Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peters Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 684 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2010

Peters Elementary School is an excellent school. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The staff is always friendly. My grandson is a special needs child. The school has done an great job in meeting his needs. I would recommend Peters (and have) to anyone who has a child in elementary school.


Posted November 12, 2010

Why do you love Peters Elementary School? It is a wonderful place to work! I love my students and we have the BEST staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2010

This is my second home. The faculty and staff are like my family. The students are like my children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2010

Peters Elementary has the best and most supportive staff and students. It is a fun and friendly atmosphere and I enjoy coming to work every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2010

Peters is a wonderful school. The staff and parents work well together and it makes for a positive learning environment. The students are always put 1st. There are several extra curricular activities, the PTA is strong and the Specials team is the BEST!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2010

Peters is a family. The faculty and the students have a respect for each other and truly care about each other. The teachers are passionate about what they do and it shows!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2010

Why do you love Peters Elementary School?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2010

The administration and staff of this school take a personal interest in each and every student. They take their roles seriously in building a solid foundation for learning. Anyone would love to have their child in this loving environment.from dacial
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

If you are looking for a school that is dedicated to meeting your child's needs and helping him reach his potential, Peters Elementary is the best place for you. Since your child's success depends on the quality of his teacher, you will be excited to find teachers with over 20 years of experience at every grade level. As most of the teachers and administrators have worked together for so many years, their is truly a feeling of family here.popizar
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

I love the teachers at Peters. They are so dedicated, passionate about their work and incredibly encouraging to their students.D
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Amazing School !! The teachers are hard working but do try to make the curriculum as enjoyable as possible. The Principle and vice principle are easy to talk to, truly have a passion for the success of your child as if they were their own, and don't have a higher than thou attitude in regards to being hands on with the children and parents in all respect. Its evident by the way that the students are always showing them so much love in the hall ways (Not saying I was a bad kid ,just never knew kids to not fear and have a general dislike for being around Principles) before and after school. I know it sounds like a movie but this school is Public School with a Private School feel. Worth more than a look if you can attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Coming from a private religous schools and seeing that Peter's was the oldest elementary school in Plantation, I had reservations. However, the moment I met the staff and saw the facility - I have to say I was extremely impressed. Both my children's teachers were exceptional and I truely believe that they received a far better education at Peter's this year than in the private school they were previously attending. I highly recommend Peter's to any parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I have loved Peters Elementary from the first moment I set foot on the campus over 22 years ago, when I brought my son to begin his education. This phenominal school has meant so much to me and my family over the years due to the incredible teaching staff and caring administration. Now, 21 years later, I am blessed to be a teacher at this wonderful place of learning and to give back to the community that which my son was lucky to obtain: A first-class education by caring, learned professionals who are here because they love teaching! Our students come to this awesome school each day with a positive attitude and a love of learning. Our students and their families are the greatest, and we appreciate the opportunity to be their teachers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2010

I love Peters Elementary because teachers really work hard to meet the needs of each individual learner.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2010

peter's is a very good school because they work very well with the students. peter's has a very good staff and the teachers are great!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love Peters Elementary because the teachers and staff are the best!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Peters is a wonderful school with a beautiful open campus. The staff is caring and very supportive. The teachers make every effort to meet the needs of each individual student. There are various activities scheduled every year that students, parents, teachers and community members can participate in. The school climate is like being in a big family, with great students, teachers, parents and administrators. It is a pleasure to work at Peters.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2010

because they care for the students & work very well with kids kids no matter if they have special needs or not.the best school is peter's elementary & no one can be better then them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Peters elementary has a very home like feeling because of the scenic landscaping that covers the campus, the amazing teachers that dedicate their lives to their students and most important the wonderful children that attend Peters...their thirst to learn is very uplifting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

All my kids have had great dedicated teachers. I wouldn't want my kids to go to any other school. My kids have flourished from the teacher's they have had.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 43%
Hispanic 25%
White 23%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%53%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KATHLEEN SEDLACK
Fax number
  • (754) 322-7940

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

851 Northwest 68th Avenue
Plantation, FL 33317
Phone: (754) 322-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spring Gate School
Plantation, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT