Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

American Heritage School

Private | PK-12 | 2400 students

Our school is best known for top scholarly rankings and student diversity

 
 

Living in Plantation

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2012

American Heritage refuses to release my graduating daughter's academic transcripts, thereby preventing her from applying for admission to university. I have had 5 of my children attend the American Heritage since 2006. Now, in June 2012, after my daughter already graduated, the school has refused to release her transcripts, thereby preventing her from attending university, even though her tuition has been paid in full. Since, a balance remains on the tuition bills of her two younger brothers, American Heritage refuses to release her transcript unless and until the bills of her siblings are paid in full. I offered to pay the remaining balance for the two boys ($5,000) within 2 weeks, but the school business office in Delray Beach refuses to release my daughter's transcript. Instead, the school's business office sent me today a credit card authorization form, for the entire $5,000 balance, for immediate payment. It is hard to believe that this so called college preparatory school is purposefully preventing a graduate from attending college or university
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

Not all shiny objects are gold. Very expensive and don't get your bang for your thousands of bucks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

Not sure I believe all the hype after having my son scared and could not take the test. The tester is the Kindergarten teacher and she spend 20 minutes before the test yelling at my two boys for wanting to play with the toys in the class room and even snapped at my 5 year old. My 3 year old was accepted because he passed and was tested by another teacher-thankfully. My 5 year was not so lucky and was forced to remain in the room to be tested my this grouchy person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

My son attended the Academy for 8 years (1st-8th). We thought it would be a good idea to have him tutored over the summer to get him ready for High School, as we were moving. He received A' & B's through out the years, was on the honor roll and received a 8th Grade Math award. All good for his self-esteem, and lead us to believe he was doing well. After having him tested we discovered that Math skills tested and placed him at a second grade level, His reading and writing skills and English were at a 3rd or 4th grade level. Now that we are leaving the state we now are confronted with holding him back a year and finding a school that will accept his with these low level scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

My son was at Academy for 3 years. He then was streamlined into mainstream classes. American Academy gave his substantial support. As a mom, I could tell by his attitude and his daily work. The other proof I received was his first standardized test for a mainstream class. It turned out that his SAT scores were mostly above grade level. I attribute much of that success to the excellent teachers and curriculum at American Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

My son has been a student for over six years at the school. I couldn't be happier. The teachers, staff, and other families are all very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

My son has gone to this school and I would not , NOT recomend it to anyone. None of my son's teacher had an ESE degree. The teacher assistant did not have training for special need children with learn problems. The class rooms are small, I found the school dirty The curriculum does not conform to each student. My son fell behind. It is expensive and parents are given false promises. NO do not recommend,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

Both of my sons were fortunate enough to graduate from American Academy. The Academy has a fantastic curriculum and understanding teachers, My children were so fortunate to get this great start in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

I I am a proud member of the American Heritage Academy family. American Academy is a safe place to learn with outstanding teachers who go above and beyond for each student. The teachers have the special educational credentials, experience, and passion to educate, motivate, and inspire each student. The technology integration provides new learning experiences and exceeds 21st century learning standards. The facility is stellar. I highly recommend this school for a student that needs academic accommodations and small class size to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 7, 2011

Wonderful experience at American Academy. As a family member of this wonderful school, I can only say wonderful things about the teachers. They are excellent, understanding, compassionate and very motivating, something that many schools do not have these days. They go above and beyond and are constantly in touch with the parents as well as have an extensive educational background. The administrators and counselor's, as well as the staff in the office, are on track with the academic performance of my child. I cannot say enough wonderful things about American Academy. At American Academy the opportunities are endless, from a challenging curriculum, Fine Arts, Athletic department, Science/Pre-Med program, Law, Architecture everything is outstanding. We are very happy with American Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

My son is thriving in the small classroom setting. The use of technology is outstanding. The teachers are excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

I find the school unorganized, disappointed by the teachers, I feel they set my child back instead of going forward
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

