Advertisement
Advertisement

Temple Kol Ami Emanu-El Day School

Private | K-5 | 100 students

We are best known for high academic standards.

 
 

Living in Plantation

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted November 22, 2011

Our school is a well kept secret. We are a small school which caters to the individual needs of children. Our environment is warm, caring and nurturing and provides a high academic integrated Jewish education to children in grades K-5. We have a state of the art computer lab and interactive white boards to provide a high tech environment, as well. I invite you to come and see for yourself, happy, well-educated children.

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2011

Temple Kol Ami has been a fantastic place for our children. Our youngest child is there and our two older children have thrived and become leaders in their middle and high schools. TKAE has a highly competitive and excellent curriculum as well as provides a very warm, loving and supportive environment for each student so they may thrive in today's environment. The administration at the school is extremely knowledgable and take a proactive approach to today's highly competitive and ever-changing academic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

Loving , carrying, warm, accademically perfect! And Jewish too!


Posted October 5, 2008

Early childhood Principal, Miss Norma is the best! She sure runs a tight ship. We LOVE her. We hope to send our son there and remove him from public school . No comparison with the level our daughter achieved after 2 years. Miss Carol and Miss Sandi were her teachers. New Principal, Mrs Weissberg and great new female Rabbi : Cheryl Jacobs in Elementary are prefect match for school ; experienced and passionate. Minor drawback: lack of an actual indoor gym. Physical education 2 days per week could be increased to 4 days, once built. The staff do give 100%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

As a former parent, I feel the need to express the lack of academics and basic schooling. I am seriously disappointed with the the school in whole. I left there after all the complaints and dissatisfaction. I am actually a parent that stood by and stood up for the establishment. Unfortuately, they have failed me also. I feel this place needs a huge overhaul to actually succeed. Not just new principals. I am at the point of actually putting my kids in public school, as they will probably get a better education there. Not a good place for a Private Jewish education! Go to Posnack if you have the monies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

excellent spirit, safe atmosphere, caring teachers, wonderful curriculum, superior facility.


Posted July 9, 2008

I was so surprised to read the negative reviews on this site! I have been at TKAE for a year now and my daughter has thrived! Through small classes individual attention is able to be paid to each child. Two new administrators have been hired this year - Principal Toni Weissberg and Director of Jewish Education Rabbi Jacobs and they are setting the school on a course that can rival any other private school in the area. The PE teacher is no longer the music teacher (!) and the academics follow strictly the Sunshine State Standards. I would 100% recommend the school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

I love this school. The academics are stellar and my children have never been happier. We have been in this community for a long time and my only sadness is that it took us so long to find the Day School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

Hi, Just found this site because I moved my son out of Kol Ami and wanted to see the reviews of the one I just scheduled him for. It is a very mixed bag about this school. The classes are too small and there are no options about making friends. My son was having a difficult time making friends. There were a few 'trouble makers' in his class and it was never addressed. There is no cafeteria, they eat lunch at their desks, the music teacher is also the p.e. teacher, a poor example of jumping rope and basic skills (of which p.e. was one time a week), the teachers let issues with homework and absences slide, his teacher was not college educated. We were happy with a few areas, like family shabbat. I am sorry to write that this school is not up to a 'private school' standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

My son and daughter attended the pre-school and it was a wonderful experience. The elementary school is a mess. I find that after trying to speak about issues with the rabbi and the school principal, nothing seems to change. Very sad that I have changed my mind about this institution. They were so happy before elelmentary, and so were we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

I am not happy with this place and not happy with the principles. they ar not very nice people. loolking foward to public school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

Our children have thrived at TKAE. I am very pleased with what they are learning and the fact that both of our children have developed a positive attitude about school. For a small school, it is amazing what social lives they have with their friends...much more than other kids we know that attend larger public and private schools. I feel that the kids are in a safe environment, are well-cared for and are getting an excellent education. They are developing into kind, honest, caring, generous, and smart kids and I think we can attribute a lot of that to what they have been exposed to at Temple Kol Ami-Emanuel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 44%
Hispanic 8% 24%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 29%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Toni Weissberg
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (954) 472-1994

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8200 Peters Rd
Plantation, FL 33324
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 358-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT