Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Savior Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Plantation

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2014

Very, very pleased. We tussled about moving schools with our children. Our biggest fear was moving them from a school that by all appearances was going to shut its doors to an even worse situation. ( one that was open but no one cares). I am happy to report that we did the right thing. OSLS is a well planned, well led, carefully managed learning environment. They offer extensive extracurricular activities, real musical instruction, top notch learning programs that don't end with the school year, and a staff that is nurturing our children toward excellence. Keep up the good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2014

Great school. , my son has attended since 4th grade and is now entering 8th , we love that it is bible based along with your regular core academics. The teachers and staff are great . Small school so the students get great one on one attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

This school is a great place to enroll your child. Installing Christian values, while leading the children in day to day leadership roles. Small classes, friendly staff and a very involved Principal leads to a happy and fun place for your child to go to school. Many after school sports programs and music programs. Caters for one and a half year olds through eighth grade.


Posted June 1, 2011

This is an outstanding school. My child had problems all through elementary school in the public schools, and has been at Our Savior from 6th through 8th grade. He has been thriving there, he loves school, he wants to get there early every day. The teachers are extremely caring and they take the time to know each child individually and make sure they are reaching their full potential. For such a small, parochial school, the range of subjects that are taught, including music, art, Spanish, and life skills, in addition to the basics, have given my child a well balanced education far beyond my expections. It is a warm environment balanced by expections of achievement. I would recommend this school without reservation to any parent. We are extremely fortunate to have had this experience with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

I woudl not recomment this school at all. Very disorganized and when it comes to certian employees not very loving or Christian
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

An excellent school, there is a great participation from all the staff. I have two girls that goes there for the last 5 years and I love it !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

This school is the bomb it rocks i am a new student and i have alot of new friends i have new 5 people there before i went to the school. The teachers rock and people there are really nice it is also a small safe enviorment. if you want to come to our savior lutheran school you really should. i will tell you are mascot when we vote. have a great day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

Ms. Policastro like last year seems to bring out the best in my son. We never knew he had such artistic ability. He is very happy with her class and looks forward to going to school. Cudos to your Principal for choosing such a wonderful caring teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

This is a business not a small community christian school. My intention has always been to leave my kids there (both have been going for over 4 years) but this past year has been an eye opener for us. It is all about $ not values and principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

This ia a great school. Everyone is so nice and the first time i went their i felt welcome and people talk to me like i was here for years Teachers are so nice and funny I love this school 7th grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

The staff is nice and I like the small enviroonment, However feel that the program for 2 year olds is too structured and does not allow each child to learn and grow at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

Great school and the teachers are just wonderful. My daughter is 2 and she loves the Pre-K 2
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

Good school, small, nice campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 42%
Black 33% 23%
Hispanic 16% 29%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (954) 473-0395

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8001 Northwest 5th Street
Plantation, FL 33324
Phone: (954) 370-2161

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Spring Gate School
Plantation, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT