Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sawgrass Adventist School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Plantation

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

Sawgrass Adventist School has a team of administrators, teachers, staff, and volunteers that work together for the betterment of the student intellectually, physically, and spiritually. The teachers are dedicated to the learning needs of the students and work with their parents. Although it is a small school, it is rich in educational quality. The teachers care for the students, and the students care for their teachers and schoolmates. It is a very close-knit community where attention and affection abound.


Posted September 1, 2013

The Principal is doing an very good job. The teachers and other staff are very committed to provide the student an attractive learning environment. Moreover, students have the opportunity to develop an authentic relationship with God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Sawgrass Adventist School is dedicated to assisting all students recognize their gifts and talents and nuturing them towards reaching their full potential by designing an individualized plan for academic success. Each student works on their own unique ability level, under the guidance of our qualified, caring staff, in order to maximize their learning experience. Concern for our students extends beyond the classroom where teachers and staff members can be found ministering to the everyday needs of our families, leading Bible studies and visiting ill and hospitalized student family members.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2013

This is a GREAT school. My kids attended when they were younger and I still volunteer from time to time. The school has been blessed over the past 5 years with enrollment increase; outstanding teacher commitment; consistent improvements; an after school activities program offering gymnanstics, crafts, team sports, musical instrument lessons, journalism, Drama and study hall with homework help. I'm always touched to see how much the Principal and staff care about the students and parents, and how the children love them. I don't think any one realizes how much the staff does. This is God's school!


Posted September 26, 2011

very family oriented school that excels in education and teaching children healthy eating and a relationship with Christ. Lots of extra curicular activities including piano, guitar, drama, soccer, golf, gymnastics, and choir! what more can you ask for. My daughter loves her class and teachers and I will not consider another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I have my daughter in Sawgrass Adventist School sice 2007, and she loves her school. It isw a safety and healthy environment. They are offering now in 2009 a great extracurricular program. The Christian environment and principles taught there are priceless for character building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

I think that the school is a good place if you want a seventh day adventist education for your child, but the building itself needs some work.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 7, 2004

Mrs. Simmons, the vice principal, loves the children, strives for a high quality of learning, knows how to instruct the students very well, and the students respect her. In addition, the parents love her as a person and for her dedication to the school. Here is a tip on the current principal; watch out for her. Overall, the school is a Seventh Day Adventist small school. It is known best when it comes to winning medals for science projects in competitions against other schools. This is what really impresses me. It is a small great school. Even though it is not a science school, they should be because this is one of their strong points as a school.


Posted September 9, 2003

I now have three toddlers, 4-8 years old, attending the Sawgrass Adventist School and so far my wife and I are satisfied. A small Christian school, pre-K to 8th grade with less than 100 students. I'm not sure of the highest level of teacher qualification but I know teachers are encouraged to continually upgrade their education and skills. There is a new principal this year, a former New Yorker who impresses me so far. She has good plans for the school. I hope most, if not all, can come to fruition. The school is private, of Seventh-day Adventist affiliation. The new principal has brought in a heightened sense of discipline among the students with greater attention to uniform compliance and overall student behavior. That's good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 76% 23%
Hispanic 12% 29%
White 12% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (954) 370-8041

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11701 Northwest 4th Street
Plantation, FL 33325
Phone: (954) 473-4622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT