Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

903 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Plantation Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted January 15, 2016
- a community member
I want to thank Griffin a classmate/friend of mine who is always by my side and not just because he is also white

Plantation Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 15, 2016
- a community member
No behavior taught into students it is like a zoo with the general kids as heard by a friend of mine and sometimes the IB kids


Plantation Middle School 1

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
Too much fights! Most of the children curse at the teacher a and peers and seem very troubled! My son had two separate incidents already.... only 3 weeks back to school. This school need boot camp treatment!

Plantation Middle School 2

Posted September 08, 2015
- a community member
I'm an 8th grade IB student at Plantation Middle. As usual, the teachers are top notch. They are very interactive, they care about our education and my only criticisms are petty. The problem lies with the majority of the normal school kids. They drag the school's grade down, they fight and they are overall abhorrent peers to have. The new principal isn't helping. All she does is ban things for all the classes and hope they work. She has sucked all the enjoyment out of being on campus. Overall, the teachers are great, the kids are really bad if you aren't in IB and the principal is disconnected from the interests of both the students and teachers that it is sort of pathetic.

Plantation Middle School 1

Posted April 16, 2015
- a teacher
The teachers are great. The IBM program is also wonderful. However the school is not safe. Not for students or staff! Bomb threats, countless fights each day, and complete insanity fills the hallways and classrooms. This year and last year staff members have been assaulted. The only word that comes to mind is "RUN"!


Plantation Middle School 3

Posted December 10, 2014
- a community member
As an IB student of this school, I have mixed feelings. On one hand, there are some good teachers, not all are perfect, but that is to be expected. I have made good friends, and I am doing pretty well. On an academic level, its decent enough, despite the D rating on it (I can only speak for the gifted programs). But on the other hand, the place is dangerous. Tons of fights, lots of bad kids, lots of people interrupting classes, and its located near a pretty bad neighborhood. If your in IB, they make an effort to try and separate you from the bad kids, key word try. I have had bikes stolen, seen fights picked, witness lots of smoking, and even experienced kids picking on me for looking white, even though I'm not. There are plenty of downsides, but I am still enjoying myself. But before you read this and decide on a private school, my friend, who moved from here to American Heritage, says it is very snobby, and pretty bad.

Plantation Middle School 1

Posted July 29, 2014
- a teacher
Working at Plantation Middle is a horrible experience. The administration is ineffective, and the principal is invisible. Students are disruptive and disrespectful knowing that they will get away with it. Otherwise well-mannered children will fall prey to the terrible influences who walk the halls during class all day long. Sixteen and seventeen-year-old seventh graders are common-- and creepy. Most teachers truly care about the kids but are so beaten down by the hazings they receive every day. The IB program is not isolated from the worst if the school. Do yourself a favor and find a better alternative for your child.

Plantation Middle School 4

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
I went to an orientation at Plantation Middle school for the IB program. Was very concerned about it being a good fit. I e-mailed coordinator and was invited to come in. When my husband and I came in we were not only met by the coordinator but the 6th grade counselor . We had all of our questions answered and concerns addressed. Can't wait for my son to attend


Plantation Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
We are very happy with PLMS. The teachers and school staff are very kind and caring. We came from Central Park Elem (many yrs there) and although I was fairly happy with it, the overall attitude at PLMS is much better. They treat you like family. The principal is so nice and accessible. My daughter is very happy here. She got picked for a magnet program at another school that she was originally excited to try for, then decided she just didn't want to leave PLMS. She participates in Student Gov., Chorus, and First Priority clubs after school. They have very good academics, the IB program, sports, and reward programs for the students too. I can see they care about my daughter's individual needs, and my son's too when he was there. More parent involvement would make things even better. Plantation Middle School is a great school!

Plantation Middle School 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
They need to change the school zone so more white kids can go to the school .it would be better I'd the school have a higher ratio of white kids.plantation middle please work on your ratio I would b very happy black mom.thank u .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plantation Middle School
6600 West Sunrise Boulevard, Plantation, FL  33313
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (754) 322-4100
Last modified Plantation Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top