I am a proud parent of a recent American Heritage graduate. My daughter entered this school her freshman year of high school; and during these past four years I had the pleasure of seeing her develop into a strong, witty, and compassionate young lady. American Heritage provides an environment that not only nurtures, but instills a strong sense of academia in our children. I highly recommend this school to every parent who wants to see their child/children be happy and successful in their own right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I am a proud parent of American Heritage School graduates. Both our son s are now in College. I have has no complaint and would recommend Heritage to anyone, loved the six years my kids spent at American Heritage. So if you are seeking an outstanding school with a serious academic program you will find it there at (AHS).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL! This is my first year at American heritage and I have never been happier. The academics are exceptional, the faculty have excellent teaching skills, and the extra curriculars are phenomonal. I adore the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

I am a parent of three children. One Academy and two Heritage. Remember: no school is completely perfect however, this is a unique program that truly offers anything and everything to help prepare our children for the next step in life. Two of my kids have gone on to college from Heritage and the Academy and were so prepared I never worried about their freshman college year. In fact, the standard answer from them and their school friends has been 'first year in college has been a review of high school' and 'it's so easy in college'. I have one more to go and I know he'll be ready too. Keep in mind that this is an academically challenging program but you get tons of feedback and there are many ways of getting extra help if needed. Stong academics, fine arts and athletics! It's been a great fit for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

My son started last year as a High school Freshman and loved this school! We come from the local public school system and wanted a high level education,with challenging honors and AP classes, and AHS has them as well as excellent, involved teachers that push the students and keep them learning. The sports and band programs are also very fulfilling as are the theater productions and varied extra curricular activities. My son also mentioned that the students were 'nice' and respectful towards each other, so he had a great year there and is happy to go back for his sophomore year! This school has great academic scores and an impressive array of admissions to top-notch universities for their graduating classes...they must be doing something right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

My child has been a student at AHS for 3 yrs. She is about to enter her 3rd grade and I have nothing but praise for the teachers, the administrative staff and front office staff. I do agree that the school is very expensive, but I will make all the sacrifices necessary to make sure my child makes it to 12th grade at Heritage. My child is of African Caribbean/ American heritage, but our experiences have been color blind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

I started at AHS as a junior mid-year. The students could not have been any nicer or more helpful and my teachers (for the most part) were the greatest. It was difficult to leave all my friends at my old school, but I feel completely at home at Heritage. Additionally, one aspect of Heritage I noticed particularly is that no matter whether a student was going to BCC or Harvard, everyone congratulated each other and seemed sincerely happy for one another. College is highly emphasized at this school, but not necessarily as getting into the best rated school in the country, but instead as getting into the best school for each individual student. The only regret I have is not starting at Heritage earlier.


Posted May 20, 2008

Our son has attended AHS elementary for two years and has done extremely well academically and socially. The teachers are amazing, nice, and helpful, and the parents are active, warm, and inclusive. Once you get into the life of the school, it's like a big family. There are a lot of extracurricular 'enrichment' activities, but we have found that at the elementary level, few are worth the money but some are great (particularly sports). Yes, it's expensive, but as a for-profit school the administration does not 'hit up' the parents for contributions as in not-for-profit private schools. Students transferring in from Florida public schools will find that the students are working well above grade level. I'd give AHS 5 stars, but have to take a star off because the school probably would not rank as 'best of the best' nationally, but it is certainly in the top handful of schools in
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 42%
Hispanic 37% 29%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Harvard College
Yale University
Princeton Unicersity
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • #1 high school in Florida-97 nationally recognized scholars (2014)
  • #1 private school in national math competition (2014)
  • #1 Robotics team at national SECME competition (2014)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • South Florida Cappies (2014)
  • Alliance for Young Artists and Writers (2014)
  • Congressional Art Competition (2014)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Engineering
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • William R. Laurie
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Association of Independent Schools of Florida
  • National Council for Private Schools

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Internships
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management
  • Engineering
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Pre-law

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • Model congress
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$19000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Harvard College
Yale University
Princeton Unicersity
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12200 W Broward Blvd
Plantation, FL 33325
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 472-0022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT