Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Plantation High School

Public | 9-12 | 2384 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

Our school is the best of the best. You should know that in the school we have GREAT!!! atmosphere and security. The staff is very helpful and drive to make our kids strive for the best.They have tutoring FREE. After school programs, sports, band, cheerleading, baseball, football, JROTC and more.The kids will NEVER be bored if they are involved. My son is a 2015 senior and has been in the school since 9th grade. Our experience has been FANTASTIC and wouldn't change it for nothing. He has been involved in Lacrosse, JROTC and DECCA (Marketing club) for all the years his been there and I am very please with all the opportunities. My son has been able to travel to Orlando, Atlanta, Kentucky and all over the state to other schools to compete with the JROTC, DECCA and LAX, and what kid does not enjoy those trips without mom close. But the have been incredible and very helpful for him. Here in SOUTH they will learn that leadership skills and drive they need to succeed in college, life or whatever they go. Volunteer your time to the school and support the sports you will never regret it. Get moving and apply for the Magnet Program or regular school you will love it.Become a PROUD PALLADIN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

I am an alumni of SPHS, and I look back at my high school experience with NOTHING but PRIDE! I loved my school, and am proud to say where I came from. I was in the Magnet Program, on the Yearbook Staff, and was an Honors/AP student. I had friends go on to Ivy League colleges, and I ended up with 8/8 college acceptances and 7 scholarship offers. My teachers were excellent, and I knew that they cared about me not only as a student, but also as a human being. I only had a textbook issue in one class, and it's because the textbook we used was no longer being printed. The issue was resolved within a few weeks, and my teacher worked very hard to solve it. I felt very comfortable there, and miss it often. I see people bashing the school on here, and I don't think it's fair: I never had a teacher during my four years at South refuse to help me, or do anything to stop me from getting the best education they could provide. My teachers always gave us the tools and chances to get good grades, and were very supportive, even to the students who were disrespectful and disruptive (as it should be). If your student puts in hard work, and stays out of trouble, South is an amazing place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2013

South Plantation's teachers and administrators do an excellent job preparing their students, including the special needs program at the school for the deaf/hard of hearing students. Great programs for: Drama, Sports, Horticulture, science-based Magnet program, honors programs, JROTC. Any level student who is interested in learning will benefit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

This school is great if you are white. The students in honors and the magnet program get to take books home. The rest of the students(regular students) do not get books to take home. They throw all the regular students into classes of 40 or more with all kinds of behavioral issues. The school has some great teachers that would love to be able to teach these students but are afraid to say anything for fear of being bullied by administration and believe me they bully worse than any student. The administration does not like teachers that try to tell the ytruth about what goes on there. The saving graces in this school are the drama program, horticulture program and the JROTC programs. These three programs are outstanding. They also have a great sports program that accepts all students. As far as academics the only students that are being educated are the magnet and honors core classes. The teachers in these programs look down their noses at the regular students and make fun of them to their students. I am writing this because I no longer am controlled by the administration, I quit, they can no longer hurt me. I just hope that someone will read this and do something.


Posted January 14, 2013

My son is graduatig South Plantation High School this year in their Magnet Program. Have been every satisfied with the school,it's teachers,Brace Advisor,staff. I feel he was fortunate to have an A rated education. Great security presesnce also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

I am not please with this school. There are not enough text books in the classroom, and there are many "undesirables" who are there just to be there. Unless, you are in advanced or magnet program, children do not learn. The discipline is very poor. It's too bad, because most of the teachers are phenomenal. It's also too bad that the teens who don't want to learn and disrespect are not removed to a different setting to allow
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

South Plantation is not the school that it used to be the Character of the school has gone way down. And I would let my other children go there. There are a bunch of bullies there and the Principal turns his head. This school is on the same lever as Dilliard high Awful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

i like my school and i would recomend this school to students who are serious about their learning
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

It has the best theatre department around and I am very fortunate to have been a part of it for three years....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

This is a school with great teachers and the students have awesome school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Greatest theater progam in South Fl schools


Posted September 16, 2009

I am a student and proud to go to South Plantation. Home of the Paladins. It has a awesome theater program. A great ROTC team. I feel like, as a student that I'm important. Only true Paladins bleed purple!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2008

I graduated from South back in 04 and I must say that it is a good student-based school. The administration and guidance staff are willing to help students with no problem. Sure, some teachers are better or worse than others but that's every school. I can say I had a good education from South.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

The school very below par. The teachers only teach for the FCAT, Administration does not seem to care about its students, AP classes and magnet are the only things that are good about this school, so if you are not apart of either of these programs SPHS is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

South Planttation is a superb high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Interesting to read the diferences of opinion between parents and students , as well as the opinion of parental involvement- rated by by a parent as an A+- and the real results were the school hardly makes a 'c'. My opinion. Everglades Magnet programis just for a small percentage of studetns atending this school, I think the queality of techer is very mixed goign from vey poor to excellent--sadly, many of the excellent teachers do not teach other than AP classes, so those who need the best education available to them are not getting it. I also think the ESE department need a big revamp- to say the list- . The overcrowding is noticible, and the RO can benefit from trainings to deal with students impulsivity and behavioral issues . Suspensions are not the answer to improve education .Recomendation from this parent: improve programs to deal with students with behavioral issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

The magnet and AP classes are the only things going for this school. I never see the principal, lockers were taken away this year and the school is not kept very clean (with exception to the new magnet building). The principal just cares about the FCAT and doesn't like the magnet, which the school could not live without.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

South Plantation is an awsome high school with a great magnet program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2008

Its easy to get involved in the many programs that they offer here! Very enjoyable experience. However when it comes down to actually learning, I believe the school needs more equipped teachers and a better program that doesnt just focus on FCAT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2008

I think this school is a fantastic school if your intrested in sports and magnet programs.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

616 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

626 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

627 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

567 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

540 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

607 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
62%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

442 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
60%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

436 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 39%
Hispanic 29%
White 26%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 78%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. CHRISTINE HENSCHEL
Fax number
  • (754) 323-2080

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Paladin Way
Plantation, FL 33317
Phone: (754) 323-1950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pine Ridge Alternative Center
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Soaring Eagles Academy
Plantation, FL


Ncc Academy
Davie, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT