promoting safety and discipline at this school. Most importantly, Plantation Middle School is a magnet school that offers its students a unique education in Advanced Communication Skills, which prepares children for greater achievement in the high school level. Despite comments about the schools prior reputation, Plantation Middle School has truly made a great deal of headway in overcoming those shortcomings and now promises to be the school of choice for many families in Broward!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2003

If this school rates a 'B' I'd hate to have my child in anything less. Overcrowded classes..The quality of teachers as well as the principal is poor! The only person I think knows what she's doing is the woman answering the phones in the office...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

320 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 23%
White 21% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 45%53%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Patricia Hague
Fax number
  • (754) 322-4185

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6600 W Sunrise Blvd
Plantation, FL 33313
Website: Click here
Phone: (754) 322-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Blake School
Plantation, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT