Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plantation High School

Public | 9-12 | 2234 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

This school has something for everyone. It has Journalism,jrotc,culinary,hosa,art, and much more. Most children at this school focus more on their education than who their friends are. And teachers are and guidence counslers are always there to support them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2013

I'm writing an updated review as an alumnus who is over 10 years out. I graduated in '02. So many of my fellow classmates are very successful. In fact, one of them is an international CBS news correspondent, one just graduated from Columbia Law, another is attending Stanford Law, one mixes sound for pop and R&B albums that you listen to on the radio all the time...I could keep going, but I'd run out of space. I'm working on a second career. I just started law school after spending 7 years working in Marketing for the Metropolitan Opera. Basically, what I'm trying to say is that if your child is focused and smart, they are going to do well anywhere. I am a privileged person and my privilege helped me regardless. In fact, Plantation might be better for them because they will be a big fish in a little pond. Also, let's be real here for a sec: the diversity is what scares most [white] parents off. Little Hannah, Madison, and Tyler are going to be fine. If they can't handle themselves at PHS then they need therapy, not private school.


Posted August 1, 2013

My son will be a senior this 2013-2014 school and I have enjoyed these last 2yrs. He went to a well known private school here in Broward County and thousands of dollars later wasn't the least bit impressed. I moved to Plantation and enrolled him the neighborhood high school without knowing much about its reputation. Day 1 I was welcomed with open arms and a smile. There are days when its hectic like any other business, but the staff always strives to do the best. I love and support my Colonels!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

this school has many contributive factors that promote enriching learning and the school has many appropriate clubs that benefit the student population.


Posted January 4, 2012

Congratulations to Plantation High for having a 2010 graduate win the X Factor and a third place finish in "Survivor." The IB program and AP classes are exemplary! Let's focus on the positive! I live in the community and am proud of this school!


Posted January 2, 2012

Would love to see the statistics on students who were reassigned to another school decided to leave and go to Plantation. Doubt it highly. As a parent walk through the school during school time. Take your blinders off. Me sure you listen to the language being yelled in the school. Heard such vulgar language when kids taking midterms and there isn't supposed to be kids in the hallway. Check your police reports. CBS news did a nice piece on Walmart DONATING a few hundred belts so boys would wear their pants around their waist. Now if that's education leave my kids out. One of my kids attended for two yrs and was accepted to another school a few yrs back. The other was reassigned a yr ago. Thank God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

Plantation High is a great high school and I am proud to be a parent who chose my home school rather than re-assigning. Those that did re-assign ended up unhappy and coming back to PHS. The school offers tons of AP classes, special programs such as the Aerospace and IB and lots of clubs, sports and extra curricular activities. My daughter has never had a single issue at this school when others at "better" schools have. There is no reason for anyone zoned for this school to think twice about sending their child to PHS. It is an excellent school. It has been rated 1 of the best high schools in the US by Newsweek Magazine year after year. Stay in Plantation and support your home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The accomplishments that Plantation High School have earned,in the past,have given me the desire to help my school succeed in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I am a freshmen at Plantation High, and it is not that bad. I know many people who go there, and I am never bothered or bullied in school for any reason. My teachers all care very much about my grade as well as me as an individual. The extracurricular activities the school offers are very extensive, and I have had a fairly good experience at this school so far.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2008

I look back at my four years at Plantation High with no academic regret. I've truly grown from my experience as a student and individual. Pay no mind to the reviews saying that the teachers don't care and that there are constant fights. There are not. Students choose what classes they wish to be in. Our school offers several AP classes with board certified teachers who care about their students. If a student chooses to take lower-level classes and not participate in the variety of socially and academically based extra-curriculars then they will not reap the benefit of the opportunities this school offers. I went to Plantation High 2004-2008, it has opened so many doors for me to attend the university of my choice, University of Forida, and I still maintain correspondence with teachers I had years ago. I don't regret a thing. ; )
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2008

Many people tend to listen to rumors when it comes to deciding which school is best for their child. In fact, the reason that Plantation High School has been losing most of its students is because of the recent spread of rumors that the kids, and teachers/administrators, at Plantation High School were horrid. If you are a parent, though, reading this, then listen to this, and not what other people may say. Plantation High School is an all-round, above average high school when it comes to the number of teachers that ACTUALLY care for your child. Many teachers enjoy to see your child improve in his/her skills over the course of the school year, and they respond to your child's problems in a clear, positive way, and find a way to make them (the students) feel better. Students, although a bit troublesome at times, know how to befriend with your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2006

Offers a myriad of extracurricular activities for students to choose from. Parents, understand that the school has gone through a major transition since the arrival of its new principal. Plantation will rise to the top once again! Both my kids graduated from there and loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

The academics aren't exactly the best but their are good teachers who go above and beyond to teach their students. while PHS is overshadowed by their dismal school grade they do have great elective courses, that includes one of the best school governments, NHS, and HOSA. The School has a long history of winning teams in football, basketball and other sports including women volleyball and soccer. The school band, ROTC, Rocket team are ranked high and are respected. parents are involved when they are needed, but the students are more independent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2005

Plantation is a very horrible school and children who want to learn should not go there! The teachers are very bad at teaching the school os just all around horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2005

Plantation High School is a wonderful High School. Although it did go downhill for several years (which is primarily the fault of Plantation parents who enrolled their kids in private school, allowing our seats to be filled with many out-of-area students), it has slowly made its way back because of a great Principal, great leadership, and dedicated parent involvement of those Plantation parents who were committed to public schools and making this school a real competitor again. Excellent programs, academies, Advanced Placement classes, safety, teachers and administrators. Very good extra-curric. activs. and technology. The only school with a NASA/partnered Rocket Science Program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

This school seems to have verry good diversity!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2005

Although because of the schools recent low grade, it shouldnt be taken a rating of all of our students. Thier extra curriculiar activities are outstanding, and the staff strives to give all students the opportuntity to learn, even though some dont take that opportunity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2005

OK school used to be a lot better and has gone way downhill, but still an ok school and experience for students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

The school has slowly gone down hill the past (2) years, my daughter is afraid in the hallways and she was afraid to ride the bus. It seem like some of her classes had no structure and were out of control. I was never called when her grades started slipping and didn't even know there was a problem til her report card came out. When I called her teacher it took over a week for someone to return my call and then I was told it was my daughtrers responsiblity to inform me when her grades were slipping.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Its a ok school. Its not really a great school considering how much fights are there and the poor learning system. Its also a D school too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

579 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

583 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

585 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

518 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

551 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

573 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 64% 23%
White 16% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 89%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Susan Bruining
Fax number
  • (754) 322-1980

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6901 NW 16th St
Plantation, FL 33313
Phone: (754) 322-1850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spring Gate School
Plantation, FL




Lauderhill High School
Lauderhill, FL


Broward Junior Academy
Plantation, FL


Piper High School
Lauderhill, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT