Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

American Heritage School

Private | PK-12 | 2400 students

Our school is best known for top scholarly rankings and student diversity

 
 

Living in Plantation

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2008

This is our third year in AH, we did not have a good experience, been such an expensive school, if your child has any kind of problem they will either ask you to change to american academic school even more expensive or they will ask to find help by your own and your wallet. Is incredible that public school give to you more help and assistance than this expensive school that every help you have to paid for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

This is my third year in AHS. I am extremely satisfied with the academic program and broad extracurricular activities (including Chinese starting on 1st grade). Focus & hands on science and art programs for children begining in elementary years, with labs that make children want to learn more. I am specially greatful of the teachers. The new library is just expectacular and inducive for learning. The School could have a better website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

2007-2008 will be our second year at AHS. I feel very secure about my child's safety and education here. The senior class in 2006-2007 was outstanding, full of bright, sweet kids who earned many awards and scholarships. The PTO is very active and inclusive. Overall, I think it is an excellent choice for families seeking a non-religious private school that offers PK-12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

My son has been in AHS since we arrived from Europe and it has made our experience living in U.S very pleasant.I find this School has a very serious and rigorous academic program.It's a school where teachers love teaching; they always volunteer to helps students at the end of the school day.AHS also has probably one of the best athletic programs in the Fort Lauderdale area.They encourage communication with parents and make it easy and pleasant. The staff is fantastic! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

I see that a lot of positive reveiws of American Heritage. However, I must be objective based on my expeerince with this school. I must state that my expectations have not been met I was expecting teachers that were involved and that would motivate and intrigue my child's mind. I was also expecting guidance to be concerned if my child needed help. Adjusting to high school as a freshman is a tough time for most kids the school aknowledges but yet does very little about it on their own. I have made all the contact to the teachers in regards to my childs grades. There are also issues of unruly class rooms, repulsive acts of behavior which the school assured me they removed the student from the school. But one must ask what type of children are they allowing in this school to begin with. This school needs some impovement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

I am extremely happy with AHS. My daughter is in 1st grade and thriving, excelling in reading, math, arts and science. School provides a very wholesome and multi-cultural education to the children. My child wakes up early to go to school, and returns telling me all the things she did (which did not happen in previous school). The teacher is excellent, very understanding and knowledgeable. Staff is helpful and make you feel at home. Parents a welcoming, and you have a choice to volunteer based on your availability, so it makes it easier for working parents to volunteer. Campus is great, a lot of extracurricular activities. Student body is diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

I have no hesitation about giving my recommendation of American Heritage. The school has excelled in all categories from Pre-K up to 12th. The elementary school focuses on early introduction into the concept of a well-rounded student while providing exemplary education. The Upper school allows several different tracts to accompany the standard curriculum. The impressive introduction of a pre-professional program by Dr. D. Laurie boasts nothing less than encouraging stimulation for the ambitious. I highly recommend the school. Of particular note is the number of veteran teachers and employees there who are openly loyal to the philosophy and growth of the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 22, 2005

Wow!What a wonderful School. This was my daughter's first year at AHS attending kindergarten. This open campus really helps kids get used to the real world of a college campus. School uniforms allow children to concentrate on school and not fashion. Unlike other private schools in the area,this school had a very large diverse student body. The academic program is second to none. With small class sizes, each student really gets the one on one attention they need to strengthen their weaknesses and excel in their strengths. Kindergarten classes get 1 full time teacher and 1 fulltime aide with 18 students. There are lots of extracurricular activities to partake in. Over 15 per quarter, available for a nominal fee. Parent involvement is what you make of it. If you chose to be involved, there is definately plenty to do. It was actually nice to see all the parent involvement, like a small community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 42%
Hispanic 37% 29%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Harvard College
Yale University
Princeton Unicersity
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • #1 high school in Florida-97 nationally recognized scholars (2014)
  • #1 private school in national math competition (2014)
  • #1 Robotics team at national SECME competition (2014)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • South Florida Cappies (2014)
  • Alliance for Young Artists and Writers (2014)
  • Congressional Art Competition (2014)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Engineering
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • William R. Laurie
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Association of Independent Schools of Florida
  • National Council for Private Schools

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Internships
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management
  • Engineering
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Pre-law

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • Model congress
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$19000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Harvard College
Yale University
Princeton Unicersity
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12200 W Broward Blvd
Plantation, FL 33325
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 472-0022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT